RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Travel Trailer Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-31-2018, 05:02 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 4
Slide fuse keeps blowing

Hey everyone. Iíve been having issues with my 30amp fuse for my slide room blowing constantly. About every 3rd time I bring my slide room in, the fuse pops just as it finishes closing. No issues with any other electrical components, just that one fuse.

The trailer is a 2013 Springdale 294. Replacing the fuse normally wouldnít be a big deal, except the fuse panel is in the bunk room in the back of the trailer and inaccessible when the slide is in. Iíve come up with a system of crawling under the trailer and manually opening the slide in a few minutes, but I would like to just rely on the fuse working.

Iíve checked under the slide and donít see anything that looks pinched with the wires either. Any thought or ideas would be great. And I have tried using the slide while hooked up to power and on battery and have had fuses blow in both instances.
__________________

DeZeeuw12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-31-2018, 05:19 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
tuffr2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Palm Coast Florida
Posts: 6,257
Can you stop it from blowing a fuse if you let go of the switch a second sooner?

Double check the wires with a good flashlight. It is possible a mouse chewed insulation off a wire.
__________________

tuffr2 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2018, 05:29 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
bob caldwell's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Vancouver Wash
Posts: 5,448
Why not put a automatic resetting circuit breaker in......most parts stores carry them...
__________________
2010 Rockwood Sig Ultra lite 5er 8280......'99 Ram 2500, Cummins. 4x4.....Pullrite Superglide.......Use to work in calender factory.....got fired for tak'n a few days off.....
bob caldwell is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2018, 05:52 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
thetravelkids's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 138
Are you using ďslow-blowĒ fuses? Thatís what was called for on the slideout on our previous motor home.
__________________
Bob & Pat
2012 Evergreen Element 26SRL
2018 Ford Expedition XLT
thetravelkids is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2018, 05:53 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 4
Iíve just been using standard 30 amp auto fuses. Iíve never heard of slow blow fuses
DeZeeuw12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2018, 08:39 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 11
I had the same problem. The fuse would blow if I wasn't plugged in. Switched to a auto resetting breaker and haven't had a problem yet! (Knock on wood)
Permadirt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2018, 10:08 PM   #7
Member
 
Varago's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Vancouver Wa.
Posts: 78
Most of the time with a simple motion system like this, blowing a fuse is caused by an over current. Most of the time the over current is caused by hitting a hard stop. This simple a system uses some kind of a limit switch to tell the controller to stop. If your travel switch is set a bit to near the hard stop you can get random over current conditions (blown fuse). I would try to download a manual for your controller and find your limit sensors to see if there is a travel limit adjustment. It will probably be a limit switch or a hall effect sensor.

Good luck
Dave
__________________
2019 Grand Design Reflection 230RL, UVW 7040 lbs, GVWR 9495 lbs, Pin 1500lbs @ 8000lbs
2017 Ford F250 XLT 6.7L 3.31 164"wb SCab LB 4X4, GVWR 10000, PayLoad 2532 lbs, front axle 5200 lbs, rear axle 6340 lbs
Varago is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2018, 05:19 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Carlos, Texas
Posts: 1,280
I used to have a Springdale very similar to yours. There is no travel stop limit switch. It uses plain auto fuses. It sounds like your need to clean and lube your slide parts. Always use a dry lube. Stuff like oils and wd40 will catch dirt and make things bad. Also, the motor draws alot. Even if it's plugged in, it still needs a good well charged battery and good connections. Clean your connections at the battery and the slide motor. Apply a dielectric grease to keep the connections clean. Also make sure nothing is in the way and there's not a lot of weight added into places like dinette seats, which were mounted in our slide. Look for signs that the slide needs adjusting, like marks on the carpet and floor that show it's dragging on it. Make sure there is no debris on top of the slide and always use a slide seal lube and conditioner spray. Those slide seals can cause alot of drag if they are all dried up. You could hear ours squeal if they were dry.
charliez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2018, 05:06 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
egwilly's Avatar
 
Outdoors RV Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: So Calif
Posts: 1,999
A mechanical slide will draw close to 15 amps when opening and closing. Unless there is friction along the way. Low speed, high torque motor.
If I hold my slide switch in after opening or closing, the amps jump to over 25.
Blown fuse would result if I continued to stall the motor.
Charliez had some good points as well.
Check that the slide is not tweaked.
__________________

__________________
Outdoors RV Glacier Peak 26RLS Fifth Wheel
Ford F350 Superduty 6.7 Oil Burner
Jeep Wrangler for dirt
egwilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fuse, slide



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
One Fuse Keeps Blowing patncris RV Systems & Appliances 9 01-01-2014 10:59 AM
Fuse keeps blowing Martino78 RV Systems & Appliances 2 04-20-2012 09:13 AM
Left front HWH 325 series Jack keeps blowing the 15 amp fuse woodyk Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 6 01-04-2011 07:51 AM
water pump fuse keeps blowing ldsord MH-General Discussions & Problems 4 06-04-2010 06:27 AM
right signal fuse keeps blowing Motorhome05 Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 3 03-14-2007 11:29 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×