Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Travel Trailer Discussion
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 06-18-2010, 05:34 PM   #1

Arrow % of actual weight to truck rating question

I'm new to the world of RV's. I've learned alot so far but I need help understanding the % of my truck rating to actual weights.

I'm pulling a TT with a pickup. I've weighed my truck alone (loaded including passengers) and then weighed the whole rig (truck loaded and trailer loaded - GCW). I did the calculations and found that my loaded trailer is 30% below my truck's suggested Maximum Trailer Weight. But, when I calculated my truck's GCWR to the actual GCW I found that I'm only 10% below the GCWR. In other words, the weight of my TT loaded is well below suggested Maximum Trailer Weight for my truck (30%) but the whole rig is only 10% below GCWR. Is that too close for comfort?

I need help understanding the whole concept of weights and truck ratings.

Thanks
Andy8125
ajlcal is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!