Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc.
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-05-2014, 06:59 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 3
Cable TV problem

So yeah, I've a problem with the cable TV hookup. In the back, where you hook the 30 amp plug into the generator, there's also a hookup for the cable tv. When I hook the cable from the campsite up, the TV will not work on cable mode in the set-up options. The only way I can get the cable to work, is to run a cable line from the hookup at the campsite directly to the TV. So, I can get it to work, just not as it is designed.

It also has a satellite (Winegard) but I really don't think that would interfere with the cable TV. Or would it? I mean, do I have to power up the satellite to work the cable? That just doesn't seem right at all.

I would hate to take this to a repair shop at $100/hour. I could get underneath the unit and trace the cable but only as far as it is exposed and then what? I'd hate to think of replacing the whole wiring for the cable TV.

I have a 2007 Winnebago Outlook 31C. This unit was actually owned by the vice president of Winnebago back in the day. I'm the third owner.

Any help with troubleshooting this problem would be greatly appreciated.
__________________

__________________
Xexys is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-05-2014, 07:02 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Ranger Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Where the Rig is Parked
Posts: 952
You generally have to have the antenna amplifier off to run on cable.
__________________

__________________
Steve and Joy
2016 Tiffin Allegro 36LA
Where We Are Now
Ranger Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2014, 07:03 PM   #3
Moderator Emeritus
 
SarahW's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: In a lawnchair
Posts: 11,204
There should be a toggle switch or button in your AV cabinet that switches input from OTA to cable input. Make sure you have selected cable.
__________________
.2012 Fleetwood Bounder 33C | 2012 Jeep Wrangler

SarahW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2014, 07:47 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,960
There are a couple different switches, One is a box of many buttons, the buttons should have lables that explain everything.. But read part 3

Part 2

The next is a wall plate, standard size, has a 12 volt accessory outlet (useless) switch (IMPORTANT) Indicator light (Also) and antenna fitting, THIS (if you have it) Selects (normally) Cable or Antenna but see part 3

2B: Winegard Sensar Pro.. Select cable using the top button.

Part 3:
On many RVs that have a satellite receiver the park cable inlet has been "Re-Tasked" as a ground mounted satellite inlet.. This is wrong on a couple of levels but it is what Winegard recommends.. IF this had been done you will need to restore the original wiring.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2014, 08:35 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
mwwade's Avatar
 
Freightliner Owners Club
Jayco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Elk City, Ok.
Posts: 326
I had the same problem. All my switches were in the correct position, TV set to cable not air.. I messed around with it for a couple of days. One evening I just had a thought, is the cable connected on the inside to the outside connection? I looked under the bed with a flashlight, and sure enough the cable was laying on the floor. Had to get the wife to go inside the bed to hook it up. Everything worked!
__________________
mwwade is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Okay ... I SOLVED THE AUTO PARK BRAKE PROBLEM! JerryPeck Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 144 10-03-2017 11:45 PM
New 2014 Pleasure-Way Sprinter Blindspot Problem Bobster5637 Class B Motorhome Discussions 1 08-13-2014 08:02 PM
Kwikee Level Best 3000 Jack Problem Lt Dan MH-General Discussions & Problems 3 07-21-2014 10:13 AM
Fridge Problem Rossi6998 Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 22 01-10-2014 09:02 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.