Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc.
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-26-2017, 03:48 PM   #169
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 135
Is it possible to get local channel's on the road I have the g2+ sat I've got everything but them?
__________________

__________________
smballou is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-26-2017, 03:59 PM   #170
Senior Member
 
Dale & Mark Bruss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,083
With Dish, you just contact Dish and change your Service Address which will give you Locals in the area you are.

We really don't care what city so we only change the Service Address when we move out of the spot beam. Example, we were using Washington DC locals in the Hersey PA area.

We use Dish Chat because there is no talking/listening problem between me and the CSR.

I use a scrip message:
"I am an RVer and have just move to a new location. I need to change my Service Address (only) to 197 Wheeler Rd, Florida, NY 10921 and have the Locals changed to that location. Leave the Billing Address as it is."

This has worked well for a couple of years now and usually takes only a couple of minutes.
__________________

__________________
Dale & Mark Bruss
11 Years Full-Timing Now with a 2016 Bounder 33C
40' Travel Supreme winter residence
Lots of RV Information at www.dmbruss.com
Dale & Mark Bruss is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2017, 04:02 PM   #171
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 135
I'm with direct tv I forgot to mention that.
__________________
smballou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2017, 04:12 PM   #172
Senior Member
 
Dale & Mark Bruss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,083
With DirecTV I would get DNS. You can get DNS or Locals, not both at the same time. You get either East Coast or West Coast depending on your billing address.

I have heard that DirecTV is not as easy for changing Service addresses and the associated Locals.
__________________
Dale & Mark Bruss
11 Years Full-Timing Now with a 2016 Bounder 33C
40' Travel Supreme winter residence
Lots of RV Information at www.dmbruss.com
Dale & Mark Bruss is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2017, 11:43 PM   #173
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sedona, AZ
Posts: 707
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dale & Mark Bruss View Post
With DirecTV I would get DNS. You can get DNS or Locals, not both at the same time. You get either East Coast or West Coast depending on your billing address.

I have heard that DirecTV is not as easy for changing Service addresses and the associated Locals.
Minor correction - when you have DirecTV and you are in your local area, you get both locals and whatever DNS service you get (East coast or West coast). When you travel out of your local area, you only get DNS.
__________________
Tim, Tara and Canyon - 'TnT' (& C now...)
2015 Thor Outlaw 37LS w/FJ Cruiser Toad
Columbia 400, 1967 Corvette, KTM 350 EXC-f, TTR 125 LE, XR50 for toys
MonkeyClaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2017, 03:56 AM   #174
Senior Member
 
Dale & Mark Bruss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,083
Quote:
Originally Posted by MonkeyClaw View Post
Minor correction - when you have DirecTV and you are in your local area, you get both locals and whatever DNS service you get (East coast or West coast). When you travel out of your local area, you only get DNS.
According to FCC Regulations, you are not allowed to have Locals and DNS at the same time. DNS is for people who cannot receive Locals. Perhaps DirecTV is not enforcing this but this is where Dish got in trouble several years ago. and lost the ability to have DNS for a couple of years.
__________________
Dale & Mark Bruss
11 Years Full-Timing Now with a 2016 Bounder 33C
40' Travel Supreme winter residence
Lots of RV Information at www.dmbruss.com
Dale & Mark Bruss is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2017, 05:40 AM   #175
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 9,541
I have a Toms River NJ service address and due to location have free DNS for the big 4 NY networks. I get them everywhere I travel. While in the NY area, I also get my local channels.
__________________
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2017, 03:37 PM   #176
Senior Member
 
rshackleford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 130
Has any successfully signed up for DNS with DirectTV recently

I sent in my forms, and waited patiently, then called DirectTV, multiple times, then called SolidSignal, a DirectTV reseller.

He said that DirectTV doesn't offer DNS anymore. People send in the forms, and are told they are approved but they never actually get the service. His recommendation was to setup a separate account and change the service address each time I travel.

The fees are very high for that service, even if you suspend for the maximum of 6 months.

So, Im curious to see if anyone has been able to get DNS from DirectTV recently.

Thanks
__________________
2016 Winnebago Tour 42QD
rshackleford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2017, 04:16 PM   #177
Senior Member
 
falconman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: On the Road
Posts: 756
If that were the case I would think that DNS would be cancelled for everyone. Just curious, have you checked your channel guide? I wouldn't hold my breath waiting for DTV to notify me. I think ours starts at Ch 391
__________________
Dan & Arlene
2005 Monaco Dynasty Diamond IV
Chasing the good weather
falconman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2017, 06:05 PM   #178
Senior Member
 
docj's Avatar
Official iRV2 Sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,679
Quote:
Originally Posted by falconman View Post
If that were the case I would think that DNS would be cancelled for everyone. Just curious, have you checked your channel guide? I wouldn't hold my breath waiting for DTV to notify me. I think ours starts at Ch 391
The PBS feed for DNS is at channel 389; ours still works fine! So DNS starts there.

The person you spoke to doesn't sound as if they know what DNS is. You can find the official DirecTV DNS page here: https://www.att.com/esupport/article...ectv/KM1102671
__________________
Joel Weiss--WiFiRanger RV Ambassador
RVParkReviews administrator
2000 40' Beaver Patriot Thunder Princeton CAT C-12
docj is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2017, 10:41 AM   #179
Senior Member
 
rshackleford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by docj View Post
The PBS feed for DNS is at channel 389; ours still works fine! So DNS starts there.

The person you spoke to doesn't sound as if they know what DNS is. You can find the official DirecTV DNS page here: https://www.att.com/esupport/article...ectv/KM1102671
I have checked the guide and the 390s are greyed out. When I tune to one of those channels I get an ext 721 message.

Ill try chat with directtv and send them the link above.

thanks
__________________
2016 Winnebago Tour 42QD
rshackleford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2017, 10:54 AM   #180
Senior Member
 
falconman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: On the Road
Posts: 756
If you already have a residential DTV account they will not give you DNS. You need a separate account for that unless you don't get any local OTA stations at your residence.
__________________
Dan & Arlene
2005 Monaco Dynasty Diamond IV
Chasing the good weather
falconman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2017, 10:57 AM   #181
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 9,541
Put in a service address near NYC or LA, CA. Then check the 390 channels.

In using Toms River NJ and get the NYC Networks everywere.
__________________
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2017, 11:30 AM   #182
Senior Member
 
Winepress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 552
My daughter lives near LA. The local networks are on 2,4,7,11
The 390ís are all greyed out. I thought her networks would be in that 390 range.
__________________

__________________
2018 Dutch Star 4369
Try to live up to your dogs opinion of you.
Winepress is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD Dish Network DVR not working with Kingdome in-motion satellite dish ? Harry B Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 14 05-02-2014 09:38 AM
Dish Network vs Directv HD DNS service KentM Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 38 03-30-2009 08:44 PM
Directv or Dish? Mothership Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 12 06-29-2008 01:25 PM
DISH or DirecTV ? RRT2 Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 24 05-02-2007 10:03 AM
Dish Network Customers losing East/West Feeds dextery Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 29 11-28-2006 04:04 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.