Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Travel Trailer Discussion
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
Old 03-18-2016, 12:34 PM   #1
New to trailering and have an electrical problem already

I am new to trailering and bought my first ever trailer last summer and it is a 2004 Fleetwood Mallard 20 footer. It was at a trailer park last summer but I just recently moved it near my home so I could get it ready to do some boondocking.

I purchased 2 - 12 volt deep cycle batteries and hooked them up. Everything worked fine for about 20 to 30 minutes and then the power went off.

Have checked the breakers and all the fuses and they seem to be OK but I have no idea of how to tell if the main breaker is still good. Have checked the batteries and they are fully charged and OK.

So I hooked it up to the 120 AC outlet and still nothing turns on in the trailer. I know there is power coming from the outlet which is set up for an RV. Have turned off and back on all the breakers at least 3 times and still no power in the trailer.

I know nothing about trailers or RVs and know only a little bit more about electricity. Right now I do not have the money to pay the rate quoted to me to have a dealer do the work and they are book up for the next 4 to 6 months anyway. So I plan on doing the work myself if someone could point me in the right as to what steps to start doing now?

Appreciate all the advice I can get, thanks

ralph01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!