Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc.
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-06-2014, 10:03 AM   #1
Member
 
BernerDad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Apex, NC
Posts: 89
Dish at Home and RV?

I'm fed up with Time Warner raising my rates when the promo package expires and their "current" promo is $30 a month higher. Unfortunately it seems that you have to switch providers every two years to get a reasonable deal.

I have Dish in the RV and turn it on and off as needed.

Does anyone have it both at home and the RV? What issues are there?

I have two VIP211z receivers in the RV and a spare ViP211K.

Would I be able to use them on TVs in the house and take them out to the RV when I wanted to use them in it? Do you have to call DISH every time? It looks like it would cost $14 a month to just leave them in the RV and not utilize them in the house.

I would also need a Hopper and a Joey for two other TVs in the house that we currently use with a whole house DVR. (5 total - don't ask)

Thanks for any input.

John
__________________

__________________
John & Dorene with the Sleeping Dogs - Lexie, Bailey, & Brie (Bernese Mountain Dogs), Chloe (American Eskimo), and Ember (GSD)-2015 American Coach Revolution 42G and 2013 CRV
BernerDad is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-06-2014, 10:57 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
reubenray's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Lake Osprey RV Resort, Elberta, AL
Posts: 2,740
I have Directv, but it should be the same with Dish. I just grab one of my receivers when we take our trips. I watch it wherever we are at and the DVR stays home recording shows.
__________________

__________________
Raymond, Dee Dee and Sophie (Yorkie)
2013 Tiffin Allegro (Sold) - 2017 Ventana LE 4037 -
2016 Chevrolet Equinox - V6 - AWD
reubenray is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2014, 11:04 AM   #3
Just south of Twin Cities
 
Cooperhawk's Avatar


 
Winnebago Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: 5 miles south of Lakeville, Mn
Posts: 1,588
We have had Dish for several years. We have the Hopper system with a Joey in the house, and we have two 211s in the MH. We really like the system and make good use of it. The Hopper will record and store a lot of programs. We set it in advance and then enjoy them when we have time. I have purchased the storage device for the 211, but have not set it up yet.

The only reason you have to call Dish is if you want the local programming in your RV. If you do not you will still receive all the programs in your package, just not the local area you are in.

We have an automatic Winegard on the roof and a Tailgater in the storage bin. If there are too many trees we just use the Tailgater.
__________________
Retired FAA ATC,
VFW AL, VVA, NRA
2002 Journey DL 36, 3126 Cat 330hp
2015 Ford Explorer Blue Ox tow bar, AF1
Cooperhawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2014, 11:07 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Stevegd007's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Grand Traverse County, Michigan
Posts: 684
We have Dish at home an in the RV. Hopper + Joey at home. 211k in the RV that is currently turned off, turn it on when I want with a simple phone call. ALL works just fine of us. THE only thing I wish for is an "a la carte" service. Reason: there is way to many stations we never watch or even need. Would rather have the choice to pick what I want. I am getting old waiting for providers to move to a pick a chose programming listing. Most likely will take a federal law to move them...but who knows.
__________________
Steve & Leslie
Winnebago 2007 Adventurer 38T
Honda 2010 CR-V "Toad"
Stevegd007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2014, 11:59 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Falcon190's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Camas, WA
Posts: 871
Quote:
Originally Posted by BernerDad View Post
I'm fed up with Time Warner raising my rates when the promo package expires and their "current" promo is $30 a month higher. Unfortunately it seems that you have to switch providers every two years to get a reasonable deal.

I have Dish in the RV and turn it on and off as needed.

Does anyone have it both at home and the RV? What issues are there?

I have two VIP211z receivers in the RV and a spare ViP211K.

Would I be able to use them on TVs in the house and take them out to the RV when I wanted to use them in it? Do you have to call DISH every time? It looks like it would cost $14 a month to just leave them in the RV and not utilize them in the house.

I would also need a Hopper and a Joey for two other TVs in the house that we currently use with a whole house DVR. (5 total - don't ask)

Thanks for any input.

John
We have Dish at home (with all the bells and whistles) and also in the motor home. We got it because we were tired of dealing with Comcast. Dish "on demand" is not as good as Comcast but it's a small price to pay. Speaking of small prices, adding the MoHo is only $7 additional per month!

If you wanted to use your VIP211z in your home along with the hopper, I'm pretty sure you'd need separate satellite dishes. Just leave the VIP211z in the MoHo and get more "Joeys" for your home.
__________________
Falcon190 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2014, 12:11 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Lt Dan's Avatar


 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: DFW, Texas
Posts: 1,653
We have DISH at home with the Hoppper/Joey system and a 211K in the RV. Yes, you can take the receivers out of the RV and use them in the house. However, your installer will have to run a separate downfeed line from the antenna for the 211 receivers. The Hopper system requires two lines from the antenna and you can't connect the 211 receivers to those. The 211 requires a separate feed line from the antenna. There is a third coax connector in the LNB and your installer can hook a downfeed line to that. They may charge you a bit extra for installing the third line, but it would be worth it.

They will charge $7 a month each for the extra two receivers, but you'll have use of them all the time at home. One big advantage to using them in the home is you don't have to go through a re-activation every time you use them in the RV. I just connected the 211 that I was leaving in the MH to an antenna at the house because of de-activation. Even though I was paying the $7 a month, the receiver would de-activate if it wasn't used for several weeks at a time. Now, I just keep it at home connected to an antenna, and put it in the motorhome when I need it.

By the way, you will LOVE the Hopper/Joey system. I think it is head and shoulders over any other system right now. The only drawback is you are limited to watching or recording from three tuners at one time, but with the two 211 receivers, you would have access to five different channels for five TVs. They advertise six channel recording and viewing, but what that entails is one tuner is used to record or watch all four major channels; ABC, NBC, CBS and Fox. The other two tuners can be set to any other station. In essence, you can watch or record six at a time, but four of them have to be the major broadcast channels.

The auto hop technology that lets you automatically skip over commercials is my favorite feature. It only works on the four broadcast channels and you have to wait til the next day for it to be active, but it is nice to sit back and bypass the commercial breaks.

Another more expensive option would be to have a second Hopper system installed and you would have six tuners.

Just my $0.02 worth, other opinions will vary.
__________________
Dan & Ro with two Rescued Boston "Terrorists" Jade & Jewel
2017 Phaeton 40IH Maroon Coral - Power Glide Chassis with IFS (05/17)
Previously '15 Tiffin Allegro RED 38QRA and '06 Itasca Sunrise 35A
'12 Jeep Wrangler Sport and/or '08 Honda Goldwing
Lt Dan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2014, 04:31 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
vsheetz's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: SoCal
Posts: 11,791
Hopper and Joey's in the house. 211k in the coach. Additional $7/month for the 211k in their coach.
__________________
Vince and Susan
2011 Tiffin Phaeton 40QTH (Cummins ISC/Freightliner)
Flat towing a modified 2005 Jeep (Rubicon Wrangler)
Previously a 2002 Fleetwood Pace Arrow 37A and a 1995 Safari Trek 2830.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2014, 06:09 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
greystroke's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Spring Hill, Florida
Posts: 1,150
I have dish at home with an older DVR and one 211k. I just take the 211k with me when I hit the road.

Someday I will get the hopper but I will need a separate antenna for the 211k if I keep it. It is just the two of us so that is all we need.
__________________
98 Endeavor DP, ISB275
RX300, Falcon II hitch, BB Vantage Select
VMSpc, 2002 Grey Ford Powerstroke
TST 507 w/ 10 Sensors
greystroke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2014, 05:36 PM   #9
Member
 
BernerDad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Apex, NC
Posts: 89
Thanks for the responses. Now I have to work through the calculus as to if it it will actually save me any money with breaking the internet and home phone bundle!

John
__________________
John & Dorene with the Sleeping Dogs - Lexie, Bailey, & Brie (Bernese Mountain Dogs), Chloe (American Eskimo), and Ember (GSD)-2015 American Coach Revolution 42G and 2013 CRV
BernerDad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2014, 05:53 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
jfran304's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Warner Robins, GA
Posts: 2,489
I haven't tried it but Dish Network now offers internet.

Jon
__________________
Jon & Sue Francis (Retired U.S.A.F.)
Lil Girl-Rescued, Abby Rescued, Peaches Rescued
06 Allegro 35TSA Workhorse Chassis
2013 Chevy Spark Dinghy
jfran304 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2014, 06:27 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
lanerd's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Home in warm Sou Calif for the winter.
Posts: 1,399
We have two 722Ks in our house that I remove and put into the mh when we leave for the summer. No additional charge for doing this; however, when leaving the broadcast area (usually about 300 miles from the center city where the spot beam is pointed), I just get on line to mydish.com and contact the live chat feature and have the person change my "service" address.

The 722Ks allows us to have two separate tv's (living room and bedroom) with its own two receiver connection. Each of us can record our own favorite channels while either watching a live program or a recorded program. This allows both of us to have HD too.

Ron
__________________
Ron, Sandie and Lilly
2013 Tiffin Phaeton 42LH 400 ISL | 2011 GMC Terrain SLT-2
Roadmaster All Terrain | US Gear Unified Brake System | Pressure Pro
lanerd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2014, 07:37 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 102
We have a Hopper and three Joeys at home. We take the Hopper and one Joey with us in the MH. With this setup we can watch different channels on the two TVs. It does require buying a single node and a tap and running two coax cables in. You can probably use the Satellite input for one of the cables. And we do not have an automatic dish setup. We use a 1000.2 and a tripod.
__________________
David, Sherry and our three fur kids, Nicholas, Finnegan and Bentley
2013 Coachmen Encounter 36BH
2014 Honda CR-V/ Blue Ox Autostop
dsurette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2014, 03:15 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2,159
Quote:
Originally Posted by greystroke View Post
Someday I will get the hopper but I will need a separate antenna for the 211k if I keep it.
Not true. A Hopper and a 211 receiver can be connected to the same dish -- like this.
__________________
2001 Mountain Aire DP 4095
2008 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon
RVSeniorMoments.com
TechWriter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2014, 03:17 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2,159
Quote:
Originally Posted by jfran304 View Post
I haven't tried it but Dish Network now offers internet.
True. But DISH Internet service requires a fixed dish -- you can't move it from campsite to campsite.
__________________

__________________
2001 Mountain Aire DP 4095
2008 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon
RVSeniorMoments.com
TechWriter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dish



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.