Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Travel Trailer Discussion
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 04-22-2014, 08:08 AM   #1

Would like your opinions: new and used

Hello everyone,
I am a newbie getting ready to purchase our first TT. I have been looking for some time at different models and features. I have a line on a couple of units and would value some input.
The first unit is a used 2012 Kodiak 242resl. The unit seems in pretty good shape BUT, I did notice a camber issue on the rear axle that caused one of the tires to have all the tread worn of the inside. I pointed this out to the dealer, and they are going to replace one or both axles. It concerns me what may have happened that caused this, and are there hidden issues. While i was assured the trailer would have a thorough check out and all systems would work correctly, you never know. The trailer does come with a load equalizing hitch, 3 year good sam membership, etc.

The next unit is a new 2014 Jayco Jay Flight Swift Travel Trailer 248RBS. Pretty nice floor plan, similar weight. Aluminum instead of fiberglass. No load equalizing hitch. i would have to drive from Colorado to Indiana to pick up, so there is that aspect. However, the cost of trailer is only about $1260 more than the used unit. Obviously, there, i need to get the hitch and travel to pick it up, so there would be additional expenses, but it would have a factory warranty.