Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc.
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-02-2013, 06:46 PM   #15
Member
 
singpilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: North/Summer, South/Winter
Posts: 89
Just completed a trans-continental run with the TST TPMS. Leaving OKC, at speed, I got a leaking alarm. Looked at the display while clicking off the cruise control. Front right trailer tire was showing 44 psi, the 30 psi, then 14. Engine braking to shoulder. Trailer weighed 9200 pounds. Tire was just shy of dismounting.

Out came the tire ramp, the cross-wrench. Loosened the lugs, backed up on the ramp, off came the flat. Spare came off of the trailer interior wall mount. It goes on, spun the lugs as tight as possible. Trailer down off of the ramp. torqued lugs. Bad tire and ramp and cross-wrench back in their holders. Total time? 15 minutes.

Yes, I moved the TPMS sensor to the mounted tire. Had checked it's pressure prior to leaving.

After resuming speed, watched 70f/55psi tire come up to match the others in temp and pressure.

Stopped 50 miles or so in a rest stop, and retorqued all the trailer tires lugs. Had not done them in a while.

America's Best Tire repaired the bolt holed tire for free. It's now my spare.

With the A/C on high and with the crosswinds that trip, I never would have seen/heard that flat until it had come off/apart. Probably damaging the other tire right behind it, or the fenders or brake wiring.

The system has paid for itself. I went thru an initial period of a bad sensor, but it was exchanged. I actually bought a spare as well.
__________________

__________________
2002 Dutch Star 4097 Spartan/Cummins ISC
singpilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-18-2013, 03:57 PM   #16
Senior Member


 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Anywhere I want to be.
Posts: 463
Welp, I started out on another leg of my journey yesterday, within 15 miles had the first alarm, then 20 more miles down the road had the second, the only common denomenator is I was traveling thru a road work zone. Could equiptment being used on site have caused this? (only had the two alarms, different tires)

Had taken batteries out of anything that ran on them, nothing else being used in MH.

Suggestions, questions?

Thanks
Kaye
__________________

__________________
1996 Newmar Mountain Aire
Boxer named Cash (aka Cassius Clay)
Afubar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2013, 09:38 AM   #17
Registered User
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 5,328
Send a message via Skype™ to Dr4Film
What were the alarms, pressure, temperature, lost signal, etc?

Dr4Film ----- Richard
__________________
Dr4Film is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2013, 02:09 PM   #18
Senior Member


 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Anywhere I want to be.
Posts: 463
All alarms were pressure, just completed another 130 miles today. Had one alarm on an outside dual within 24 miles, turned off monitor then back on. Then at 110 miles had a "0" pressure reading on opposite tag tire, turned off monitor then back on, reading was fine, another 5 miles, same thing, another 5 miles, same thing, finally just turned it off.

In this case, no road work, nothing different that I could determine.
__________________
1996 Newmar Mountain Aire
Boxer named Cash (aka Cassius Clay)
Afubar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2013, 04:05 PM   #19
Registered User
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 5,328
Send a message via Skype™ to Dr4Film
Are the batteries that you are using of decent quality?

I do not have experience with the flow-through sensors. Personally, if I was having that many problems with those sensors, I would trade them in for the small cap type sensors.

I have not had one problem running those. My philosophy is that since you have to remove the valve cap on the flow-through type, you may as well remove the cap sensor, it accomplishes the same task.

Dr4Film ----- Richard
__________________
Dr4Film is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2013, 04:13 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
Sky_Boss's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: ON THE ROAD...SOMEWHERE
Posts: 3,824
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr4Film View Post
Are the batteries that you are using of decent quality?

I do not have experience with the flow-through sensors. Personally, if I was having that many problems with those sensors, I would trade them in for the small cap type sensors.

I have not had one problem running those. My philosophy is that since you have to remove the valve cap on the flow-through type, you may as well remove the cap sensor, it accomplishes the same task.

Dr4Film ----- Richard
With TST non-flow through sensors you have to have a tool to remove them and, to be honest, it is a bit of a joke. That is why I went with flow through. The flow through models can be removed easily without any tools if needed.

I have lost track of what system the OP has installed now. If it is TST and you don't have the repeater...try it. I'm thinking that you still have some kind of interference and the repeater might cut through it.
__________________
Don (RVM22) Sandee, Gunny & Thor (GSDs)
2006 DSDP 4320, Spartan MM IFS, 2013 CR-V, Blue Ox Aventa LX, SMI AF1, Samsung 197R Refer.
Sky_Boss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2013, 06:34 PM   #21
Senior Member


 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Anywhere I want to be.
Posts: 463
I currently have the Tire-Safe flow thru installed. I did have the TST non-flow thru system, with it I didn't have false alarms, I had 2 different sensors that would at first do fine, then quit sending, had them replaced and not 6 months later, the same thing with the same two sensors (one on the driver's side inside dual, the other on the passenger's side outside dual. The tag axle sensors did fine.). They also would vary in pressure plus of minus at least 5 lbs from what my air guage would read. And what a pain that special tool was to remove the sensor to air up the outside duals. Very little working room for it between tires.
__________________
1996 Newmar Mountain Aire
Boxer named Cash (aka Cassius Clay)
Afubar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2013, 08:35 AM   #22
Senior Member
 
Winepress's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 282
Here is a way to check for interference. You will need to get your hands on a police scanner.

Remove the sensors. Tune the scanner to the frequency that the sensors transmit on. Mine is 433.92mhz. See if you are getting noise at the frequency that your sensors transmit on. You might be able to locate the source on the interference using the scanner.
__________________
Try to live up to your dogs opinion of you.
Winepress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 12:05 AM   #23
Senior Member
 
Smitty77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Over the next hill, around the next curve...
Posts: 913
OP - Are you sure the over/under values are set properly?

Best of luk, and keep at it!
Smitty
__________________
Roo II is our 04 Country Coach Allure 40'
OnDRoad for The JRNY! Enjoy life...
Smitty77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 07:02 AM   #24
Senior Member


 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Anywhere I want to be.
Posts: 463
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smitty77 View Post
OP - Are you sure the over/under values are set properly?

Best of luk, and keep at it!
Smitty

Yep, original set point was for higher pressure, which I found out when installing the sensors to begin with. Read the instructions that came with the system, and set per instructions. All sensors are set to the same values with the exception of the toad and tow dolly sensors (those have never gone off).
__________________

__________________
1996 Newmar Mountain Aire
Boxer named Cash (aka Cassius Clay)
Afubar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.