Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Travel Trailer Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-20-2013, 11:39 AM   #1
Member
 
CaptnLouie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 33
Wiring new stereo in trailer

I have replaced the crummy stereo that came with my 2007 travel trailer with a car stereo. There is a black and white wire set that provided my old stereo with 12vdc. When I hook up my new stereo will not power up. When I put a digital meter on it to verify power, the unit came on and then powered down minutes later.

Is there anyone else that has experienced this problem out there and what did you do to fix it,
__________________

__________________
CaptnLouie is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-20-2013, 12:35 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
BFlinn181's Avatar
 
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 16,211
Many auto stereos have two 12 v + inputs, one full time and one switched by the ignition. In your TT I'd think you'd connect both to the + wire. This will create a small parasitic draw to maintain memory settings and clock, but you could put a switch in if you wish.
__________________

__________________

Bob & Donna
'98 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager DP being pushed by a '00 Beetle TDI
BFlinn181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2013, 02:03 PM   #3
Member
 
CaptnLouie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by BFlinn181 View Post
Many auto stereos have two 12 v + inputs, one full time and one switched by the ignition. In your TT I'd think you'd connect both to the + wire. This will create a small parasitic draw to maintain memory settings and clock, but you could put a switch in if you wish.
Thank you for the rapid response. I understand what you are saying. If you do not put a switch between the + wire and the radio + wire, the radio will be ON all the time. The other wire you refer to should be connected "hot" all the time to maintain the radio pre-sets. My problem is that the stereo will only power up when I use a meter to test the 12vdc on the radio. I do not have a ON/OFF power switch for the stereo connected yet. The 12vdc is connected straight to the stereo and not through a switch. I am assuming the 12vdc "+" and 12vdc"-" wires are coming from the 12vdc fuse block in the power panel. Maybe this does not work and have to take the "-" wire from the stereo and ground it to the frame?

This is why I was asking if anyone out there had experienced the same problem.
__________________
CaptnLouie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2013, 02:23 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
BFlinn181's Avatar
 
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 16,211
Do you have both 12 v + wires hooked up to the 12 v + from the fuse panel? Does your meter show 12 power from the fuse panel leads and ground? The only reason I can think for the radio to only come on when you insert a meter in the circuit is that the full time 12 v + is not connected. Check the ground wire, it is possible to ground to any part of the frame or metal structure, it should be all connected. (you could even use a nearby light or other 12 v - source) Just make sure the ground wire is heavier gauge than the radio ground wire.
__________________

Bob & Donna
'98 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager DP being pushed by a '00 Beetle TDI
BFlinn181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2013, 03:11 PM   #5
Member
 
CaptnLouie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 33
This makes sense. The meter reads 13.8 VDC between the + and - wire that powered the old stereo. Unfortunately, there is no exposed "frame ground inside the cabinet where the stereo is located. I will ground the stereo to the frame where the battery - post is grounded. If that works, then I need to fish a wire from the frame to the stereo. Will try it this weekend and post back the results.
__________________
CaptnLouie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.