Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Travel Trailer Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 10-02-2018, 03:49 PM   #1

Recent change of direction.

My wife and I have had a 36' Class A diesel pusher for several years now. Last weekend, after much discussion, we sold the MH and bought a 2019 Forest River Cherokee travel trailer and a 2016 GMC Sierra SLT 4x4 to pull it with. I drive a truck for a living, so the size of the coach isn't an issue for me, but my wife is a bit out of her comfort level driving the bus. Then when you add the inconvenience of hooking and unhooking the toad, well, we decided to downsize.
We're in for a whole new set of rules. LOL. We obviously are going to have to downsize on what we carry, as the trailer has only a fraction of the storage that the motorhome had. But my biggest question is about a generator. The MH has a 7.5k diesel generator, the trailer comes with nothing. So, I'm looking for advice.
What do you all use, and what size? The trailer has one rooftop a/c unit, along with the normal power usage from lights, TV, etc.
I've considered two options;
1) Buy one larger generator, say around 3,500 watts and just run with it.
2) Buy two smaller, 2,000-watt generators and parallel them together for running the A/C, and just running one to power lights, etc. if the A/C isn't needed. That would require less gas, run nearly silently, and have easier replaceability should one unit fail.