Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Travel Trailer Discussion
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 06-19-2013, 12:12 AM   #1

Newbie needs opinions on this possible project

Hey folks...I am a newbie and I think I've found a good item for a project but wanted to check with the pro's.

About me...I'm fairly skilled in DIY stuff but haven't had trailer restoration experience per say. I built my hot dog cart about a year ago and it has been doing a fine job and I think maybe some of those skills would help me with a restoration project.

I was originally looking for a utility trailer on CL and was going to build a teardrop trailer from the ground up using the trailer. However a couple of days ago I found this little guy and while it's bigger, it might be the way to go.

It's a 17' Holiday Rambler Wide World trailer. It has a clean title and new tabs and license plate. I won't lie, it's rough. Especially on the inside. Two corners of the trailer (see pics) have opened up and there is rot on those outside walls. There is a stove, fridge, bathroom...not sure if stove or fridge or toilet works for that matter. When I checked it out today, power came on when she plugged it in with the extension cord and the pump turned on so that's good.