Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Travel Trailer Discussion
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-06-2014, 01:28 PM   #1
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Waynesville Georgia
Posts: 1,096
Propane Bottles ?

Hello All

Is it possible/OK to run one propane bottle with the other one removed, as long as the selector level is to the active bottle ????

Thanks Jim
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCF0486.jpg
Views:	81
Size:	221.8 KB
ID:	70073  

rideandslide is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-06-2014, 01:30 PM   #2
Registered User
Excel Owners Club
Retired Fire Service RVer's
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Farmington NM
Posts: 1,822
Yes..but use soapy water after you remove one tank to make sure the selector valve is not leaking by.

chief02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2014, 04:37 PM   #3
Senior Member
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 21,174
Usually, yes,, IN fact back on the farm we had like 4 100 pound bottles, often did it for short periods of time (Like the time it took to re-fill/replace) There were two on each side, when one ran dry we switched sides, then either got the one replaced or took it to the refill station (Depending on if the others were empty) Never let them ALL run dry.
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2014, 04:46 PM   #4
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 37
Yes. As was stated earlier that way you can use the full tank while filling the empty one.
2015 Jayco Eagle 314BHDS
2011 Dodge 2500 HD MegaCab CTD 4x4
bluie5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2014, 05:55 PM   #5
wwsmith111's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 59
I only run with one tank on at a time. I put the selector on the open tank and run it until it is dry. Then I open the "spare" full tank and switch to it. Then I go and have the empty tanked filled and put it back. I want to know when my propane is spent in one tank so I always have a full one. If you leave them both open with the selector set to automatically transfer, you will wind up with both tanks empty and no propane.
2011 5.7l Toyota Tundra w/ Roadmaster Suspension.
2014 Jayco Eagle 338 RLTS w/ 7hp gen & 1000w invert.
PowerTwin II-30" Electric RV Leveling Stabilizer.
wwsmith111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2014, 07:57 PM   #6
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Waynesville Georgia
Posts: 1,096
That's the way i do it also, glad to see propane prices back down !!!

rideandslide is offline   Reply With Quote


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kohler propane generator won't start Fosters Class A Motorhome Discussions 4 06-27-2014 08:23 PM
No Propane to inside of coach? lbaldwin Monaco Owner's Forum 7 04-23-2014 10:14 PM
Hydronic heat: Propane vs Diesel in winter temps? TinMan Trvlr RV Systems & Appliances 10 03-31-2014 02:32 PM
Can not get propane to MH from Tank guaranteed Class A Motorhome Discussions 28 01-18-2014 09:11 AM
My Dometic 3Way Fridge On Propane Libero RV Systems & Appliances 3 10-04-2013 04:40 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:20 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.