Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Travel Trailer Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-02-2014, 10:25 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
TVforMyRV's Avatar


Official iRV2 Sponsor
 
Overland Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Ickesburg, PA
Posts: 721
Blog Entries: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robbie1979 View Post
I will try this to see if the cable is bad. Any problem with trying rg6? It specifies to use the rg59 cable
RG-6 is fine.
__________________

__________________
Don & Anita Sweger
98 Overland Larado 4141SO
41' 325hp Cummins C8.3 Nicknamed "Lola"
Owners of: www.tvformyrv.com
TVforMyRV is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-02-2014, 10:32 AM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by TVforMyRV View Post
RG-6 is fine.

Great will try this afternoon and let you know the outcome
__________________

__________________
Robbie1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2014, 11:47 AM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 33
Well, the cable is bad. I temporarily ran a cable and i picked up 40 total channels. Now any help on the best way to run a new cable. Thanks everyone for all the help
__________________
Robbie1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2014, 12:30 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,832
RG-6 is not only fine, it is superior.

Steps: first search for cable faults,, You have 3 (or 4) cables I will start at the antenna and work my way to the TV

Main tv
Antenna to roof, there should be a connector at the roof line (Buried in caulk) or just under the roof (Likewise)
Roof to switch box, be it a wall-plate or a box of many buttons.
Switch to MAIN TV - or -
Cable to jack near secondary (Or tirtary) TV (TV2-TV-3) where there is a connector (Wall plate) and then a cable to the TV.

SOME RV's may have a splitter in this cable for multiple tv spots (mine does on TV-3, but then I installed it)

I am not an RV service technician, I am, however, a certified electronics technician, and retired police dispatcher, and old farm boy jack of many trades.. And I do offer to help folks.. This means I have not seen all that many RV's with problems but I have seen:

Cable ends pulled off (several)
Fuses blown (1)
Bad connector at the roof line (one) we narrowed it to the cable from the switch box to the roof, never even considered it might be the roof connector.. but the service tech said it was (I was not going to dig it out of the roof).
Bad cable roof to antenna

I have never seen a bad antenna myself, but others have.

Recommended upgardes to Winegard Sensar II and III include
Wingman (UHF Director Array) improves UHF performance.
SENSAR PRO indoor module (Replaces wall plate if you have one, if you have a matrix switch (Box of many buttons) it is the only thing I recommend installing "In front" of that box (Between box and antenna) as it is specifically designed to fit there. BIG improvement when I did this

Sensar Pro also upgrades Sensar IV antenna (IV includes wingman)
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2014, 12:59 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 33
The cable from the roof to the box is the one that needs replacement. My next question is could I install the rg6 permanently instead of using the rg59?
__________________
Robbie1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2014, 01:01 PM   #20
Registered User
 
mel s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8,777
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robbie1979 View Post
Well, the cable is bad. I temporarily ran a cable and i picked up 40 total channels. Now any help on the best way to run a new cable. Thanks everyone for all the help
the problem
Robbie
Glad you found the problem!
Before running a new coax try putting new end fittings on the existing coax.
Mel
__________________
mel s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2014, 03:23 PM   #21
Senior Member
 
KT4Wextra's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 529
You might try one of these web sites to locate transmitters and signal strength.http://www.antennaweb.org
http://antennapoint.com
http://tvfool.com
__________________
2014 Palomino Puma 25RS 28 days in 2014, 47 days in 2015, 71 days in 2016, 2017-33, 2018- 29 booked.
2011 F-150 Supercrew 5.0 6spd, Me, Xyl and the 2 Fur kids, BooBoo and Gracie (felines)
KT4Wextra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2014, 03:52 PM   #22
Registered User
 
mel s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8,777
BTW
This is where/how to aim a Winegard "batwing" antenna for the best possible reception:



---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Like this IF you have a Winegard "wingman" attached:



---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Mel
'96 Safari
__________________
mel s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2014, 08:27 PM   #23
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,832
Can I use RG-6 instead of RG-59

YES, in fact I highly recommend you do so, RG-6 is superior at VHF, UHF and Satellite frequencies (less loss) though the effect increases with frequency even at 56 MHz (carrier Channel 2) it is noticable. By the time you hit carrier channel 14 (UHF) it is significant. So by all means use good quality RG-6.

Never buy 59 again, only six.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2014, 06:42 AM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 33
Great!! I will run rg6. Cant i just run 1 solid piece from the antenna to the box? There is a small 2' section from the antenna to the roof than there is a connection and another cable that runs from there to the box.
__________________
Robbie1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2014, 07:00 AM   #25
Member
 
zdomain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 35
You could replace the entire run if you wanted. The reason they have the connector on the roof is that the cable from the antenna to the roof line flexes as the antenna goes up and down, and flexes in the wind as you drive down the road. I would guess that the cable that is bad is from the antenna to the roof line. Replace that and you should be fine. That coax doesn't really like to flex, no matter what kind it is.

If you replace the entire run and it fails again, you end up replacing the entire run again.
__________________
Zdomain, Minnesota
2014 Thor Four Winds 28z
DW, 2 boys, 1 knuckleheaded yellow lab
zdomain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2014, 07:22 AM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 33
Thanks for the reply. Actually, the cable from the roof to the box is the one that is bad. Its going to be a pain to replace that. I was going connect on the old piece and pull it but i see the old cable is stubborn. I am hoping they didnt staple it anywhere from the factory
__________________
Robbie1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2014, 01:35 PM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 33
Well, looks like the cable wasn't bad. I switched the coax cables at the box and it is now working correctly. How could someone have had the cables in the wrong order? That was absolutely ridiculous!
__________________
Robbie1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2014, 04:30 PM   #28
Senior Member
 
KT4Wextra's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 529
It's possible that the power supply had failed and was replaced and the installer didn't think to mark the coax's and swapped the coax connectors.
__________________

__________________
2014 Palomino Puma 25RS 28 days in 2014, 47 days in 2015, 71 days in 2016, 2017-33, 2018- 29 booked.
2011 F-150 Supercrew 5.0 6spd, Me, Xyl and the 2 Fur kids, BooBoo and Gracie (felines)
KT4Wextra is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
antenna



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Winegard Wingman for Motorized Antenna Pullin' Chocks Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 10 09-18-2014 06:00 AM
Winegard Video Switch box connections, BATWING Antenna, and rear TV signal problems Old Grape Monaco Owner's Forum 15 07-21-2014 12:57 PM
In review - Winegard Rayzar HDTV Antenna DriVer RV Industry Press 0 05-16-2014 05:48 PM
Braun antenna wih winegard sensar pro Jeff753 Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 8 02-25-2014 07:45 PM
Winegard Fitment on Older Sensar Zoom45 Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 3 12-01-2013 10:32 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.