Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc.
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-08-2014, 10:25 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Northern Oklahoma
Posts: 3,920
Adding Directv in the house

I've had Directv in the motor home for several years and suspending it during the winter when the coach is winterized.

Since I currently have cable TV in the house, and am getting tired of them cancelling so many stations, what would I expect from DTV if I added DTV to the house also? All their specials say for new customers so would I have to pay for installation and all the extra receivers? Anyone ever go through this situation?
__________________

wagonmaster2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-09-2014, 03:45 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 24,022
Best option is to pick up the proper DISH type antenna on Craig's List (That way it will be a local source and you can see it before you buy it).

Mount and aim it (you aleady know how) and simply move the receiver in or pick up a couple of "Additional room" receivers.

Say nothing to Direc about the house, Keep only the RV account.

By the way, This is how I advise folks to do it.. Get an RV account, and put the spare receivers in the house, not the other way around, has to do with DNS regualtions..

If you mention doing this to Direc, they will get all nasty on you since I believe it voilates their terms of service, but considering I feel they are ripping you off to start with (And cable is too) you are just working to get what you are paying for in my book.

When Sat and Cable started they yammered about "Commercial Free TV", this lasted about 10 minutes. Why should I PAY FOR ADVERTISING to be delivered to my house?
__________________

__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2014, 03:42 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
docj's Avatar
Official iRV2 Sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4,187
I don't think there is anything "illegal" about what the OP wants to do unless he has DNS service in the RV. I don't think DTV would have any problem with you wanting to expand their service to include both house and RV. I believe the only time there is a requirement to have separate accounts is when the RV has DNS service which they are not supposed to let you have in a fixed structure. But since the OP isn't a full-time RVer, I'd be surprised if he has DNS anyway.

A simple way to deal with the situation that has been used by others on these forums is to call DTV and tell them you would like to have a fixed dish installed at your location that you can connect with the receiver in your RV. They'll install a dish for you and will connect it to your RV with coax. After they leave just feed the coax to whatever room in the house you wish and move the receiver inside.
__________________
Joel Weiss--WiFiRanger RV Ambassador
RVParkReviews administrator
2000 40' Beaver Patriot Thunder Princeton CAT C-12
docj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2014, 06:14 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Northern Oklahoma
Posts: 3,920
Correct, no DNS. Since most of our vacations are in Colorado where they don't have cable anymore we just use a Colorado address for Service Adddress and that lets us get the locals. For some reason doing it that way we can get the Denver local channels all over the state with our satellite dish. Any other places we do camp at will have cable which we can use there for the local channels. Cable companies have completely pulled out of Ouray and Silverton so it's a must to have satellite while visiting there.

I have 3 TVs in the house so I guess I'd need 2 extra receivers. I have 2 TVs in the motor home and currently looking at a different one that has 3 TVs so maybe I just get the 2 extra receivers for the motor home.

Wonder if I'd have any problem using the cable that runs to each room of the house since it's what was put in the house 45 years ago. It's the same size cable I'm using now with the MH when using the Winegard Carryout dome if trees are in the way for the roof mount crank up dish on the motor home.
wagonmaster2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2014, 07:13 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
docj's Avatar
Official iRV2 Sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4,187
If you don't have DNS there really shouldn't be any problem with DTV. They should be happy that a customer wants to expand his service. They might charge you for a service call, but lots of time they don't.
__________________
Joel Weiss--WiFiRanger RV Ambassador
RVParkReviews administrator
2000 40' Beaver Patriot Thunder Princeton CAT C-12
docj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2014, 07:11 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
WagonMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Yukon, OK, USA
Posts: 243
The best way to get HD programming to all of your receivers, wireless, is to get the Directv Genie receiver and the desired number of wireless Mini Genies. Have this installed in your house and then move it to the RV when you're traveling. I have the local OKC channels for my residence and I can get them as far south as Dallas.
__________________

__________________
2014 Big Country 3650RL
2011 Chevy 3500HD, DRW, 4 X 4, Duramax/Allison
Retired, 3 Boston Terriers
WagonMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Weird Generator and House Batteries issue. Raining Star RV Systems & Appliances 6 06-16-2014 08:13 PM
Turning off water, heat in house during the winter dakota pete iRV2.com General Discussion 10 06-12-2014 08:25 PM
Charging house batteries while driving? psandoz Damon 4 04-13-2014 02:41 PM
Starting generator causes all house 12V to kick off dcloukota Damon 11 03-03-2014 12:53 PM
No 12V house power smlranger Country Coach Owners Forum 3 06-24-2013 09:38 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.