RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc.
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-22-2017, 02:02 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Phochief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 208
Exclamation Changing Winegard Dome to Winegard Traveler

2017 Fleetwood Bounder. It came with a Winegard Dome Roadtrip Mission satellite antenna. I already have it working with Directv but only SD quality is available with that antenna.

I'm going to remove the Roadtrip Mission dome antenna and install a new Winegard Traveler SWM Directv Sat antenna in it's place.

I haven't looked under the original Winegard Sat dish dome yet and I'm wondering if anyone knows if it uses the same "control cable" needed for the Winegard Traveler? The new Traveler antenna comes with a 30' long cable that has 6 wires with a small molex connector on the end. It's supposed to supply 21 volts from the "interface box" (inside the RV) to the Traveler antenna (on the roof). The new interface box will be installed in the entertainment cabinet in the bedroom.

Right now, there's two coax cables running from the "old" Sat dome antenna on the roof to the entertainment cabinet in the back bedroom. There's also a wall switch labelled "Satellite On/Off" on the cabinet wall. I'm hoping that there's a compatible control cable behind that wall switch. That would make things easier!

I'd hate to have to fish the 30' control cable (that came with the new Traveler Sat antenna) through to the entertainment cabinet in the bedroom if there's already a control cable I can take advantage of.

Has anyone converted from the Winegard Dome Sat antenna to the Winegard Traveler Sat antenna? If you've done it, and have any info (especially about the control cable) before I get on the roof, that would be really helpful.

Thanks,
David
__________________

__________________
2017 Fleetwood Bounder 33C
FMCA Member, Passport America Member, GL1800 Goldwing motorcycle, amateur radio operator K4ZZR
Phochief is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-22-2017, 05:29 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
hardy1000's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,453
Best to call Winegard there customer is great,
__________________

__________________
Del & Lori 2007 Diplomat 40PDQ - 2009 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon, M&G brake system, Rockhard bumper, Blue Ox.
hardy1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2017, 07:17 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Lt Dan's Avatar


 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: DFW, Texas
Posts: 3,520
I researched doing the same with our Allegro RED and found out the control cables are different. The Winegard mission control is nothing more than a two conductor power wire. You can use the coax cables, but you will have to run a new control cable. It doesn't have to go all the way to the bedroom, you could just put the control box in a cabinet up front near the current antenna. I had planned to put mine in a cabinet above the driver's seat, but have since ordered a new coach pre wired for the Travelr.
__________________
Dan & Ro with two Rescued Boston "Terrorists" Jade & Jewel
2017 Phaeton 40IH Maroon Coral - Power Glide Chassis with IFS (05/17)
Previously '15 Tiffin Allegro RED 38QRA and '06 Itasca Sunrise 35A
'12 Jeep JK Wrangler Sport or '08 Honda Goldwing
Lt Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2017, 07:25 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
mmartin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Long Beach, Calif.
Posts: 220
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phochief View Post
2017 Fleetwood Bounder. It came with a Winegard Dome Roadtrip Mission satellite antenna. I already have it working with Directv but only SD quality is available with that antenna.

I'm going to remove the Roadtrip Mission dome antenna and install a new Winegard Traveler SWM Directv Sat antenna in it's place.

I haven't looked under the original Winegard Sat dish dome yet and I'm wondering if anyone knows if it uses the same "control cable" needed for the Winegard Traveler? The new Traveler antenna comes with a 30' long cable that has 6 wires with a small molex connector on the end. It's supposed to supply 21 volts from the "interface box" (inside the RV) to the Traveler antenna (on the roof). The new interface box will be installed in the entertainment cabinet in the bedroom.

Right now, there's two coax cables running from the "old" Sat dome antenna on the roof to the entertainment cabinet in the back bedroom. There's also a wall switch labelled "Satellite On/Off" on the cabinet wall. I'm hoping that there's a compatible control cable behind that wall switch. That would make things easier!

I'd hate to have to fish the 30' control cable (that came with the new Traveler Sat antenna) through to the entertainment cabinet in the bedroom if there's already a control cable I can take advantage of.

Has anyone converted from the Winegard Dome Sat antenna to the Winegard Traveler Sat antenna? If you've done it, and have any info (especially about the control cable) before I get on the roof, that would be really helpful.

Thanks,
David
David, private message me i have all of your answers
__________________
Travel Supreme 03 40DS03
Cummins 400 HP ISL 8.9
2010 Jeep Wrangler JK
mmartin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2017, 08:07 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
computerguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: FT on the Road
Posts: 2,544
Looks like 2 wire for power only
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1867.jpg
Views:	100
Size:	204.3 KB
ID:	155660   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1868.jpg
Views:	143
Size:	195.2 KB
ID:	155661  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1866.jpg
Views:	130
Size:	250.6 KB
ID:	155662  
computerguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2017, 09:27 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2,893
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phochief View Post
I haven't looked under the original Winegard Sat dish dome yet and I'm wondering if anyone knows if it uses the same "control cable" needed for the Winegard Traveler?
You'll have to run that new control cable to the Travler. If you try using the existing cable, you may damage the Travler and/or control box.

For a SWM Travler, you only need 1 coax (+ that control cable) connected to the Travler.

However, if the existing RoadTrip cable has enough wires, you could detach the existing Travler control cable from the Travler and wire the RoadTrip cable to it. Just keep track of wire colors. This wouldn't be my first option though.

On the other hand, since you already have 2 coax cables going to the RoadTrip, you may be able to use one of them to pull the new control cable into the RV.

Start by scraping off all that Dicor on the cable entry roof plate. Unscrew the plate, wedge it off your roof, then see if you can pull either coax cable from inside your RV.

If nothing moves, then I'd suggest using a hole saw to drill another cable entry point or wire up the existing control cable to the Travler.
__________________
2001 Mountain Aire DP 4095 & 2008 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon
DISH TV for RVs
TechWriter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2017, 12:34 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Phochief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 208
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lt Dan View Post
I researched doing the same with our Allegro RED and found out the control cables are different. The Winegard mission control is nothing more than a two conductor power wire. You can use the coax cables, but you will have to run a new control cable. It doesn't have to go all the way to the bedroom, you could just put the control box in a cabinet up front near the current antenna. I had planned to put mine in a cabinet above the driver's seat, but have since ordered a new coach pre wired for the Travelr.
I thought about that possibility too and if I can't snake the control cable back to the bedroom I might consider it.

Thanks,
David
__________________
2017 Fleetwood Bounder 33C
FMCA Member, Passport America Member, GL1800 Goldwing motorcycle, amateur radio operator K4ZZR
Phochief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2017, 12:36 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Phochief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 208
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmartin View Post
David, private message me i have all of your answers

PM sent....thanks!

David
__________________
2017 Fleetwood Bounder 33C
FMCA Member, Passport America Member, GL1800 Goldwing motorcycle, amateur radio operator K4ZZR
Phochief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2017, 12:38 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Phochief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 208
Quote:
Originally Posted by computerguy View Post
Looks like 2 wire for power only
I figured that would be the case. Was just hoping. Thanks for the info and photos which will help when I get on the roof.

David
__________________
2017 Fleetwood Bounder 33C
FMCA Member, Passport America Member, GL1800 Goldwing motorcycle, amateur radio operator K4ZZR
Phochief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2017, 12:40 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Ron Postma's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: On the open road
Posts: 592
The 21 volts is supplied by a separate power supply inserter. It is not supplied by the Traveler control box.
__________________
2014 Winnebago Tour 42QD
2014 Honda CRV Toad W7REP
WiFiRanger Elite AC Pack
Ron Postma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2017, 12:46 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Phochief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 208
Quote:
Originally Posted by TechWriter View Post
You'll have to run that new control cable to the Travler. If you try using the existing cable, you may damage the Travler and/or control box.

For a SWM Travler, you only need 1 coax (+ that control cable) connected to the Travler.

However, if the existing RoadTrip cable has enough wires, you could detach the existing Travler control cable from the Travler and wire the RoadTrip cable to it. Just keep track of wire colors. This wouldn't be my first option though.

On the other hand, since you already have 2 coax cables going to the RoadTrip, you may be able to use one of them to pull the new control cable into the RV.

Start by scraping off all that Dicor on the cable entry roof plate. Unscrew the plate, wedge it off your roof, then see if you can pull either coax cable from inside your RV.

If nothing moves, then I'd suggest using a hole saw to drill another cable entry point or wire up the existing control cable to the Travler.
That was going to be my first choice too. I'll see if it feels like the second coax is loose enough to pull the control cable through to the bedroom. I'll probably include an extra string in case I ever need to pull something else through.

Otherwise, I either drill a hole for the control cable to mount the interface box up front. Or, I run the control cable along the roof and drill straight down into the bedroom cabinet. I wouldn't want to use nail-in cable clamps, so I wonder if there's a special kind of adhesive strip or covering that is made to hold down cable on an RV roof? I'll be using Dicor to weatherproof any holes.

Thanks,
David
__________________
2017 Fleetwood Bounder 33C
FMCA Member, Passport America Member, GL1800 Goldwing motorcycle, amateur radio operator K4ZZR
Phochief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2017, 12:49 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Phochief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 208
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron Postma View Post
The 21 volts is supplied by a separate power supply inserter. It is not supplied by the Traveler control box.
Ron....you're right. Thanks for the clarification.

David
__________________
2017 Fleetwood Bounder 33C
FMCA Member, Passport America Member, GL1800 Goldwing motorcycle, amateur radio operator K4ZZR
Phochief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2017, 01:11 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
computerguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: FT on the Road
Posts: 2,544
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phochief View Post
That was going to be my first choice too. I'll see if it feels like the second coax is loose enough to pull the control cable through to the bedroom. I'll probably include an extra string in case I ever need to pull something else through.

Otherwise, I either drill a hole for the control cable to mount the interface box up front. Or, I run the control cable along the roof and drill straight down into the bedroom cabinet. I wouldn't want to use nail-in cable clamps, so I wonder if there's a special kind of adhesive strip or covering that is made to hold down cable on an RV roof? I'll be using Dicor to weatherproof any holes.

Thanks,
David
Umm, not to be a negative Nellie but you're not going to be able to pull that through. There is a document you can request from Fleetwood. It's called an Entertainment Harness Overlay. I looked at mine from a '16. The satellite harness also has the coax for the front TV along with HDMI cables. They go along the roof to the R/S A pillar and down from there. Then through conduit to the rear sat location. It says it is 77' in length. Even if you could it just sounds like way too much effort.
I'd run it along the roof to the BR location and through. The plates is a few $ on Amazon. The cable should be UV stabilized. You can use Dicor to embed in the roof or exterior zip ties holders. I did the same for my solar, wifiranger and cell booster antenna cables.
Let us know how it goes.
computerguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2017, 03:22 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2,893
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phochief View Post
I wouldn't want to use nail-in cable clamps, so I wonder if there's a special kind of adhesive strip or covering that is made to hold down cable on an RV roof?
Eternabond tape
__________________

__________________
2001 Mountain Aire DP 4095 & 2008 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon
DISH TV for RVs
TechWriter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
travel



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Winegard Traveler SWM figured Out Ron Postma Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 19 10-30-2016 04:28 PM
Winegard Traveler SWM Figured Out Ron Postma Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 5 10-29-2016 09:10 AM
Roadtrip Mission Satellite Antenna Issues bulldogcade Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 5 06-19-2016 02:58 PM
Winegard Roadtrip Mission Sat Dish jondrew Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 7 01-05-2016 02:20 PM
Winegard Sat Antenna: Mission vs Minimax ashuhart Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 1 04-16-2012 07:24 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.