RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc.
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-13-2014, 09:28 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Naples FL
Posts: 342
Garmin RV 760

I just purchased a Garmin 760 & used it for the last couple of weeks.
Almost every time I set a destination from the list that is programmed in the unit such as a truck stop or RV park it routes me to the correct exit but most of the time the directions are in correct, the destination is on the opposite side of the highway or on the other side of the street. I tried while actually sitting in a Pilot routing me to the nearest truck stop & the Garmin would tell me to cross the highway, first time I used it I was heading for a Walmart & the. Garmin had me in the right lane going south & I was looking at the Walmart on the opposite side of the highway.
Anybody else experienced this?
__________________

__________________
2014 Essex, 2015 Ram 1500, 2008 Harley Road King
2 Dogs
jtovo is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-13-2014, 09:39 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
codgerbill's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ann Arbor Michigan
Posts: 783
I have the 3590LMT and I use it for both the car and RV. I have found that when I use the RV routing I really get some off the wall routes . I just use the car routing. I would suggest that a call to Garmin might be the best way to get the problem resolved Support | Garmin. If it works out and you get it resolved please post the solution on the blog here.
__________________

__________________
2005 Suncruiser
Banks Powerpack
Chocolate lab (Buster)
2007 Jeep Wrangler
codgerbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2014, 10:29 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
2 Stroker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Warren, Oregon
Posts: 2,366
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtovo View Post
I just purchased a Garmin 760 & used it for the last couple of weeks.
Almost every time I set a destination from the list that is programmed in the unit such as a truck stop or RV park it routes me to the correct exit but most of the time the directions are in correct, the destination is on the opposite side of the highway or on the other side of the street. I tried while actually sitting in a Pilot routing me to the nearest truck stop & the Garmin would tell me to cross the highway, first time I used it I was heading for a Walmart & the. Garmin had me in the right lane going south & I was looking at the Walmart on the opposite side of the highway.
Anybody else experienced this?
I will be getting mine on Monday but you need to go over to https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/Garmin760/info and join. Good info and get some help if needed. I belong to the Country Coach forum there and now the Garmin forum.
2 stroker
__________________
2006 Country Coach Inspire 360 40ft Genoa Designer Series, Samsung 197 RR
Cat C9--STEEL & COPPER Bolt Together Radiator w/ updated rubber mounting
SilverLeaf 330 Magnum 2812 PSW 2011 Ford Edge Sport-Air Force One
2 Stroker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2014, 10:36 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
ROMANICHEL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 352
Send a message via Skype™ to ROMANICHEL
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtovo View Post
I just purchased a Garmin 760 & used it for the last couple of weeks.
Almost every time I set a destination from the list that is programmed in the unit such as a truck stop or RV park it routes me to the correct exit but most of the time the directions are in correct, the destination is on the opposite side of the highway or on the other side of the street. I tried while actually sitting in a Pilot routing me to the nearest truck stop & the Garmin would tell me to cross the highway, first time I used it I was heading for a Walmart & the. Garmin had me in the right lane going south & I was looking at the Walmart on the opposite side of the highway.
Anybody else experienced this?
It happened to me also but mostly with Wal-Mart location, download the POI for Wal-Mart and many other Cosco, Cracker Barel ..... and use the POI as searching base, works great for me. :thumbup:
__________________
Mike, Martina and Maya our yellow Lab
2013 CrossRoads, Cruiser 29,5 ft 5thWeel, 2010 Ram HEMI 1500
ROMANICHEL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2014, 10:45 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
PyrateSilly's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2,200
We've used our DEZL 760 for lots of miles, both in the car and RV across country and back. Have not had that problem crop up. It did want to change our route mid road one time and thru us for a loop and we decided to not follow the new advice and we ended up in a REALLY bad traffic jam from an accident. The Garmin had tried to route us around it on a better route and we did not listen to it. Not that we will just blindly listen to it but we should have known something was up since it was in the middle of Los Angeles and it never at the last minute changes an exit and route like that.
__________________
Thom and Christine having fun in a 1993 Monaco Crown Royale Signature Series 40ft 300hp RV. Towing a Fiat 500 Abarth and a Harley.
Our blogged repairs and travels
PyrateSilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2014, 12:00 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
ROMANICHEL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 352
Send a message via Skype™ to ROMANICHEL
Quote:
Originally Posted by PyrateSilly View Post
We've used our DEZL 760 for lots of miles, both in the car and RV across country and back. Have not had that problem crop up. It did want to change our route mid road one time and thru us for a loop and we decided to not follow the new advice and we ended up in a REALLY bad traffic jam from an accident. The Garmin had tried to route us around it on a better route and we did not listen to it. Not that we will just blindly listen to it but we should have known something was up since it was in the middle of Los Angeles and it never at the last minute changes an exit and route like that.
Like your comments PyrateSilly : The only time on got into trouble is when I ignored Garmin direction and tried to follow my own instinct.
__________________
Mike, Martina and Maya our yellow Lab
2013 CrossRoads, Cruiser 29,5 ft 5thWeel, 2010 Ram HEMI 1500
ROMANICHEL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2014, 06:52 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
waroland's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Maryville, TN (Homebase)
Posts: 475
Have you upgraded the maps? They usually come with an older set of maps. Upgrade and try again.
__________________
2002 Fleetwood Revolution 38B
2006 Honda CR-V Air Force One
waroland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2014, 07:29 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 924
I've got the Dezl 760 and have seldom had this problem. I downloaded several POI sets from the POI Factory. I use the Walmart POI I downloaded as it is faster for me to find the Walmart I'm looking for than trying to use the Garmin data set. I also downloaded the Campgrounds POI file and use it almost all the time since it seems to have more campgrounds than the Garmin set. One nice feature with the POI Factory POI's is that they seem to be updated more frequently than the Garmin.

If you are unfamiliar with downloading POI's to the Garmin, the POI Factory site has good information.
__________________
Pete - Full Timing
2000 Country Coach Magna 40' Indulgence, CAT C10, #5892
2006 Jeep Liberty
phays is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2014, 10:49 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
CJ7ole's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,087
We have put about 11,000 miles on ours including a 9,000 mile trip out west last summer. It can make mistakes. In Seattle it wanted us to turn left when I could see ahead the on-ramp was on the right. Also a few others like that. And it wouldn't let us enter Yellowstone from the east as OTR trucks are not permitted in the park except for delivery, so it tried to route us to the south entrance, much out of our way. Sometimes you have to use common sense.

And in some Oklahoma town it tried to take us to a Wal-Mart that relocated 3 miles away at least a year earlier.

I still haven't figured out when and why, and how it will give traffic reports. How does it get current traffic info?
__________________
Ole and Anne Anderson, Highland, Michigan
'02 Adventurer 32V, Ford F-53, ours since 4/08,Goodyears, Konis, SeeLevel, CHF
'84 CJ-7 , 5.3 Chevy, 3" lift, 33's, Detroit Locker, Fiberglas tub, winch, hi-lift
CJ7ole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2014, 10:59 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Falcon190's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Camas, WA
Posts: 872
I got my 760 dezle for our 5,500 mile current trip. I've learned a lot about setting it up. You can be a truck, an RV, or an automobile. And the shortest route verses the fastest will give you entirely different results (like taking me on frontage roads today in Dallas, Texas). If you take some time with it, it's great!
__________________

Falcon190 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Garmin GPS specifically for RVs CB1025 Gear and Product Discussions 2 03-25-2014 04:51 PM
GPS Garmin RV 760 vs Good Sam ND7726 S-n-L Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 7 03-10-2014 11:20 AM
Garmin 760 dezl lmt problems THERAPY GUY Newmar Owner's Forum 2 03-03-2014 01:03 PM
RV 760 GPS Memory Limit Rockysvet Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 2 02-18-2014 05:23 PM
Garmin GPS seadogjim Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 14 02-10-2014 07:48 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×