Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc.
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 07-17-2014, 05:42 PM   #1

Fleetwood Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Thumbs down Disappointed with Dish’s 211z Receiver

I have been running a Dish Network 211k receiver in my MH for many years, along with an external hard drive that serves as a DVR. It has worked well, but I am often frustrated with the length of time it takes to acquire satellites and download the program guide. I had heard that Dish’s new 211z receiver was faster during setup, so I decided it was time to upgrade. Unfortunately, this turned out to be more of a “downgrade” for me personally.

I recently installed a new Sony surround sound receiver w/blu-ray, to replace my dead Panasonic sound receiver. The new Sony system has an optical audio port that delivers fantastic sound. This worked well, since my 211k Dish receiver had an optical audio port as well. Unfortunately, the Dish engineers left this option off of the “new and improved” 211z receiver.