Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 12-12-2010, 03:02 PM   #1

Weight

I am new to the game of travel trailers so i just bought a 2005, 25ft starcraft with a weight of 5300 pounds but i saw a 32ft starcraft with a weight of 4700 pounds, how does a 5 or 6 ft shorter travel trailer weigh more? Just a note i have seen many longer travel trailers with less weight, what gives?
jim22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-12-2010, 03:24 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Ford Super Duty Owner
The 4700# is most likely a dream world DRY WEIGHT.

Welcome to iRV2.

The truck and RV manufacturers both use a lot of imagination in the ratings and data they publish...So Buyer Beware....