Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Travel Trailer Discussion
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 05-03-2016, 07:31 AM   #1

Solar or portable generator

noob here. i'm looking for a trailer in the 3500 pound-350 pound hitch weight max class. i'd like to go solar but
a. i'm not all that great with diy projects.drilling the roof--aaarrgghh
b. there are few trailers in those specs to handle the hitch weight of 2 6v golf batteries 200-220 amp hours and stay below 350 pounds. i'd like to do 200 watts solar. palomini 142ck and rpod 171 are two.
could i place the batteries in the center dinette seat storage areas or closet over the wheels in trailers so equipped?
or should i just buy a portable gen and a trailer i like because i'm not thrilled with the trailers i mentioned? maybe try to go solar on it later if having batteries in the trailer is ok. i full timed and boondocked 15 years ago for about 2 years in a old class c with a honda 1000 watt gen. i think i could still do it today if i had a trailer with a 5-8k wall mount a/c and maybe have to swap the microwave for lower watts if it won't run as the only thing on.
starlost is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!