RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc.
Click Here to Login

Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-15-2019, 10:58 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Golfer Guy's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: out west
Posts: 658
DISH w Hopper3 only 2 sat feeds?

Spent all day getting set up with Dish. External set up with the Hybrid LNB's on the DISH mounted on the roof of my coach garage went well connected to the Hopper 3 and a wireless Joey.


However the DISH Travel'r on the roof of the coach was a real problem. Installed the DPH42 Switch with the solo hub and after several hours of trying to get it figured out gave up. Problem is I can only get 2 satellites 110 and 119. Satellite 129 does not come in. However it worked yesterday when connected to a Wally receiver. Went through multiple steps to isolate the problem area. Ran a wire directly from the DPH42 to the inside of the coach bypassing the coach coax cable. Also verified voltage to each LNB. Ran multiple diagnostics on the DISH settings and made sure it says DPH42 on the satellite. Did multiple switch test all to no avail. Think I have it isolated down to a faulty DPH42 out of the box. Will get a different DPH42 and try that. If that doesn't work I think it is time to replace the LNB's with the new Hybrid LNB's.

OH yeah 129 has most of the HD channels I watch.


Anyone else encounter this problem?
__________________

__________________
2017 Dutchstar 4369 Spartan Chassis, 2000W Solar Lithium Batteries, Active Air
2019 Jeep Rubicon, Roadmaster Sterling
2006 38' Beaver Monterey SOLD
Golfer Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-16-2019, 12:12 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2,762
Hopper 3 Check Switch with Nuclear Option
__________________

__________________
2001 Mountain Aire DP 4095 & 2008 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon
DISH TV for RVs
TechWriter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2019, 03:55 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Foothills, Yuma, Az
Posts: 955
the 3 output of the Winegard connect to the 3 inputs of the switch. 1 cable down to the power inserter. 1 output to the hub. 1 output to my cable of the MH.

Work very well and was very easy.
__________________
Dale&Susan, 08 Alfa Gold, DaGirlsRv Blog
2015 F-150XLT_1600W Solar_880 AmpHr
Magnum_MSH 3812 & PT100
gatorcq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2019, 09:44 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Golfer Guy's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: out west
Posts: 658
Quote:
Originally Posted by TechWriter View Post
TechWriter, thanks for the info I was hoping you would respond. However, I did the check switch with nuclear option and same result no 129 satellite. :-(

My RV Sat tech is going to bring over a different DPH42 Monday and try that. Perhaps it is just a faulty switch out of the box. If that doesn't fix it I can only think to replace the LNB's.

Thanks again
__________________
2017 Dutchstar 4369 Spartan Chassis, 2000W Solar Lithium Batteries, Active Air
2019 Jeep Rubicon, Roadmaster Sterling
2006 38' Beaver Monterey SOLD
Golfer Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2019, 11:32 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2,762
Quote:
Originally Posted by Golfer Guy View Post
My RV Sat tech is going to bring over a different DPH42 Monday and try that. Perhaps it is just a faulty switch out of the box. If that doesn't fix it I can only think to replace the LNB's.
Let us know how it turns out.
__________________
2001 Mountain Aire DP 4095 & 2008 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon
DISH TV for RVs
TechWriter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2019, 09:37 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Golfer Guy's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: out west
Posts: 658
Quote:
Originally Posted by TechWriter View Post
Let us know how it turns out.
Here is what we have found out. We reworked every bit of wiring and switches nodes and cables we could possibly replace and test to no avail. We still only had channels 110 and 119. How could that be! The system worked with the Wally just not the Hopper 3.

Well the Wally only uses one coax cable to get all three satellite so we assumed everything was fine on the Dish Traveler. Not so as it turned out. There is a wire loom of 3 coax from the three nodes that runs through the Sat Dish. Low and behold one of those three coax was faulty. The Hopper3 uses all three of those coax and since the one carrying the 129 satellite feed is faulty we do not get that feed. Will be getting a new wire loom in a few days and should be good to go.


Moral of the story don't assume anything is correct and functional, test everything satellite itself too.


Hope this helps someone else in the future.
__________________

__________________
2017 Dutchstar 4369 Spartan Chassis, 2000W Solar Lithium Batteries, Active Air
2019 Jeep Rubicon, Roadmaster Sterling
2006 38' Beaver Monterey SOLD
Golfer Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dish



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to aim - Dish Pro LNB using Hopper3 hogdriver Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 2 07-25-2018 11:14 AM
Hopper3 / Trav'ler? oneknight Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 21 04-19-2018 06:23 PM
DPH-42, Hopper3, and Portable Dish wade5979 Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 8 02-24-2018 08:42 AM
Winegard, Dish, DVR & Feeds RJEV Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 1 11-29-2012 10:00 PM
Dish Network Customers losing East/West Feeds dextery Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 29 11-28-2006 03:04 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.