RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc.
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-07-2009, 02:03 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2
Direct TV Network Satellite Dish use

I have recently switched from Dish Network to Direct TV Network (standard definition) in order to elminate a problem of incompatibility with my King Dome. I am very satisfied with Direct TV Network. However, I would like to use an existing Dish Network dish/LNB with my Direct TV Network receiver when I have to set up a remote dish due to obstructions with my RV roof mounted King Dome. The Dish Network equipment I have is a Dish 500, DP Plus dish with double LNB. Can anyone tell me if I can make this equipment work with the Direct TV Network, standard definition receiver and if yes, what changes do I need to make with the double LNB and what azmith and elevation setting changes are necessary compared to those provided by Direct TV Network for use with their dish and single LNB?
__________________

Ray Burkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-07-2009, 04:14 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
MtManLee's Avatar
Official iRV2 Sponsor
 
Monaco Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Utah
Posts: 611
Last winter I tried a double LNB dish from dish network I had picked up at a yard sale. Never could get it to pick up the satellite for Direct tv. I finally bought a single LNB I found at another yard sale and modified my dish for the single and it worked just fine. Go figure. And when you set it up your direct tv box will tell you what to set your azimuth and elevation at in settings based on your location.
__________________

__________________
Lee and Fran
Holiday Rambler Vacationer
While traveling down lives paths stop to smell the flowers.
MtManLee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2009, 04:15 PM   #3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Traveling the lower 48
Posts: 2,450
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ray Burkel View Post
I have recently switched from Dish Network to Direct TV Network (standard definition) in order to elminate a problem of incompatibility with my King Dome. I am very satisfied with Direct TV Network. However, I would like to use an existing Dish Network dish/LNB with my Direct TV Network receiver when I have to set up a remote dish due to obstructions with my RV roof mounted King Dome. The Dish Network equipment I have is a Dish 500, DP Plus dish with double LNB. Can anyone tell me if I can make this equipment work with the Direct TV Network, standard definition receiver and if yes, what changes do I need to make with the double LNB and what azmith and elevation setting changes are necessary compared to those provided by Direct TV Network for use with their dish and single LNB?
It will be a difficult setup to use as there will not be any numbers available anywhere that will give you the exact location since both LNB's are offset from center. You would be better off to find a single LNB dish (most are available for next to nothing).
If you do want to try to point that dish you will use the numbers to set the dish up for the DirecTV 101 satellite as far as elevation and azimuth and then you are going to just have to try to tweak the setting from there. I would cover up or remove one of the LNB's and remove the switch that connects the 2 together. You will not get the very best signal available but it should still be very good and with a little practice you should be able to get there without too much trouble. A satellite signal meter will help but you will have to depend on the receiver signal meter to let you know if you have found the right one.
Bill Adams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2009, 07:11 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
FLYTYER's Avatar
 
Mid Atlantic Campers
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 1,611
Just a thought, but are DishNet LNB's compatible with DirecTV receivers?

Some LNB's have built-in switches and some do not.

Maybe this what is causing Ray's problem?
__________________
04 Winnebago Sightseer, 35N, W22 Chassis
Amateur Radio - WB2LOU
Education is the only legal cure for Ignorance. The Stupidity of many is incurable.
FLYTYER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2009, 05:46 PM   #5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Traveling the lower 48
Posts: 2,450
Quote:
Originally Posted by FLYTYER View Post
Just a thought, but are DishNet LNB's compatible with DirecTV receivers?

Some LNB's have built-in switches and some do not.

Maybe this what is causing Ray's problem?
The LNB's are fully compatible but, as I mentioned, the switch(es) would need to be removed.
Bill Adams is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD Dish Network DVR not working with Kingdome in-motion satellite dish ? Harry B Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 14 05-02-2014 09:38 AM
King Dome satellite setup and Dish Network Stevegd007 MH-General Discussions & Problems 10 12-25-2007 04:28 PM
Recommendations on satellite service: Dish vs. Direct TV BradandJanee Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 10 01-17-2007 10:22 AM
Direct TV or Dish Network Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 5 09-18-2005 04:15 AM
Need Help With Dish Network or Direct TV Mr. Brackett - Mrs. Brackett iRV2.com General Discussion 15 03-13-2005 04:28 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×