Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Travel Trailer Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 11-29-2015, 09:38 AM   #1

Melted breakaway switch? what gives

I just purchased a 1996 Prowler 3 weeks ago and am learning the operations of it since I am a newbie. When I purchased it the breakaway was melted but was so far out in the country that I couldn't go purchase one and put it on there. My question is what caused the switch to melt? (The pin was gone so that could've been the reason) and Will this cause the brakes to need to be replaced? I have not opened up the brakes yet since I have been working on the inside with mods and it has been cold here so I figured I would do that when it warms up a little. What concerns should I be looking for? Thanks in advance for the help.
Mike

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-29-2015, 09:50 AM   #2