Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Travel Trailer Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-05-2013, 08:54 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 7
Trouble with Fridge

I have a Dometic model rm 2662 fridge that does not work on AC . I have it plug in the my house and every time I put the fridge on auto she jumps to gas and will not go to AC . I also has the gas turn of . Also would like to know where the fuses is on the fridge . Thanks for any help .
__________________

__________________
moosebateman is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-05-2013, 09:03 AM   #2
Community Moderator
 
"007"'s Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 26,726
Fuse for AC elements is on the control board 5 amp.
If its a older element may have a short in element and needs to be changed.
__________________

__________________
98KSCA, 99MACA, 03 KSCA-3740- 8.1 Chev-- ALLISON Trans, now in good hands
VISIT the NEWMAR QUICK TIPS & EASYMODS 1 & 2
QUICK TIPS # 3
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 09:09 AM   #3
Registered User
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Varies Depending on The Weather
Posts: 8,517
It could be as simple as the fuse that 007 suggested that has blown and needs to be replaced. Or it could be that there is not 120 VAC going to the fridge. Or it could be the control board itself that needs to be replaced.

Obviously, check the fuse first. Also make sure that there is 120 VAC available for the fridge at the duplex outlets. The last resort is to try a new control board.

Dr4Film ----- Richard
__________________
Dr4Film is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 09:12 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
rdownward's Avatar
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Leeds, Utah
Posts: 199
If you have an inverter in your unit, you should check to make sure the breaker(s) on the inverter are "on." If the breaker(s) on the inverter is/are functioning properly, there should be a circuit breaker in your a/c breaker panel that controls the a/c to the refrigerator. If you don't know which breaker is the one for the refrigerator, re-set 'em all and see if that solves your problem.
__________________
Roger & Diana
'03 Alpine 36MDDS
Leeds, UT
rdownward is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 10:05 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 199
Also check to make sure all your outlets work and that a GFCI hasn't tripped. My old trailer had some outlets on the same circuit as the fridge and had a GFCI on them.
__________________
bartlettj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 10:56 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 4,232
First, what circuit are you plugged into? 30A, 20A, 15A? If it's 15A, that's enough to run the refr and converter basically. Make sure your house circuit isn't tripped. Make sure your cord is a big cord. If it's little, you'll have voltage drop, and the cntrl brd won't like that.
Then, make sure you're not trying to run a space heater, electric WH, or anything that will draw a lot of power creating voltage drop also.
Then, if that's all good, check for power at the outlet on the backside of the refr. THEN if that's good, we can start suspecting it's a refr problem, but I doubt it.
__________________
jesilvas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 07:16 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Ray,IN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: North America somewhere
Posts: 13,688
MY first action would be to plug-in a small 120VAC appliance or tool where the frig plugs-in to see if the receptacle is hot and working. If the receptacle is working it must be the frig itself.
You will find the service manual for your frig online. Type-in the model number, make, and year + service manual. One website is bryantrv.com
__________________
2000 Winnebago Ultimate Freedom USQ40JD, ISC 8.3 Cummins 350, Spartan MM Chassis. USA 1SG, retired;PPA,Good Sam Life member,FMCA."We the people are the rightful masters of both the Congress and the Courts - not to overthrow the Constitution but to overthrow men who pervert the Constitution. "Abraham Lincoln"
Ray,IN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 09:38 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 4,232
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ray,IN View Post
MY first action would be to plug-in a small 120VAC appliance or tool where the frig plugs-in to see if the receptacle is hot and working. If the receptacle is working it must be the frig itself.
You will find the service manual for your frig online. Type-in the model number, make, and year + service manual. One website is bryantrv.com
Not necessarily. Low voltage will still run a drill but a refr cntrl brd will not let it run off that bad voltage to protect it.
__________________
jesilvas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 08:13 AM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 7
Replaced the 5a fuse that was blown plug the fridge back in went on ac for about 30 seconds and then blew the fuse again . Was wondering what causes the fuses to be blown like that ? Thanks to everyone that replied
__________________
moosebateman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 10:58 AM   #10
Registered User
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Varies Depending on The Weather
Posts: 8,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by moosebateman View Post
Replaced the 5a fuse that was blown plug the fridge back in went on ac for about 30 seconds and then blew the fuse again . Was wondering what causes the fuses to be blown like that ? Thanks to everyone that replied
Your 120 VAC heater(s) has a short that is either shorted to ground or something else.

Find the service manual for your model fridge on the Internet and follow the trouble-shooting for the heater(s).

Dr4Film ----- Richard
__________________
Dr4Film is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 06:33 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Ray,IN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: North America somewhere
Posts: 13,688
Quote:
Originally Posted by jesilvas View Post
Not necessarily. Low voltage will still run a drill but a refr cntrl brd will not let it run off that bad voltage to protect it.
Read your owners manual for the AC voltage range. Of course we all know anything below 108 volts will harm an inductive motor, these frigs do not have one.
__________________
2000 Winnebago Ultimate Freedom USQ40JD, ISC 8.3 Cummins 350, Spartan MM Chassis. USA 1SG, retired;PPA,Good Sam Life member,FMCA."We the people are the rightful masters of both the Congress and the Courts - not to overthrow the Constitution but to overthrow men who pervert the Constitution. "Abraham Lincoln"
Ray,IN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 08:48 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 4,232
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ray,IN View Post
Read your owners manual for the AC voltage range. Of course we all know anything below 108 volts will harm an inductive motor, these frigs do not have one.
Had a Norcold, two door in our small 5th wheel. Was getting it ready and was using a 15A ext. cord, had a small space heater going inside, the cnvtr, and the refr on AC. Refr kept going back and forth. Tested voltage and down around 108VAC or so (idr the exact #s) was it's range for going to LP.
__________________
jesilvas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 03:41 PM   #13
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 7
Thank you to everyone for the help tried it on the propane again and it worked and when I went back to the ac everything was working great
__________________

__________________
moosebateman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fridge



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.