Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Travel Trailer Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 09-17-2016, 07:58 AM   #1

The Sage RV'er

Hey all... new guy here. Looking for sage insight as I return to RVing.

I retired recently and looking forward to one of my bucket list trips to Alaska. I'm a previous owner of an RV some time ago, however I'm about to buy a used travel trailer for my 2 month Alaska trip next year. Although it's me and my buddy going to Alaska, I'm planning to travel throughout the US and Canada when my wife retires in two (2) years.

Right now the KISS rule applies as I look for a used-road worth trailer. I'm an experienced driver with a CDL A licence and my current tow vehicle is a 02' Ford Excursion Diesel 4x4. I'm looking to spend 10-12K or less but finding the right trailer is more important. Because I'll be "off road" some during my trip, I'm thinking 21'-23' is about right, but nothing less then 20.

So far I've looked at 10 used trailer with only 2 passing muster. One sold before I could make an offer and the other one is a 2007 Keystone RS. I've got my laser thermometer, volt meter and moisture tester which have proved very useful in finding what can not be seen with the naked eye.

Any sage advise on buying used and my Alaska trip is very appreciated. I've got the latest Milepost and I'm in the planning stages right now.

Thanks to all...

PS... I have a dual fuel LP/gas 3400W inverter generator

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!