Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc.
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-20-2014, 10:08 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
TBS-POPS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Valley Springs, Ca
Posts: 367
Quote:
Originally Posted by brobox View Post
THANK YOU! for that report. I just bought a new MH that is all HDMI and I was thinking of upgrading to a 211z. I will now keep the 211k as I see no reason to upgrade after your report.
The 211z has HDMI and RCA outputs only. It will work with your new coach. It doesn't have the 75ohm coax output that all of our older coaches have.
__________________

__________________
2018 Vilano 375FL
2017 F-350 CC DRW 6.7
TBS-POPS is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-20-2014, 10:24 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
bruceisla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: St. Lucie West, FL
Posts: 5,057
Quote:
Originally Posted by brobox View Post
THANK YOU! for that report. I just bought a new MH that is all HDMI and I was thinking of upgrading to a 211z. I will now keep the 211k as I see no reason to upgrade after your report.
Assuming the 211K doesn't have a heat dissipation issue, there probably is no real reason to switch to a 211Z.
__________________

__________________
2005 Newmar Essex 4502, 2013 Caddy SRX
1997 HR Endeavor 37, CAT, 1996 Geo Tracker
bruceisla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2014, 12:40 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
kjburns's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 614
When my 722 hard drive failed, I installed a 211k. It doesn't seem to have a problem with heat. The 722 overheated often. I considered upgrading to the 211z, but it didn't seem to be worth it.
__________________
kjburns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2014, 07:09 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
smiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1,677
As has been mentioned many times you can easily add a coax output to a 211z with an RF modulator, available at any Walmart for $10-$20. There is no easy way to add a digital audio output though. That's not a very common requirement but if you do need it then you might want the 211k.

Otherwise I'd go with the 211z in most cases. It is a newer design, faster, smaller, runs much cooler, and uses less power. I don't see enough reason to upgrade for anyone who already owns a 211k (unless you're having a heat problem), but for a new purchase I'd prefer the newer hardware. There are really only a few rare exceptions, such as when you need a digital audio output as in the OP.

And FWIW my OTA module works perfectly and is at least as sensitive as any other receiver I own. I don't know why the OP had a problem, perhaps he got a defective one.
__________________
smiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2014, 07:31 AM   #19
Senior Member
 
bruceisla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: St. Lucie West, FL
Posts: 5,057
Quote:
Originally Posted by smiller View Post

And FWIW my OTA module works perfectly and is at least as sensitive as any other receiver I own. I don't know why the OP had a problem, perhaps he got a defective one.
Thanks and good to know. My OTA antenna requires +12vdc for the amp and I was wondering if that might have been missing when the module was tried.
__________________
2005 Newmar Essex 4502, 2013 Caddy SRX
1997 HR Endeavor 37, CAT, 1996 Geo Tracker
bruceisla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2014, 07:43 AM   #20
Senior Member
 
smiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1,677
Quote:
Originally Posted by bruceisla View Post
Thanks and good to know. My OTA antenna requires +12vdc for the amp and I was wondering if that might have been missing when the module was tried.
Since USB devices run on 5 volts I doubt there could be 12 volts on the output. But most OTA antennas inject the voltage at the switchplate so there is no need for power from the receiver (?)
__________________
smiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2014, 07:49 AM   #21
Senior Member
 
bruceisla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: St. Lucie West, FL
Posts: 5,057
Quote:
Originally Posted by smiller View Post
Since USB devices run on 5 volts I doubt there could be 12 volts on the output. But most OTA antennas inject the voltage at the switchplate so there is no need for power from the receiver (?)
Sorry ... miscommunication here. I was wondering about the possibility of the module being connected and the switchplate either not being in the loop or powered down.
__________________
2005 Newmar Essex 4502, 2013 Caddy SRX
1997 HR Endeavor 37, CAT, 1996 Geo Tracker
bruceisla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2014, 01:11 PM   #22
Senior Member
 
smiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1,677
Quote:
Originally Posted by bruceisla View Post
Sorry ... miscommunication here. I was wondering about the possibility of the module being connected and the switchplate either not being in the loop or powered down.
Ah, I see. Well that would certainly cause a problem. In fact under those circumstances I don't think you'd receive any channels at all.
__________________
smiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2014, 01:26 PM   #23
Senior Member
 
dnystrom's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 492
i put a chill mat under mine with 2 fans. Works with a usb on the receiver and I leave the door open and that takes care of most of the heating with the receiver.
__________________
07 Meridian 34H 350 Cat
2010 Subaru Forester Tow
Home Port is Kingman,Az
KA7UYZ NRA Endowment Member Retired Fire Service
dnystrom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2014, 02:49 PM   #24
Senior Member
 
bruceisla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: St. Lucie West, FL
Posts: 5,057
Quote:
Originally Posted by smiller View Post
Ah, I see. Well that would certainly cause a problem. In fact under those circumstances I don't think you'd receive any channels at all.
If I forget to power up the switchplate I usually get somewhat fuzzy reception of close transmitters ... but I do get 3 or 4.
__________________
2005 Newmar Essex 4502, 2013 Caddy SRX
1997 HR Endeavor 37, CAT, 1996 Geo Tracker
bruceisla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2014, 10:13 PM   #25
Senior Member


 
National RV Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: silverdale wa.
Posts: 1,040
It's interesting hearing the comments about the 722's failing because of the heat.We have had our rig in Moab in 107 and Ghost Ranch in N.M. for a week at 105 avg and no problems. I have had to replace my Winegard Dish 1000 three times and the last time they charged me for the replacement equipment saying that it was out of warranty. They also said that the shop must have installed it wrong as it had some rust in it. OOppss,but it was two different shops that did the work.
It does bug me that when you are even going 50-60 miles from home, that you sometimes have to call in and do the address bit.
__________________
BIGDOG
'01 Tradewinds 7390 LTC
2011 Jeep Liberty
bigdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2014, 12:43 AM   #26
Senior Member
 
Duner's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Fulltiming now in- Menifee, CA
Posts: 1,224
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigdog View Post
......
It does bug me that when you are even going 50-60 miles from home, that you sometimes have to call in and do the address bit.
There is a way to get better range of locals by using Satellite Guys website to find a spot beam that has a large area of the country, that includes where your are and where you going next. There are many choices that overlap, some are quite large that cover several states.

The website will give you a list of states and the cities that have different local channels. Click on a city, and that will bring you to a page of broadcast channels and the satellite spotbeam. Click on the spotbeam and it will bring up a map showing the area of coverage for strong, medium, and weak signal strength.

Try various states/cities and view the spot beams. It's a bit of sample & trial to get the optimum coverage. I'll give you a good example: I was in Iowa, planning to go to Minnesota and then Nebraska. If I picked Minneapolis (spotbeam 60) it would include Iowa & Minn, but not Nebraska. But by picking Rochester, Minn (spotbeam A7), it included all 3 states and more.

I've traveled about 35 states and 2 provinces this year and was able to pick a city that would give me coverage for about a month of traveling. Dish always wants an address, so you do have to look up an address in the city you select, even though you won't be traveling in that city. I usually look up the address of a campground in the city selected.

Hope this helps the traveling RV folks on the road. I know for me, it took away a lot of the mystery of local channel coverage.

Happy Trails,
Bill
__________________
Bill (Dune'r) & Helen
Last of the Chieftains, 2004 39T, W22, Banks Headers, Koni's, Safe-T-Plus, SMI brake
2017 Lincoln MKZ Hybrid towed 4-down
https://www.irv2.com/attachments/signaturepics/sigpic23522_1.gif]
Duner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2014, 02:56 AM   #27
Senior Member
 
smiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1,677
Excellent advice above, that is exactly what I do as well. It greatly reduces the need to change your local channels.
__________________
smiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2014, 07:04 AM   #28
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Welches, Oregon
Posts: 798
Quote:
Originally Posted by RWeigant View Post
OK, my 722 shutdown when it got too hot in Yuma. So, I cut a hole in the side of the cabinet and added a computer fan I got from Amazon. I bought one that runs off USB and powered it via one of those USB chargers. I think 3 volts. Works great.
mine also shut down from too much heat. I added a 4 inch computer fan along side the 722 and never had it happen again.
__________________

__________________
RWeigant is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dish



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading 5,000# receiver to 10,000#? Options? palehorse89 Spartan Motorhome Chassis Forum 52 07-14-2014 06:56 PM
Dish Receiver problem on 2014 Aspire bcp Entegra Owner's Forum 8 05-24-2014 11:37 PM
Dish VIP211k receiver vs VIP 211z gman69 Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 18 04-25-2014 10:22 AM
DISH 211z receiver question. RJEV Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 6 03-15-2014 04:37 PM
Dish Network in My Motorhome JDT Monaco Owner's Forum 19 02-14-2014 10:12 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.