Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Travel Trailer Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 07-01-2012, 03:03 PM   #1

Recommendations for my first RV

Hi, I'm new to the RV world. I'm very happy to have found this forum. I've been reading lots of posts today and feeling a little overwhelmed.

I could use use advice on my first RV. I've been thinking about getting an RV for several years and now my work situation seems to be pushing me that way also. My job is about 300 miles from home. I'm usually there 3 nights a week. I also want something my wife and I can use for vacations of up to 3 weeks. My tow vehicle is a Silverado 1500 4WD with the 5.3 Vortec engine and towing package. I'm looking for something that is good quality since it will get regular use but light enough to be towed with my truck. I think 20-22 ft is probably the length I'm looking for. Also since I usually get up much earlier than my wife I need a floor plan with a full time bed and a sitting area with a sofa. I've researched several and either a Nash or Arctic Fox sound great but there aren't many used ones around and I don't want to take the depreciation hit of a new one until I sure that RVing is right for us. What are some other good quality manufacturers I should look for?

I would really appreciate any advice.
RandyL is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!