Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Travel Trailer Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-12-2013, 05:39 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nj1963 View Post
Sorry. My mistake on explaining the outlets. The twist lock 4 prong on the left is 120/240V AC/CA 20 Amp. That is the outlet that I want to use. To the right of it there are two sets of double plugs like in a house that are 120/AC/CA 20 Amp. They all have circuit breakers so if I draw too much they will trip. Is the twist lock rating ok for RV use? I appreciate all of the input. I just hate to go out and spend money on a generator if I can use this one. Only for overnight stops that are not at campgrounds. Thanks again!!!
20amps is 20amps.....you don't need to use the twist lock outlet to run the AC, nor will you get "more power in the trailer" if you do.........but if you do!....make sure the 240volt switch is off.....
__________________

__________________
2002 National Dolphin 5355, W22
shoreco is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-12-2013, 06:06 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,832
Using the adapter is not a problem, the circuit breaker on the generator more than protects it

The only issue is will the genny run the A/C.

HINT.. When you first fire up the genny, usually the batteries suck major power.. If the A/C stalls the genny or trips the breaker.. Wait like 30 minutes and try again.
__________________

__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2013, 06:09 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 359
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoreco View Post
20amps is 20amps.....you don't need to use the twist lock outlet to run the AC, nor will you get "more power in the trailer" if you do.........but if you do!....make sure the 240volt switch is off.....
He'll have two 120V legs @ 20A each in the four-prong plug, he can use one or the other but not both. I don't think it's possible to combine the two legs for a 120V x 40A output, which I think is what he is wanting to do. Or I could be wrong.
__________________
2007 K-Z 35 Toyhauler, 2006 Chev 2500HD Duramax, 2005 H-D Road King Classic, 2007 Mini-Schnauzer "Scooter"
menoble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2013, 06:33 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
clyon51's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Arizona West RV Park, Yuma, Az
Posts: 4,117
To explain this a bit, in your 4 prong/wire 240v outlet, you have TWO separate 120v hot wires, one neutral and one ground. Each of those hot wires are rated at 20amps, for a total of 40amps for a 240v appliance to use. The other 3 prong outlets are for 120v (one 20a hot, one neutral, one ground)

Your RV and shore cord is wired for only 120v. Your cord is 3 prong, one hot, one neutal and one ground. The breakers in the RV will allow up to 30amps to pass thru, therefore your cord is rated to carry 30a.

The bottom line, like previously stated, you cannot use the 4 prong 240v outlet. The best you can do is get a 120v 20a to 30a RV power adapter and use the 120v outlets on the generator. With that generator, there is just no way you can get 30a to the RV, but 20a will get you by for your needs.
__________________
John & Clare Lyon
2007 43.5' Monaco Dynasty Palace III (All Electric)
Towd: 2011 Chevy Equinox
clyon51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2013, 09:50 AM   #19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 359
Quote:
Originally Posted by clyon51 View Post
The bottom line, like previously stated, you cannot use the 4 prong 240v outlet. The best you can do is get a 120v 20a to 30a RV power adapter and use the 120v outlets on the generator. With that generator, there is just no way you can get 30a to the RV, but 20a will get you by for your needs.
I believe he will still have 20 amps available at the other duplex outlet, correct?
__________________
2007 K-Z 35 Toyhauler, 2006 Chev 2500HD Duramax, 2005 H-D Road King Classic, 2007 Mini-Schnauzer "Scooter"
menoble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2013, 06:55 PM   #20
Junior Member
 
Nj1963's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Warrenton, Virginia
Posts: 26
The twist lock says 120/240 20 amps and it does not have a switch. I purchased an adapter but thanks to you folks I am now aware that using that is bad for an RV. I am going to use the adapter I use at home which adapts my 30 amp cord to the standard house plug and plug it into one of the others that says 120V AC/CA 20 Amps. Let me make sure but that outlet is good to use correct? Sorry for all of the questions but I just wanted to make sure I did this right. I truly appreciate your help folks!!!
__________________
Nj1963 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2013, 09:15 PM   #21
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 359
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nj1963 View Post
The twist lock says 120/240 20 amps and it does not have a switch. I purchased an adapter but thanks to you folks I am now aware that using that is bad for an RV. I am going to use the adapter I use at home which adapts my 30 amp cord to the standard house plug and plug it into one of the others that says 120V AC/CA 20 Amps. Let me make sure but that outlet is good to use correct? Sorry for all of the questions but I just wanted to make sure I did this right. I truly appreciate your help folks!!!
The 'standard' 120V 'house' receptacle is the one to use with your adapter. However, if the A/C pulls the amps hard, expect the prongs to overheat and melt the plastic plug. Got a couple of them myself.
__________________
2007 K-Z 35 Toyhauler, 2006 Chev 2500HD Duramax, 2005 H-D Road King Classic, 2007 Mini-Schnauzer "Scooter"
menoble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2013, 07:38 AM   #22
Senior Member
 
clyon51's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Arizona West RV Park, Yuma, Az
Posts: 4,117
Quote:
Originally Posted by menoble View Post
I believe he will still have 20 amps available at the other duplex outlet, correct?
Believing each duplex outlet has it's own breaker, yes. Those two 20a legs that powers the 240, are also the same two that powers the duplexes. So he has 40a available/shared across all outlets with a max of 20a per leg.
__________________
John & Clare Lyon
2007 43.5' Monaco Dynasty Palace III (All Electric)
Towd: 2011 Chevy Equinox
clyon51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2013, 08:05 AM   #23
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 359
Quote:
Originally Posted by clyon51 View Post
Believing each duplex outlet has it's own breaker, yes. Those two 20a legs that powers the 240, are also the same two that powers the duplexes. So he has 40a available/shared across all outlets with a max of 20a per leg.
Can he rewire the generator to a floating neutral (instead of bonded, per code) to achieve 40a output on one outlet, preferably the Twist-Lock?
__________________
2007 K-Z 35 Toyhauler, 2006 Chev 2500HD Duramax, 2005 H-D Road King Classic, 2007 Mini-Schnauzer "Scooter"
menoble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2013, 08:31 AM   #24
Senior Member
 
clyon51's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Arizona West RV Park, Yuma, Az
Posts: 4,117
Quote:
Originally Posted by menoble View Post
Can he rewire the generator to a floating neutral (instead of bonded, per code) to achieve 40a output on one outlet, preferably the Twist-Lock?
I just don't know if combining those two legs coming from a genny into one would work, but I'm thinking not. Certainly the neutral wire gauge should be increased. If this was possible, I would remove the 240v outlet and replace with a 120v 30a so he could plug his RV right into it.
__________________
John & Clare Lyon
2007 43.5' Monaco Dynasty Palace III (All Electric)
Towd: 2011 Chevy Equinox
clyon51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2013, 08:43 AM   #25
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 359
Quote:
Originally Posted by clyon51 View Post
I just don't know if combining those two legs coming from a genny into one would work, but I'm thinking not. Certainly the neutral wire gauge should be increased. If this was possible, I would remove the 240v outlet and replace with a 120v 30a so he could plug his RV right into it.
I referred to this site: Portable generator neutral rewiring It sounds similar to the OP's situation. And yes, I concur the generator should be fitted with the proper outlet sockets to prevent accidental mis-connections.
__________________
2007 K-Z 35 Toyhauler, 2006 Chev 2500HD Duramax, 2005 H-D Road King Classic, 2007 Mini-Schnauzer "Scooter"
menoble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2013, 09:12 AM   #26
Senior Member
 
clyon51's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Arizona West RV Park, Yuma, Az
Posts: 4,117
Again, beyond my knowledge to advise. I understand the N/G in that link. My issue is with tying those two 20a legs together on a genny. I have assume it's either fine, or a huge no no.
__________________
John & Clare Lyon
2007 43.5' Monaco Dynasty Palace III (All Electric)
Towd: 2011 Chevy Equinox
clyon51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2013, 09:34 AM   #27
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 359
Quote:
Originally Posted by clyon51 View Post
Again, beyond my knowledge to advise. I understand the N/G in that link. My issue is with tying those two 20a legs together on a genny. I have assume it's either fine, or a huge no no.
That's the problem with electrical issues, it's either right or very wrong
Maybe some will weigh in who has the answer.
__________________
2007 K-Z 35 Toyhauler, 2006 Chev 2500HD Duramax, 2005 H-D Road King Classic, 2007 Mini-Schnauzer "Scooter"
menoble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2013, 12:32 PM   #28
Senior Member
 
clyon51's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Arizona West RV Park, Yuma, Az
Posts: 4,117
I know I wouldn't tie 2 separate hot legs together in a residential box.
__________________

__________________
John & Clare Lyon
2007 43.5' Monaco Dynasty Palace III (All Electric)
Towd: 2011 Chevy Equinox
clyon51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
generator



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.