RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc.
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-30-2008, 12:03 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Steve N Sal's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 5,663
We have a Gateway laptop. It's 2 years old and have lost the availability to find available WIFI connections. When clicking to view avail. wireless a message comes up that "Windows cannot configure this wireless connection" and refers us to a WZC service. Going there is no help either. Went to the Geek Squad at Best Buy and they couldn't hook-up to there wireless either. They said to reinstall the original disk to bring it back to it's original state when new. Has anyone had this problem? Do we possibly need a new wireless board in the computer? Pretty frustrating. Any advice would be helpful.
__________________

__________________
Steve & Sally / Hudson Our Little Pom / Heidi, Houston & HiTee Forever in our Hearts
04 NEWMAR MACA 3778 W22 / 05 PT Vert
Michigan (Summer) Michigan (Winter For Now)
Steve N Sal is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-30-2008, 12:03 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Steve N Sal's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 5,663
We have a Gateway laptop. It's 2 years old and have lost the availability to find available WIFI connections. When clicking to view avail. wireless a message comes up that "Windows cannot configure this wireless connection" and refers us to a WZC service. Going there is no help either. Went to the Geek Squad at Best Buy and they couldn't hook-up to there wireless either. They said to reinstall the original disk to bring it back to it's original state when new. Has anyone had this problem? Do we possibly need a new wireless board in the computer? Pretty frustrating. Any advice would be helpful.
__________________

__________________
Steve & Sally / Hudson Our Little Pom / Heidi, Houston & HiTee Forever in our Hearts
04 NEWMAR MACA 3778 W22 / 05 PT Vert
Michigan (Summer) Michigan (Winter For Now)
Steve N Sal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 12:37 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
GaryKD's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Wellington, Florida
Posts: 13,449
Hi Steve,
Are you running XP as your OS? If so there are a couple of things you can try.

1. Go to Device Manager (use the XP help function if you do not know how to get to Device Manager). Look under Network adapters. Is there anything there that would indicate it is connected with the WIFI feature? Is there anything in the hardware list that has a yellow indicator to the left of it?

2. Go to the Control Panel. Double click on the Add Hardware icon. Follow the instructions.
You may need the installation disc the Geek Squad mentioned.

Do you have the original disc the Geek Squad mentioned? If to look do a directory/folder on the disc and see if you can find a directory/folder that has a name indicating it belongs to the wireless feature that came with the P/C. If so, sometimes there is an *.exe file you can click on to reinstall the device.

I would not use the disc to reinstall the original software. This will destroy all the files of anything you have saved (email, word processing, spreadsheets, etc.). Also, at this point, you do not know if the WIFI hardware or software is the problem. If the problem is the WIFI hardware, reinstalling the original software will gain nothing.
__________________
Gary
2005 Newmar KSDP 3910 + GMC ENVOY XUV 37K lbs Moving Down The Road
The Avatar Is Many Times Around The USA
Nobody Knows Your Coach Like Somebody Who Owns One Just Like Yours
GaryKD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 12:40 PM   #4
Registered User
 
SacsTC's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA.
Posts: 846
Hi guys,
Need to know which model Gateway you have..If it is the M-6750, M-6750h or the M-6755, Gateway has released a fix for this problem..
Find new drivers here.
SacsTC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 12:59 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Fakrwee's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Carlsbad, Ca.
Posts: 442
Hi Steve, There is a program called "system Restore". This permits you to restore all your settings to a date before you had the problems. I don't know how to get to this program in your computer but I'm sure you can look it up in help.

Hope this helps
Tom
__________________
2007 Itasca Suncruiser 33V
2009 Ford Flex Ltd. AWD Fa. Toad
2010 Jeep Rubicon offroad Toad
Fakrwee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 03:36 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Steve N Sal's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 5,663
Well I'm back guys. Thanks for the responses so far.
GaryKD I went to Device Manager and looked at Network Adapters but nothing with a yellow indicator to the left. I also inserted the Geek Squad disc and only found one program that was labeled Broadcam -- something. I went into add/remove and found it there and removed it then re-installed it but still nothing. It's funny because my wireless indicator shows that it's on but when I try to access a wireless connection it say's it's off. ?????? I have contacted Gateway but no response yet.

SacsTC: My model # is MX6453 so it doesn't appear there is a fix for mine.

Fakrwee: I went to System Restore and the only option I find is to do a total system recovery.
I guess that would reinstall everything back to it's natural state.

I guess I'll give it a little longer to see if Gateway gets back to me. These things sure are tempermental.
__________________
Steve & Sally / Hudson Our Little Pom / Heidi, Houston & HiTee Forever in our Hearts
04 NEWMAR MACA 3778 W22 / 05 PT Vert
Michigan (Summer) Michigan (Winter For Now)
Steve N Sal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 03:42 PM   #7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Traveling the lower 48
Posts: 2,450
The WZC they are referring to is Wireless Zero Configuration.
You can find it be Right clicking on the My Computer icon and then click Manage>Services and Applications>Services.
Scan down near the bottom and you will see it there. Double click on that and it should be set to Automatic. If it is not started, click on Start.
If you want to try the restore option you would go to Start>Programs>accessories>System Tools>System Restore. You will find an option to restore to an earlier date. Select a date prior to when the problem began.
You may have to re-boot your computer as well to get things going. If that's not the problem then the first thing you need to check is whether your wireless card has been turned off.
Your computer will have either a physical switch or button or there could be a key such as the F2 which you need to push in conjunction with another key (usually FN). You will have a lighted indication somewhere on the computer that shows the wireless is on.
Bill Adams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 04:19 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
GaryKD's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Wellington, Florida
Posts: 13,449
Hi Steve,
Did Gateway provide a disc with some diagnostic tools? If so, there may be a tool you can run to determine the problem.

If no disc, can you look in the list of programs for someting that might be a preloaded tool or set of tools, from Gateway?
__________________
Gary
2005 Newmar KSDP 3910 + GMC ENVOY XUV 37K lbs Moving Down The Road
The Avatar Is Many Times Around The USA
Nobody Knows Your Coach Like Somebody Who Owns One Just Like Yours
GaryKD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 05:15 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northwestern Montana
Posts: 3,219
I have used the Restore feature, mentioned by Bill Adams above, several times in the past to remove little glitches and problems that are either self made by myself, or just seem to happen at times on my computer. Works great for me, just pick out a date a day or so before your Wifi pickup quit working and restore to that date.

Dieselclacker
__________________
Dieselclacker
dieselclacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2008, 05:23 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
DonnaB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: moving
Posts: 333
Steve,

I don't have a Gateway laptop, but I do have a Dell that I lost the wireless on. There happens to be a small physical slide switch on the side of the laptop that turns the wi-fi off and back on again that I was totally unaware of until I lost the wireless. This little switch is nearly invisible and I had inadvertently turned it off just in handling the laptop. I had been using it over 6 months when this happened. It is a nice feature when you know how it works.

I hope yours is as simple. If not the system restore feature has worked wonders for me with other problems. Good luck.
__________________
Donna
2007 DSDP 4037, fulltiming since January 2007
Our website | Our location
DonnaB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2008, 11:39 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Steve N Sal's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 5,663
Well this is getting frustrating. I went to System Restore and they want me to create a restore point description. What in the world are they asking for? It's obviously something other then the date and time.

DonnaB: I'm not neglecting your trying to help but my computer has the function of an FN key and F2 key to turn on and off the wireless. As it sits right now the wireless light is on but I get no connection. ?????

I am not finding any preloads from Gateway under programs. I can say one thing in having this problem, that all the directions I have been lead too I'm finding things I never knew this computer had. LOL For one when I got it I asked myself why I didn't get an instruction booklet to know what all the keys did and all the lights flickering. FOUND IT!!!!!! The instruction booklet under Programs: Gateway Documents. Oh Boy!
__________________
Steve & Sally / Hudson Our Little Pom / Heidi, Houston & HiTee Forever in our Hearts
04 NEWMAR MACA 3778 W22 / 05 PT Vert
Michigan (Summer) Michigan (Winter For Now)
Steve N Sal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2008, 11:52 AM   #12
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Traveling the lower 48
Posts: 2,450
You want to use the other option:
Restore my computer to an earlier time.
Click that dot and then Next and you will see a calendar with dates that a restore point was created. Select one that was before this trouble began.
Did you go see if you WZC was started?
Bill Adams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2008, 12:25 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Steve N Sal's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 5,663
WZC is set on automatic. Unfortunately when I go to the calendar it won't let me go back as far as I need to. It only will go back about a month and a half. If there is a way to get back farther I need to know. This happened I assume sometime in June. I'm now just trying to fix it.
__________________
Steve & Sally / Hudson Our Little Pom / Heidi, Houston & HiTee Forever in our Hearts
04 NEWMAR MACA 3778 W22 / 05 PT Vert
Michigan (Summer) Michigan (Winter For Now)
Steve N Sal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2008, 12:40 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Steve N Sal's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 5,663
I'm beginning to think their is something missing with my system. I went to Gateway Documentation and to the user guide. Under the category connecting to your network it instructs me to click the Start button then right click on My Network Places (which is not there). What this is showing me in the demo is the screen I used to look at before but I used to only have to click on a monitor icon down in the bottom right hand side of my screen. That monitor icon is still there along with the Broadcom icom which I don't remember ever being there. The icon with the monitor has an "X" along side of it. If I mouse over to either of them with the arrow one says wireless connection unavailable and by the monitor it says Wireless Network Connection 4 Not connected.
__________________

__________________
Steve & Sally / Hudson Our Little Pom / Heidi, Houston & HiTee Forever in our Hearts
04 NEWMAR MACA 3778 W22 / 05 PT Vert
Michigan (Summer) Michigan (Winter For Now)
Steve N Sal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
satellite TV connections D and J Excel Owner's Forum 18 10-06-2007 11:45 AM
Cingular Wireless to AT&T Wireless ChiefJohn Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 3 12-29-2006 02:05 PM
50 AMP CONNECTIONS IpyandOpa RV Systems & Appliances 4 06-15-2006 03:49 PM
TV / VCR connections J Stemler Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 5 04-04-2006 03:48 AM
Electrical Service Connections greywynd RV Systems & Appliances 7 10-01-2005 06:46 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×