Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Travel Trailer Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-31-2012, 11:04 AM   #15
Moderator Emeritus
 
TXiceman's Avatar


 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Oklahoma Boomers Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Full Time, TX Home Base
Posts: 17,150
Blog Entries: 21
Oh, I can trust a friend or even a professional, only if I can check his work forst.
__________________

__________________
Amateur Radio Operator (KE5DFR)|Full-Time! - 2012 6.7L Ford Crew Cab Dually -2013 HitchHiker Champagne 38RLRSB - Travel with one Standard Schnauzer and one small Timneh African Gray Parrot
TXiceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-03-2012, 10:24 AM   #16
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 7
Well seems I might have got a little luck on my side for now, everything seems operational except big TV and microwave when changed back properly. Trying to get the drawer out to see if the converter is a plug in, manual says unplug wait a few minutes then plug back in. Question when plugged into (correctly) shore power, (purchasing a surge protector this week-in) does the slides still run off battery? Seems when I slide in and out that my battery gets run down but back almost to pull power later on.
__________________

__________________
RON & CHRIS
2012 JAYCO JAY FLIGHT 33RLDS
SPUTTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 02:57 PM   #17
Moderator Emeritus
 
RickO's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Litchfield Park, Arizona
Posts: 10,530
Quote:
Originally Posted by SPUTTER View Post
Well seems I might have got a little luck on my side for now, everything seems operational except big TV and microwave when changed back properly. Trying to get the drawer out to see if the converter is a plug in, manual says unplug wait a few minutes then plug back in. Question when plugged into (correctly) shore power, (purchasing a surge protector this week-in) does the slides still run off battery? Seems when I slide in and out that my battery gets run down but back almost to pull power later on.
Glad it's looking a bit better.

Yes, I think your slides always are powered by battery. Even when plugged in to shore power. At least on many Winnies, they recommend that the engine be running when operating the slides so that the batteries have the benefit of being fed by the alternator.

Good luck.

Rick
__________________
Rick, Nancy, Peanut & Lola our Westie Dogs & Bailey the Sheltie.

2007 Itasca Ellipse 40FD
RickO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 03:01 PM   #18
Registered User
 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by SPUTTER View Post
Well seems I might have got a little luck on my side for now, everything seems operational except big TV and microwave when changed back properly. Trying to get the drawer out to see if the converter is a plug in, manual says unplug wait a few minutes then plug back in. Question when plugged into (correctly) shore power, (purchasing a surge protector this week-in) does the slides still run off battery? Seems when I slide in and out that my battery gets run down but back almost to pull power later on.
Plug the Microwave into a cord ran from the house and see it it still works.

I know that when the Neutral went at the Duplex I own, just about every thing that relied on a power supply like TV's and VCR's took a dump, but the Micro and Fridge/Freezers were still good..
__________________
Midniteoyl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 03:46 PM   #19
Moderator Emeritus
 
SarahW's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: In a lawnchair
Posts: 11,204
Quote:
Originally Posted by SPUTTER View Post
Well seems I might have got a little luck on my side for now, everything seems operational except big TV and microwave when changed back properly. Trying to get the drawer out to see if the converter is a plug in, manual says unplug wait a few minutes then plug back in. Question when plugged into (correctly) shore power, (purchasing a surge protector this week-in) does the slides still run off battery? Seems when I slide in and out that my battery gets run down but back almost to pull power later on.
Glad to hear that things weren't quite as bad as originally thought! Good luck and I hope all is back to normal soon.
__________________
.2012 Fleetwood Bounder 33C | 2012 Jeep Wrangler

SarahW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 05:11 AM   #20
Senior Member
 
L.C.Gray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Deep in the Heart of Texas
Posts: 336
When I was having the wiring done on my new house I was using a friend who has been an electrician for many years to do all my wiring. I had a hard time getting him to understand what my RV plug I was putting in was all about. He kept thinking and arguing 220. I went with him to the electrical supply for the right parts and looked over his shoulder when it was connected to make sure we got that one right.
__________________
L.C.Gray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 05:54 AM   #21
Senior Member
 
bluepill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Pensacola, FL
Posts: 2,247
Quote:
Originally Posted by TXiceman View Post
Oh, I can trust a friend or even a professional, only if I can check his work forst.
As Reagan told Gorbachev, "Trust, but verify"
__________________
2008 Itasca Meridian 37H & 2015 Flagstaff T12RBST
2011 & 2012 Len & Pat's "One lap of America"
27K miles & 41 states in 13 months - Woo Woo
Yellowstone Lake 6-1-2012
bluepill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 08:24 AM   #22
Senior Member
 
mwells4654's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Antlers, Ok
Posts: 130
I am glad things are looking up.
__________________
Mel MSgt. USAF (Ret)
1986 Prowler 3000 CL 5er
2006 GMC SLE Reese 16K Pro Fifth Wheel w/slide
mwells4654 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 11:44 AM   #23
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,829
Slides run of the 12 volt system, the 12 volt system INCLUDES the batteries, AND the converter. Alas I can say no more from what you have said.

I usually plug in and run my slides off my converter.. but sometimes, (It is a logistic thing) it is easier for me to pull the shore cord BEFORE I move the slide (or put the slide out without shore power) just using the batteries.

And that Txiceman said about even professionals is good advice,, Many profressionals lookign at a TT-30 see a dryer or other 230 volt device outlet and wire it for that.. NOT a 120 volt outlet, EVEN THOUGH IT VERY CLEARLY STATES 120 VOLTS ON THE OUTLET!!!
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 04:14 PM   #24
Senior Member
 
mecfd67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 223
On the point of smoke. I am an electrician by trade and I can tell you this. Smoke is needed in electrical wiring. It will not work without it. As an example when the smoke comes out of the wire it stops working. So always please make sure to re fill the smoke in the wiring.
Juat to be sure no one takes this to heart I am JK
__________________
mecfd67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 10:00 PM   #25
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 404
I think I would take the fellow with you shopping. When he asks why you want to buy all new stuff for your brand new RV... you can explain to him what happened. Maybe he will offer to pay for part of it. If not at least you get to get in a back handed gig for his part in this mess. (He will see how much is mistake cost you.)
__________________
SylviaCub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 02:15 AM   #26
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 390
sputter --- sence the tv and microwave are fryed. you might pop them open and see if you got lucky and they have a fuse. friends home stereo has a fuse inside.
__________________
wonderer1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 05:49 AM   #27
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 602
Another good idea...hire a licensed electrician.
__________________
Oscar Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 07:54 AM   #28
Registered User
 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnmbeard View Post
Another good idea...hire a licensed electrician.
Again, even they make mistakes like this all the time. Being licensed is no guarantee he knows how to do RV pedestals..
__________________

__________________
Midniteoyl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.