Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc.
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-13-2012, 07:43 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2
Class A, TV Setting

Hello I have just bought a 2007 Feetwood Discovery 39s with in motion sat. I put my dish reciever it it, from my traded in 5th-wheel my question is in the settings on the TV should it be set to air or cable, and I do know tv set will be tuned to channel 3 or 4, thanks

Darrell,
Retired USMC MSGT
__________________

__________________
Darcar5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-13-2012, 08:25 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
lllkrob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 816
Which ever one that receives the signal from the DISH receiver, most likely "air".
__________________

__________________
lllkrob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 07:09 AM   #3
paz
Senior Member
 
paz's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Full-timers - Home is where we park it.
Posts: 3,594
Darcar5,

It depends on which input on the TV you connected the receiver to. You only need to worry about selecting cable or antenna if you use coax. If that's the case, I would use the setting that gives you all the channels, most likely antenna.

If I had a choice, however, I would connect the receiver to the TV using HDMI, component or composite (RCA) cables in that order rather than coax. In fact, the newer receivers for Direct do not even have a coax output. You will then need to select the appropriate input on the TV using the remote.
__________________
2005 Allegro Bay 37DB W24//2013 Equinox V6 AWD
Full-timers...Home is where we park it.
Check out our blog: Living Our Dream
paz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 07:15 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
docj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 2,138
The air/cable setting only matters for channels above 13 where the cable band and UHF band are different. If your TV is connected to the satellite receiver by coax then either setting will work.

However, as has been already noted, you are making a serious quality mistake by connecting the TV using coax unless there is no other choice. Any other connection method, even the old yellow, red, white RCA connectors will provide a better picture.
__________________
Sandie & Joel (WiFiRanger Ambassador/RVParkReviews admin)
2000 40' Beaver Patriot Thunder Princeton CAT C-12
Follow us at http://www.facebook.com/WeissTravels.net
docj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 07:18 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Steve N Sal's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 5,316
Howdy and welcome to the forum. Hope you enjoy the site. Looks like your getting the info you needed. Plenty of great folks here and I'm sure you'll make many friends. Congrats on the new to purchase and hope you really enjoy all your travels. Be safe and Happy Motoring!!!!
__________________
Steve & Sally / HiTee & Hudson Our Little Poms / Heidi & Houston Forever in our Hearts
04 NEWMAR MACA 3778 W22 / 05 PT Vert
Michigan (Summer) Florida (Winter)
Steve N Sal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 09:15 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 16,142
There are two ways to hook a TV to a Sat receiver (Well 3 now days)

1: RF, Chan 3 or 4
2: A/V (Red, white and yellow ended cables)
3 (the new one): HDMI

If you are using 2 or 3, you do not worry about "Air" or Cable"

If you are using 1: Since both Channel 3 and Channel 4 are the same on all services.. You don't worry about Air or Cable UNLESS...

If it is a modern ATSC type television. .Choose cable. IF it offers "Analog or Digital" choose analog.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 06:01 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2
THANKS

Thanks all for the imformation on the TV setup, I appreciate it, and also thank you for the warm welcome to this forum.

Darrell and Carol
__________________
Darcar5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 06:29 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
96 Wideglide's Avatar
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,043
Quote:
Originally Posted by wa8yxm View Post
There are two ways to hook a TV to a Sat receiver (Well 3 now days)

1: RF, Chan 3 or 4
2: A/V (Red, white and yellow ended cables)
3 (the new one): HDMI

If you are using 2 or 3, you do not worry about "Air" or Cable"

If you are using 1: Since both Channel 3 and Channel 4 are the same on all services.. You don't worry about Air or Cable UNLESS...

If it is a modern ATSC type television. .Choose cable. IF it offers "Analog or Digital" choose analog.
How about Composite, with a blue, red, and green plugs, along with a optical cable for sound ?
__________________
'2008 Holiday Rambler Scepter PDQ 42'
96 Wideglide is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2012, 01:29 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 16,142
Yes, I forgot those. However those come under the Option 2/3.. Audio Video or HDMI cables.

On, and for the person up-thread who said it only matters for channels 13 and up.. WRONG. I am not sure about channel six or 5, but it matters for channel 7 and up for sure.. If you look at a spectrum chart you see

6mtr ham 2 3 4 5 6 {bunch of stuff including police, fire, ems, ham, weather, pagers and more} 7,8,9,10, and so on.

Cable companies pollute that "Bunch of stuff" when the cable leaks cause they put channels there. Trust me on that. I KNOW.
__________________

__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mp1 carry out sat with direct tv NorthTexas Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 11 10-20-2013 05:02 PM
Front TV and video caera thormsby Travel Supreme Owner's Forum 18 05-08-2012 07:25 PM
Winnebago Aspect Class C MH Fulinn Class C Motorhome Discussions 12 04-01-2012 12:39 PM
Possible switch to Dish from Direct TV Bill2 iRV2.com General Discussion 17 03-15-2012 07:07 AM
Help with Cable TV s8t Newmar Owner's Forum 4 03-14-2012 08:56 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.