Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Travel Trailer Discussion
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 06-23-2014, 12:48 AM   #1

When do you sign the sales contract?

I am a newbie. I am interested in buying used 2014 5th wheel. When do you sign a contract for the sale... we are pre-approved so no financing, Do you to sign contract "before or after" the walk-thru?
They put a clause in contract which they also call a "closing tape" that makes me uneasy. It states in bold underlined writing: "When you sign these papers, you agree that there are no other promises or agreements implied or expressed except what is written in your contract. Any verbal promises "or agreements" by anyone are NOT part of this agreement unless it is in writing on these papers."
We have been told and emailed about what they will do to unit and the condition the trailer is in...that all manuals available...frame not bent and in goods condition, scuff to be fixed..water mark not caused by pipe leak, etc but these promises were made verbally and in emails they would all be null & useless unless we can get them to add it to this contract in the area they call "closing tape'.

Also they have form to sign that if there are any problems you can only go to arbitration and you waive right to jury trial. Is that normal?