Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Travel Trailer Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-04-2011, 10:03 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Arch Hoagland's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Clovis, CA, USA
Posts: 5,908
I have two remote sensors taped to the awning arms on each side of my coach. One will usually be in the sun and the other, of course, in the shade.

I also have a wired sensor run from my dash through the engine compartment to the inside part of my grille where the sun won't hit it.

At night they are all pretty close to the same temp so I know they are working correctly.
__________________

__________________
2004 Monaco La Palma 36DBD, W22, 8.1, 7.1 MPG
2000 LEXUS RX300 FWD 22MPG 4020 LBS
Arch Hoagland is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-04-2011, 11:47 PM   #16
Member
 
DrivinMyHome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Peoria, AZ
Posts: 93
Blog Entries: 8
Exclamation UPDATE:

Some notes after having the outdoor unit in with the propane tanks for the last week: I suspended it from the tank hold-down with some wire so it is not directly touching any metal (besides the wire itself). The temperature seems to be the most accurate of all of the locations I have tried. It is up near the top of the cover which should keep it safe from rain and road debris. I have driven ~150 miles with it there and it is still there. The tank cover also should keep it safe from driving winds so no problem there.

As a side note: This unit is quite nice. It has a forecast function that seems to work quite well. Only complaint I have is that there is no wind information (by choice since I didn't want to worry about setting up/removing an anemometer when traveling). So far, very happy with it!!
__________________

__________________
Dad|Mom|The Twins|The Little One|The Boy|The Blog
1999 Chevy Suburban C1500 --Seating for 9 when we're moving
2006 Gulfstream Innsbruck Lite 25RSL --Sleeping for 9 when we're not
DrivinMyHome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 02:03 PM   #17
Junior Member
 
Crabbman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Virginia`s Eastern Shore
Posts: 4
I did not have my outdoor sensor mounted anywhere so I could move it out of the sun if necessary. Well back in October when camping I had it sitting on top of the trailer tire, you could only see it if you knelt down. I did not even think about it again until I got home from the trip, no doubt it got crushed when I pulled forward . Now I need a new sensor but will have a dedicated spot for it, sun or no sun!
__________________
2010 Jayco 28 BHS
2004 Chevy 1500 Ext cab 5.3l, 3.73 r
Reese Dual cam, Prodigy P3
Crabbman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 02:21 PM   #18
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,943
Check out the one Costco sells. I bought one for the coach and went back and picked up another for the house. It has a hugh display and it is back lit. I just wire tied the outside under neath the large slide. Works great. Wife velcrode the inside one to the sink. She velcros everthing. I wish it came as a face mask.
__________________
Perry White is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 10:31 AM   #19
Junior Member
 
Joyce-Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 24
Not sure how big your sensor is, as I just have an indoor/outdoor thermomenter. I mounted the sensor onto the 120v oultlet cover using velcro and have towed it for 1,000 miles that way. I can take it on and off but haven't. Seems to hold up well. When the awning is open it is in the shade seems to give a realistic reading?
__________________
Steve and Joyce
2011 Chevy 2500HD Z71 4X4
2011 Passport 2850RL
Joyce-Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2011, 08:23 AM   #20
Senior Member
 
coffeeman's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Fair Play, SC
Posts: 409
Just ordered from REI a Lacrosse under $22 with free shipping. La Crosse Wireless Thermometer with Clock - Free Shipping at REI.com
__________________
2005 Sightseer 29R, F53 Chassis-Sold
2007 HHR Toad -Sold, Hankook AH11,Magnum Plus Beads,Dahon Bikes, Roo Bee the "Aussie",SCT-5 Star Tune, Mountain Master Tow Brake,2009 Bighorn 3600RL
coffeeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 09:01 PM   #21
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Janesville, wi
Posts: 633
Quote:
Originally Posted by coffeeman
Just ordered from REI a Lacrosse under $22 with free shipping. La Crosse Wireless Thermometer with Clock - Free Shipping at REI.com
Actually, I put the remote sensor in the fridge. Main unit attached to wall by the dinette. Now I know at a glance the temp inside the trailer,AND, the temp inside the fridge.
__________________
Tom3205 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 04:56 PM   #22
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Janesville, wi
Posts: 633
We place our "outside" remote unit in our refrigerator. Knowing the temp in the frige is more important then using it for the outside air temp. Outside temp can be had from other sources...
__________________
Tom3205 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 06:03 PM   #23
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,816
Well.. I put mine in the propane bay, A good well insulated door keeps the sun from overheating it, it's open to fresh air on the bottom, Only issue is that when I run the Generator this bay gets warmer due to the locaiton of the genny. (Across from propane tank)
__________________

__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Premium gas in fuel station? sbmike Toy Haulers Discussion 2 10-26-2011 03:15 PM
Gas run to station? frederick w Just Conversation 3 02-25-2011 08:24 AM
Flag pole holder and wind meter weather station JimO MH-General Discussions & Problems 3 11-02-2009 01:23 PM
Fun at the dump station Janet H iRV2.com General Discussion 24 07-06-2009 09:41 AM
Florida Welcome Station on I-95 (North almost at state line) Wagonmaster38 iRV2.com General Discussion 3 07-14-2006 08:12 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.