Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc.
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-18-2017, 05:32 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 46
DirecTV from home to our MH ??

We have DirecTV with 5 receivers in our home, and in our 2 receivers with the Trav'Ler satellite in our newly purchased motor home What are the options for low cost use of DirecTV setup in the MH. Can we just take the cards from home to the MH, or do we need to register the MH boxes?
__________________

__________________
Bchtravlr is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-18-2017, 05:38 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
CJ7365's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Southern NM
Posts: 1,458
I don't have any receivers in my RV, so I take the bedroom one out of the house and use that one in the RV.

I would think you could simply use the cards, try it. But not sure if each receiver is assigned to your DTV account.


I guess worse case scenario would be you would have to take a receiver from the house to the RV
__________________

__________________
2005 Tiffin Allegro Bay 37DB
W22 Workhorse Chassis 8.1 Flat Towing a 82 Jeep CJ7
CJ7365 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2017, 05:53 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 19
I believe the cards are assigned to the hardware. You would most likely have to take the boxes from the house. That's what I do.
__________________
suicidetuna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2017, 06:05 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 27,168
Cards and receivers are paired, can't change them around. I just take two of the home receivers with me. Been doing that for at least 10 years now with no problems.
__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 CR-V
Mr_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2017, 11:04 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 819
As said above, i was told by Directv that the cards are assigned to the receiver they are in. They can be made to work in another receiver but you have to go through technical support to get it done. Not worth it.

I disconnect ours at home and stick it in the motorhome when we want to use it. The house runs on a 3 lnb swm dish, the MH a 1 lnb multiswitch dish, so i do have to change settings each time i move the receiver. Not hard and i've gotten pretty good at doing it quickly..
__________________
03 Itasca Sunova, 8.1 Workhorse on a P32 chassis
Mudfrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2017, 05:34 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Apollo Beach, FL
Posts: 1,432
Also, once you travel out of your home area, you will loose ABC, CBS, FOX and NBC
and either have to get them over the air or you can sign up for DNS (Distant Network Services) which will get you ABC, CBS, FOX and NBC channels from New York or Los Angeles.
__________________
2013 DS 4338
2015 F-150 toad with kayaks,bicycles and a Harley in the back
PanJH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2017, 05:40 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
veraken's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Vintage RV Owners Club
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Lexington, SC
Posts: 460
When we travel, I just take my DirectTv HD receiver from the house with me. I have a portable dish which I set-up at each campground. The setup is relatively straight forward, input your zip code into the receiver and it will give you the tilt, azimuth, and elevation angles. Then it's just a matter of aiming the dish to optimize your signal strength. You may not get the local (national ABC, NBC, CBS) channels, but everything else will be the same. If you want the local channels, you need to call DirecTV and tell them you want to change your SERVICE location (not your billing location). Beware that if you do this you may loose any recorded programs you have and you will have to do this at each location. We use our roof antenna for local and our dish for everything else.
__________________
Vera & Ken
1998 Holiday Rambler Imperial
veraken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2017, 06:50 AM   #8
Junior Member
 
csidave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 24
I recently went through this same situation with my new coach, and after speaking with DirecTV, I ordered 2 new SD boxes with cards.
They were $99.00 each and adds an additional $6.00 a month (each) to my home bill. Both work fine, just NOT HD.
The problem with transferring the boxes from home to coach is that the DirecTV signal received by my in-motion antenna in the coach only receives SD and the home antenna and boxes are HD.
I assume your situation is possibly the same.
In the coach only a very few channels can be received with an HD box.
To make things more difficult, DirecTV stated they will be shutting down the SD satellite in 2-3 years and then ONLY broadcast HD.
I will have to change my coach's in motion antenna at that juncture.
Dish doesn't present these issues, unfortunately my coach came with DirecTV.
I hope this helps you.
__________________
CsiDave
St. Petersburg, Florida
2017 American Dream 45A
csidave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2017, 08:52 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 46
We actually have HD box in the RV since our Trav'ler satellite is the dish which receives HD.

This is all good news. We will likely start with using a home receiver box, and then when our trips become longer, add the RV onto our account.
__________________
Bchtravlr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2017, 10:14 AM   #10
Senior Member/RVM #90
 
MSHappyCampers's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 24,294
When we updated to Direct TV HD at home, I took one of the old SD receivers out and put in the MH, which only has an SD dome. Works great! I think we pay about $6 per month for the second receiver.
__________________
Joe & Annette

2002 Monaco Windsor 40PBT, 2013 Honda CRV AWD
MSHappyCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2017, 04:09 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Sicduc's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 143
My new coach that's on order I got it with a in-motion satellite and the big one that gets HD I forgot the model #... I had them put in a splitter so I can hook up one receiver and run all for TV's from it... My question is and this may be a phone call on Monday am I going to have to switch the wires from the two different satellites on the receiver to change them or will a splitter do that as well?
__________________
2012 Newmar Canyon Star 3920 Toy Hauler (SOLD)2018 DSDP 4369 (ON ORDER)
Sicduc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2017, 10:49 PM   #12
"Formerly Diplomat Don"
 
Dutch Star Don's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Moorpark, Ca.
Posts: 8,875
Almost all homes are now using the Genie with "Clients" in other rooms. The Clients HAVE to be associated with the Genie (stay in the house) or they won't work. This means, you'll need to bring the Genie.

For me, we have an HD DVR that we leave in the coach. Personally, for the $6.00 for an HD box or $10.00 for the HD DVR box, it's just not worth it to keep switching units. We also tale our coach out at least once a month. We have some friends that will drink a $20.00 bottle of wine at dinner three days a week, but will drag that $6.00 receiver back and forth every time they go camping.....doesn't make sense to me!
__________________
Don & Mary
2014 Newmar Dutch Star - All Electric - 450 ISL
2016 GMC Canyon 4WD Crew Cab
Dutch Star Don is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2017, 07:50 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Lake Havasu City, AZ & Plover, WI
Posts: 1,508
We have Dish with a receiver in our WI home and our AZ home. We also have one in our motorhome. WHen in WI for five months, the AZ box is inactive. When in AZ for 6-7 months the WI one is inactive. The MH box is always active and paired with whichever home we are in. When traveling, we call dish with our location zip code and they give us the local network channels for that area. We used to take our one receiver from the house with us when we traveled and called in our locations for the Network channels. It's much nicer having several receivers and we are only charged for the location that is active.
__________________
2013 43 QGP Allegro Bus
Crasher is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2017, 09:29 AM   #14
Member
 
Thor Owners Club
Solo Rvers Club
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 30
I am not savy with all this Direct TV and satellite stuff so can someone explain? Can I just order a new SD receiver with a card from DirectTV and put in RV? Or do I need a satellite dish? I have a newer RV (2016). Not even sure if what I'm asking makes sense!
__________________

__________________
russue125 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
directv



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Our Home away from home :: 1997 Country Coach Intrigue RSMorgan2 iRV2 Owners Registry 0 10-19-2016 02:25 PM
Our new home away from home Mari Martin New Rig Show-Off! 7 08-09-2013 10:40 PM
Home for our home on wheels. sCarycary Class A Motorhome Discussions 3 04-07-2011 09:58 AM
Best deal on Directv?I have used Directv in my coach for years with no major problems GARYMC74 Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 5 04-04-2011 05:31 AM
New home for our new home on wheels sCarycary Class A Motorhome Discussions 2 02-07-2011 09:17 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.