Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Travel Trailer Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-15-2013, 02:15 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 10
How to hook up a furnace?

I purchased a furnace off of ebay and I am trying to hook it up. I have attached pictures and the one picture has a sticker located on the furnace stating not to hook up to AC current, 120 or 240. I want to be sure of what I am doing, so any help would be appreciated.

There is existing negative and positive wires where the old furnace use to be, but there is no current running through them so I ran new ones. So basically I would like to know if the wires I ran are okay to hook up to the positive and negative of the new furnace?

Thanks.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2013-01-15_15-26-27_764.jpg
Views:	91
Size:	228.9 KB
ID:	31976   Click image for larger version

Name:	2013-01-15_15-26-42_993.jpg
Views:	127
Size:	257.8 KB
ID:	31977  

Click image for larger version

Name:	2013-01-15_15-26-35_498.jpg
Views:	79
Size:	188.7 KB
ID:	31980  
__________________

__________________
joshr is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-15-2013, 02:38 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Walnut Creek Ca USA
Posts: 641
RV Furnaces run off of 12 volt DC not 120 AC. I hope you ran the wires to your batteries?!?
-Paul R. Haller-
__________________

__________________
Paul R. Haller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 02:48 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul R. Haller View Post
RV Furnaces run off of 12 volt DC not 120 AC. I hope you ran the wires to your batteries?!?
-Paul R. Haller-
there are no batteries to hook it up to and I have not hooked the furnace up at all.
__________________
joshr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 03:55 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Ray,IN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: North America somewhere
Posts: 13,700
First thing first. Where do you plan to install this furnace, in a camper or house? Campers have 12VDC power available. If you plan to install where only 120VAC is available, you may purchase a stand-alone convertor to convert AC to DC power. Installation instructions may be found here.
__________________
Ray,IN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 03:57 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ray,IN View Post
First thing first. Where do you plan to install this furnace, in a camper or house? Campers have 12VDC power available. If you plan to install where only 120VAC is available, you may purchase a stand-alone convertor to convert AC to DC power. Installation instructions may be found here.
It is going to be installed in a 1984 camper
__________________
joshr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 06:38 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Caveman CBB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Storden,MN
Posts: 672
Quote:
Originally Posted by joshr View Post
there are no batteries to hook it up to and I have not hooked the furnace up at all.
No batteries?? Even a 1984 Camper had batteries and the furnace would run off of 12 volts. I would suggest getting the brand name and model number off of the furnace then google it out and go from there.
__________________
Caveman CBB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 06:51 PM   #7
Moderator Emeritus
 
TXiceman's Avatar


 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Oklahoma Boomers Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Full Time, TX Home Base
Posts: 17,150
Blog Entries: 21
Does the RV have a power converter? Ie a box that converts 120 volts to 12 volts...should have one and 12 volt fuse panel. There should be a fuse for the furnace there. But you do need to get a wiring diagram for the furnace and proceed from there.

Ken
__________________
Amateur Radio Operator (KE5DFR)|Full-Time! - 2012 6.7L Ford Crew Cab Dually -2013 HitchHiker Champagne 38RLRSB - Travel with one Standard Schnauzer and one small Timneh African Gray Parrot
TXiceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 07:17 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TXiceman View Post
Does the RV have a power converter? Ie a box that converts 120 volts to 12 volts...should have one and 12 volt fuse panel. There should be a fuse for the furnace there. But you do need to get a wiring diagram for the furnace and proceed from there.

Ken
the camper does have a power converter and a breaker box one breaker for the AC and one breaker for everything else
__________________
joshr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 07:21 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Caveman CBB View Post
No batteries?? Even a 1984 Camper had batteries and the furnace would run off of 12 volts. I would suggest getting the brand name and model number off of the furnace then google it out and go from there.
the furnace is a duo therm model number 66112,009
__________________
joshr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 07:30 PM   #10
Moderator Emeritus
 
TXiceman's Avatar


 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Oklahoma Boomers Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Full Time, TX Home Base
Posts: 17,150
Blog Entries: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by joshr View Post
the camper does have a power converter and a breaker box one breaker for the AC and one breaker for everything else
They should also be a 12 volt DC panel with fuses for the lights, furnace and such.

Ken
__________________
Amateur Radio Operator (KE5DFR)|Full-Time! - 2012 6.7L Ford Crew Cab Dually -2013 HitchHiker Champagne 38RLRSB - Travel with one Standard Schnauzer and one small Timneh African Gray Parrot
TXiceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 01:56 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 10
Got all of the furnace wires figured out except for the thermastat wires. The wires that come in from the thermastat are red and white, where do they go on the furnace? Any help would be great.
Thanks for everyones help.
__________________
joshr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 05:49 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,799
On an RV furnace there should be two BLUE wires, I noticed in one of the photos one terminal clearly marked for the T-Stat, the other (If not marked) is 12V+

Suggestion, From the ID tag on the furance, which you did not show, go to your friend and mine and type something like this (NOTE: make is what I have, model is fake.

Google: Attwood Model 12345 Manual

See what comes back, Just might be a link to a PDF (Such as the one on my HD) that tells you more than you could possibly want to know.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 07:30 PM   #13
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 10
got it all figured out thanks for everyone's help
__________________
joshr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 11:18 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Ray,IN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: North America somewhere
Posts: 13,700
Quote:
Originally Posted by joshr View Post
the camper does have a power converter and a breaker box one breaker for the AC and one breaker for everything else
Since your camper has a convertor it must be wired for a house battery. Most OEM convertors require a battery to filter the 12VDC for appliances.
__________________

__________________
Ray,IN is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
furnace



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.