Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > Product Evaluations
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-16-2006, 05:10 AM   #29
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Commerce Twp, MI
Posts: 309
Quote:
Originally posted by tderonne:
...Just what can an R5 do that my L2 can't? DVB, like an L3, and HD?
I think that is it.
R5 does not have the R6 dew resistant coating, smaller dome and gps/dvb combo.
__________________

__________________
2012 Winnebago Adventurer 35P, Roadmaster F+R sway bars, Blue Ox Tiger Trac, 06 HHR toad
past:2003 Itasca Suncruiser 38G
LandHo is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-14-2006, 07:18 PM   #30
Senior Member
 
Stretch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: cayucos, ca
Posts: 476
I have an L3 (in motion) KVH and I use DISH for service.
I purchased this unit new last March (05) I purchased the L3 after I was assured that it would switch between sats 110 and 119 automatically. WRONG!! After calling KVH they said I would have to use manual switching til they upgraded the software. In about a month they did just that. Wonderful? Well not exactly. The L3 does, after a fashion, switch, but slowly and after receiving notes on the tv that say "check switch" and "wrong Satelite", it does eventualy switch. It sometimes takes 20r 3 minutes. I would n ot call that automatic.
Also, if we drive under a bridge while enjoying a good program, the screen says "lost sat" amd it may take 3,4, or more minutes while the L3 seems to have totally lost its bearings and has to begin anew to locate the sat. I have been told by KVH repeatedl;;y that the problem is with the DISH satellites. They make it difficult to the receivers to locate them. And if I had DIRECT it would be far eaiser for the L3 to locate and lock onto their sats. Now you kind folks are telling me that DIRECT has its own set of problems. Have I purchased a lemon?
And what is with this new type of KVH with GPS? Does this make my L3 obsolete?

BURNING IN MORRO BAY
__________________

__________________
Ross Starkenburg
2005 Holiday Rambler Navigator 43PBQ w/detroit 60 series, Lexus LX470 toad
Stretch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2006, 07:53 AM   #31
Member
 
mthom12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 40
Question,
When I have my SAT on and tracking when I stop to fuel up and stop the engine and then start it again why does the SAT have to search for the satellite again? I checked the power and it is from the house batteries. By the way, I do not have an inverter.
__________________
Henderson Track-Bar

Roadmaster Brake system
mthom12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2006, 12:22 PM   #32
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Commerce Twp, MI
Posts: 309
Quote:
Originally posted by Stretch:
Have I purchased a lemon?
And what is with this new type of KVH with GPS? Does this make my L3 obsolete?
BURNING IN MORRO BAY
L3...I don't know if the newer ones are better...and someone may be able to comment on the L3/Directv combo...


Quote:
Originally posted by mthom12:
Question,
When I have my SAT on and tracking when I stop to fuel up and stop the engine and then start it again why does the SAT have to search for the satellite again? I checked the power and it is from the house batteries. By the way, I do not have an inverter.
Every time the power is off (since you do not have an inverter that is on while your engine is stopped) the KVH will go thru a self diagnostic when it powers on again...this means it will go thru its routine again...I hate this, but the system has no way of knowing whether you have moved your RV. Supposedly, the new kvh units eliminated this problem...
__________________
2012 Winnebago Adventurer 35P, Roadmaster F+R sway bars, Blue Ox Tiger Trac, 06 HHR toad
past:2003 Itasca Suncruiser 38G
LandHo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2006, 01:03 PM   #33
Senior Member
 
Pat Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Fort Washington, PA 19034, USA
Posts: 216
Send a message via ICQ to Pat Z Send a message via AIM to Pat Z Send a message via Yahoo to Pat Z
Here's what do to get a signal. I have an old receiver that is not subscribed. It has a low speed data port. I connect that, get a signal, shut off the satellite, unhook the old receiver and connect my TIVO. It's a lot faster than waiting for the TIVO to find a signal without the low speed data port.
__________________
05 Excursion 39J-07 Avalanche-Max & Ruby Lahsa Alpsas http://banners.wunderground.com/weat...Washington.gif
Pat Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2006, 03:30 PM   #34
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Commerce Twp, MI
Posts: 309
The D10 with the software upgrade (fix) STILL DOES NOT WORK. The L2 still hunts...

Guess it's time to complain to KVH again. I have been so busy this year, I didn't get to test the D10 until now. Luckily, I have an older RCA that will work...But I will still complain...since KVH gave me the D10...maybe they can give me another one!
__________________
2012 Winnebago Adventurer 35P, Roadmaster F+R sway bars, Blue Ox Tiger Trac, 06 HHR toad
past:2003 Itasca Suncruiser 38G
LandHo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2006, 11:35 AM   #35
Senior Member
 
peter griffin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 339
i had an l2 and d10 it will not work in motion and if you want stationary sat you need to unplug the network cable the one that looks like the telephone jack...biggest piece of junk I ever bought and KVH knows it...try an older direct tv box and you might work the right way...i sold the camper and my new camper has the R6 works great! but expensive and need an another box with your direct tv box

good luck
__________________
Peter Griffin
2011 JAYCO 24 Z TOY HAULER -
2011 F250 Crew gas
peter griffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2006, 05:14 AM   #36
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Commerce Twp, MI
Posts: 309
KVH tech support directed me to their website link about the D10 software fix...ha ha...been there done that...only saving grace that I am not cussing up a storm with kvh is that my older receiver still works properly...D10? forgetaboutit !! When I need to upgrade/change to dvs/gps based system, it WILL NOT be KVH...I know, I know, KVH says the problem is directv...so what...KVH gave me the receiver that was suppose to work...they can give another receiver that will work...but nooooo !!
__________________

__________________
2012 Winnebago Adventurer 35P, Roadmaster F+R sway bars, Blue Ox Tiger Trac, 06 HHR toad
past:2003 Itasca Suncruiser 38G
LandHo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems with Directv receiver during Set Up wagonmaster2 Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 10 11-23-2008 12:41 PM
HD Directv Receiver Derrick L. George Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 3 04-06-2008 03:40 PM
Directv receiver question BillArf Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 17 03-15-2008 08:32 AM
Wireless phone jack for DirecTV receiver???? Scooter Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 8 10-03-2007 04:17 AM
Directv receiver dieselclacker MH-General Discussions & Problems 10 06-25-2006 09:42 AM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

RV & Travel Trailer Communities

Our RV & Travel Trailer sites encompasses virtually all types of Recreational Vehicles, from brand-specific to general RV communities.

» More about our RV Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002-2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.