Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc.
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-28-2013, 08:31 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1
Cable TV in Campgrounds

This weekend I camped at a site in Key Largo Florida. It offers free cable for campers. However, it seems that Comcast now requires a converter box to watch cable. A problem arises. First, I need to give a $30 cash refundable deposit, pain in the butt. Secondly, I can only hook up to one tv, I have 3 in my unit. Had I done this, I have been watching one TV with wires hanging everywhere. I think this is a problem, since free cable will not be accessible to everyone anymore. Has anyone encountered this problem?
__________________

__________________
Kiami2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-28-2013, 08:46 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
kalynzoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Northridge, Ca
Posts: 471
I recently read an article about this problem. It is being created by the cable companies, not the campground. They want to be able to count and charge for every screen using their business cable service.
__________________

__________________
kalynzoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 10:14 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
vsheetz's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: SoCal
Posts: 3,807
Has been a long time since converter box usage was common. Hard to believe any service provider would want to go back to hassling with them.
__________________
Vince and Susan
2002 Fleetwood Pace Arrow 37A (Ford V10/F53), flat towing a 2005 Jeep (Rubicon Wrangler)
Ham Radio (W6CD), FMCA, FMCA 4Wheelers
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 11:29 PM   #4
Community Moderator
 
Scarab0088's Avatar


 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 4,050
Found this in Sedona. It was the cable company switching to an all digital cable channel line-up.

Our upgraded (2012 vintage) TV's could read the signal, but our travel partners with regular cable ready TV's had to rent their little box.

This is not the same as pay services on regular cable, like the movie channels. This is all the regular channels, including the ones that used to be on the lower number channels on other cable line-ups.

I believe this will get more common as the cable companies squeeze more and more data on the cable (TV, Phone and Internet).

Safe travels
__________________
Steve and Kim, '07 Damon Outlaw #1193
Great views from this Fully Furnished, Detached, 2 Story RV, 1 Bedroom loft, 1 Bath, Attached Garage, and Fireplace in over 400 sq ft.
Mustang LCDR (Ret) - Sempre Paratus, Always Pirates
Scarab0088 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 11:37 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Luv2go's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Nor'easters Club
Appalachian Campers
Ford Super Duty Owner
Coastal Campers
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,107
Quote:
Originally Posted by vsheetz View Post
Has been a long time since converter box usage was common. Hard to believe any service provider would want to go back to hassling with them.
They're switching to encrypted digital cable for every channel including local broadcast. One of the reasons they say they are doing it so they don't have to roll a truck to turn on and off your cable any more.

In our metro Boston area they started doing this a year ago, we switched to an antenna for TV and only use cable for internet.
__________________
Stewart, Brenda and kids
2008 Newmar Canyon Star 3410
Luv2go is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2013, 05:25 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
sirpurrcival's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 667
It isn't so much that they are switching to a digital signal, it is that cable companies are phasing out the old analog signal which used to be carried at the same time as digital content. They are doing this locally in my province of BC right now. We have a digital box but I found I got many more channels if I just did away with it. They can't filter out Analog channels in the same way as digital signals. However, they are beginning to phase out the analog signals altogether. Essentially forcing all of us to get decoder boxes (at great cost of course). Really puts a cramp in one's viewing pleasure especially when one has multiple TV's.
__________________
1999 - National Tropi Cal
sirpurrcival is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2013, 07:01 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Triker56's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,510
Quote:
Has anyone encountered this problem?
Since I put DirecTV in my MH back in the 90's. I have never needed to hook into campground cable. Most don't have HD channels anyway.

Maybe that can solve your problem. DirecTV or Dish Network
__________________
99 Discovery 34Q ISB with Banks PowerPack
08 HHR LT2 Toad
Fulltime Since "99"
Triker56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2013, 05:51 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
dengraham's Avatar
 
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Crossville, Tennessee
Posts: 653
Kami2001,
This is just the old convert box. If you have digital TV's you don't need the box. Just "scan" for the channels on your digital TV's and it will pick up the digital stations. This is only needed if you are trying to hook up an analog TV to their new digital cable signal.
This help?
__________________
Dennis & Trish (and Sparky Doodle)
2013 Meridian 42E
2011 Ford Explorer
dengraham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2013, 06:24 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Novi, MI
Posts: 115
Last year, while staying in Naples, Florida, I went to Comcast and they gave me three converter boxes for the three TV's I have. I wasn't charged anything for them. My campground site had an address. May be this is why there wasn't a charge. At Comcast, I gave them the address and I got the converter boxes. It is a little hassle to install and set them up but not hard. With the box, you get more channels on my hdtv's.
__________________
novi2some is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2013, 06:38 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
lx22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 161
I just ran into the same problem. Older analog tv and digital cable. I tried to find a converter locally but no luck nobody keeps them anymore. I just bought new tv's and problem solved.
Good luck
__________________
07 jayco 314 bhds
Friendswood, tx
lx22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2013, 06:42 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
docj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by dengraham View Post
Kami2001,
This is just the old convert box. If you have digital TV's you don't need the box. Just "scan" for the channels on your digital TV's and it will pick up the digital stations. This is only needed if you are trying to hook up an analog TV to their new digital cable signal.
This help?
This is not entirely true. We were recently at a CG with a Comcast digital system. Normally we use our DirecTV but trees prevented us from seeing the satellite. So we connected to the cable without a cable box. Our TV is a 2012 model with digital capability. It could tune 38 of the ~75 channels that were on the cable system. According to the CG office, this was typical. None of the channels were scrambled, our TV simply couldn't receive them.

I'm not sure what cable companies are doing that prevents modern TVs from being able to tune channels without having a cable box. I didn't expect this to be the case.
__________________
Sandie & Joel (WiFiRanger Ambassador/RVParkReviews admin)
2000 40' Beaver Patriot Thunder Princeton CAT C-12
Follow us at http://www.facebook.com/WeissTravels.net
docj is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2013, 06:48 PM   #12
Community Moderator
 
RickO's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Litchfield Park, Arizona
Posts: 10,104
I never use cable but this is news to me and it sounds like it really stinks.

I sure hope the satellite providers see this as an opportunity to move in and take some market share by providing a better solution.

Rick
__________________
Rick, Nancy, Peanut & Lola our Westie Dogs & Bailey the Sheltie.

2007 Itasca Ellipse 40FD
RickO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2013, 06:54 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
jzick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,193
According to this article Comcast to scramble basic cable signal | www.clarkhoward.com
Comcast is starting to scramble even their basic channels and locals. They then require cable boxes to unscramble and expect to charge rental for the boxes.

Won't affect us - we have satellite and always park as far away from trees as we can get. What a PIA for campgrounds, though. I cannot imagine all the complaints the cg workers are hearing.
__________________
jzick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2013, 02:22 AM   #14
Community Administrator
 
Clifftall's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 15,422
Comcast had done this at my S&B house. Those tv's that don't have a DVR or the other large cable box , require this small unscrambler box to get more than the local 8 or 10 channels.
__________________

__________________


Cliff,Tallulah and Buddy ( 1999-2012 )
Clifftall is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

RV & Travel Trailer Communities

Our RV & Travel Trailer sites encompasses virtually all types of Recreational Vehicles, from brand-specific to general RV communities.

» More about our RV Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002-2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.