Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > Gear and Product Discussions
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 09-05-2006, 11:00 AM   #1

I just installed this unit and am very happy to report that the installation was pretty easy. I'm not an electrician, but I do have a slight mechanical aptitude.
I chose this unit over the Surge Guard (34560) because of the more through protection, LED readouts, better warranty, covered design, less expensive and most of all the support I received from VIP Enterprise (Dave Sharkey). I called and asked questions before I purchased and Dave was very patient with me and all of my questions. Progressive does not sell direct. The routing of the 6 gauge wire was a little cramped inside the box. I'm not excited about the external connections with the Surge Guard. I'm sure the Surge Guard is a good unit, but it seemed that the Progressive Industries unit is better and less expensive. The unit scrolls through each legs voltage and current readings. The frequency and a final code, E-0 that says everything is hooked up correctly and working.
I like the key to bypass the voltage protection on the Surge Guard, where the LC HW 50 has a wire jumper that has to be removed. I hope I don't every have to use it. The LC HW 50 has separate components that can be replaced instead of the whole unit like the Surge Guard.
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!