Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Travel Trailer Discussion
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
Old 04-07-2015, 10:45 AM   #1
Newbie 29FK 2012

Hello all from Alabama. Actually a transplant, been here for 25 years. Grew up in NJ. Did backpacking on the Appalachian trial, toured the USA on a NORTON back in 72 tent camping all the way, but now have come to my senses. Oh, I was a machinist and now install and fix CNC machines.
I am picking up a used 2012 Everlite 29FK. I noticed more than one of these on the forum. I will be towing with a 2011 GMC extended cab sierra with a factory heavy duty hitch on it. Andersen WDH so it will also have sway control. I have a bunch of goodies for it already such as Surge protector, water pressure regulator. Got a RV type GPS so I will not get stuck beneath a bridge.
My questions are: anything to look out for that is a known issue? I did download a 2013 general Everlite owners manual from the web site. Any one have or know who to get a wiring diagram from? A plumbing diagram? This to assist in repairs when needed. Are Chinese tires factory standard? If so has anyone had a issue with them? What did you replace them with?
What do you seal the roof with? A lot of campers seem to need constant roof care.
Are the Stabilizers 3/4 inch hex? And the wheel nuts? So i have the right socket on the torque wrench and cordless drill.
I hope to pick it up Thursday and drive it home Friday 360 miles. Might have some rain on the way.
Thank you in advance for answers. I wish you all a infinite amount of safe miles and fun.

machinetech is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!