Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Travel Trailer Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 05-10-2017, 04:34 PM   #1

Newbie here - am freaking out. HELP! There's so much to learn!

Hi!
I am a single female with 2 small dogs. AT 51 years of age, I have been a renter my whole adult life. And, I am DONE with renting. I have a small inheritance that I am planning to use to:

1. buy (and live in a travel trailer)
2. buy land
3. build a tiny house

I am a semi-retired high school teacher and I know next to nothing about RVs and travel trailers. However, I have been doing my homework for a few months as I plot my escape from the world of landlords. But, now that I have been given yet another deadline to move out (end of June) the time to take the leap of faith is here!

99% of all blogs that I have come across about living in a travel trailer full-time are written by couples - can I DO this alone??

Secondly, how in the world do I start to narrow down my choices for buying my travel trailer? New or used? Single or double axle? Aluminum or fiberglass? Custom?? Look in CA or elsewhere? I have driven across the US 3 times by myself, so traveling to Indiana or Alabama or Phoenix - not an issue. I live in Northern California.

My budget is semi-flexible. I wanted to keep the TT under 14K BUT I could spend more and have less to purchase land and my tiny house.

Lastly, what is "hail damage"? There are some brand new 2017 TT's in Alabama and Tennessee, with MSRP at 22K but selling for 9K due to hail damage. I have not called them bc I do not know the right questions to ask.

Well, that is my into Please help give me some direction if possible.