RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc.
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-12-2013, 10:41 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 54
Grainy/poor picture

I have a 2007 Fleetwood Discovery with a multi switch for 3- tv's. I have Directv and the HD over air antenna as well as dvd surround sound system.

The picture for everything is great on all of the tv's except for Directv on the front tv only. It is grainy. Directv on the other tv's look great. Antenna and dvd on all tv's, including the front looks great.

Why the poor picture on only one of the tv's for only the Directv input?
__________________

k9crazy5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-12-2013, 10:47 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
BFlinn181's Avatar


 
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 19,907
It could be the switch. Try changing cables to test if front TV clears up when hooked up to position 2 or 3. That way you'd know if it's the switch or perhaps the cable/connection.
__________________

__________________

Bob & Donna
'98 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager DP being pushed by a '00 Beetle TDI
BFlinn181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2013, 10:47 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
wb7auk's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Spokane Valley, Wa
Posts: 1,987
Poor signal is the cause and I have found the switch box has a bad switch and is the
normal cause.
__________________
Art
1999 Trade Winds 7371 Cat 3126B w/current upgrades
1990 D 250 Dodge Ram Cummins Turbo
wb7auk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2013, 10:54 AM   #4
RV Mutant #14
 
Wayne M's Avatar


 
Winnebago Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Freightliner Owners Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 13,250
Those connections for our rolling earthquakes seem to have a mind of their own and will loosen up over time. Just to check, reach in behind the TV and see if you can tighten the connection - at least finger tight. If you notice a lot of turning when doing it, well it could be the problem. Also check the back of the switch box.

You could also have a cable from the switch box to the TV develop a short. If one of the strands on the ground side of the cable have been "let loose" and is rubbing the center conductor it creates a very small path to ground and will cause snowy pictures. As stated, try one of the inputs that does work, and if it doesn't then switch out that cable from the box to the TV.

If those don't work, get 500 feet of coax cable, plug one end into the antenna and run around the MH with the other end until it is wound tight and connect it to the TV. It will not improve anything, but you will get a chuckle out of the neighbors.
__________________
Wayne MSGT USMC (Ret) & Earlene (CinCHouse) RVM14
2015 Winnebago Tour 42QD
It is what it is, and then it is what you make of it.
Wayne M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2013, 11:55 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by BFlinn181 View Post
It could be the switch. Try changing cables to test if front TV clears up when hooked up to position 2 or 3. That way you'd know if it's the switch or perhaps the cable/connection.
I replaced the multi switch but it did not help.
k9crazy5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2013, 12:01 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wayne M View Post
Those connections for our rolling earthquakes seem to have a mind of their own and will loosen up over time. Just to check, reach in behind the TV and see if you can tighten the connection - at least finger tight. If you notice a lot of turning when doing it, well it could be the problem. Also check the back of the switch box.

You could also have a cable from the switch box to the TV develop a short. If one of the strands on the ground side of the cable have been "let loose" and is rubbing the center conductor it creates a very small path to ground and will cause snowy pictures. As stated, try one of the inputs that does work, and if it doesn't then switch out that cable from the box to the TV.

If those don't work, get 500 feet of coax cable, plug one end into the antenna and run around the MH with the other end until it is wound tight and connect it to the TV. It will not improve anything, but you will get a chuckle out of the neighbors.

The way I understand it is that all of the inputs go to the multi switch. The multi switch then outputs it to the tv's. A loose cable/connection would be loose for any input mode but only the Directv input looks bad. Am i missing something?

That being said, I wiggled, checked and swapped some of the cables. Other than tugging on the cables, I have not been able to get behind the tv yet to check those.
k9crazy5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2013, 12:34 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
BFlinn181's Avatar


 
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 19,907
If you replaced the switch and things didn't improve, then it's got to be a bad cable or loose connection. Before spending more money, access the TV rear and check connections, then try another cable between switch box and TV.

I'm assuming all the TV's are HD capable.
__________________

Bob & Donna
'98 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager DP being pushed by a '00 Beetle TDI
BFlinn181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2013, 04:48 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by BFlinn181 View Post
If you replaced the switch and things didn't improve, then it's got to be a bad cable or loose connection. Before spending more money, access the TV rear and check connections, then try another cable between switch box and TV.

I'm assuming all the TV's are HD capable.
I am going to check the cables behind the tv. I am not sure but i think i have to pull the tv to do so. The problem has to be in between the switch and this tv. I am still a bit confused as to why the other inputs look good but Directv doesn't. Is it not the same cable from switcher to tv?
k9crazy5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2013, 08:05 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: North East Indiana
Posts: 1,995
If it is possible, try a direct connect to the TV where the signal is grainy. If the picture improves you have a bad connection, a splitter that is not conducive to Sat TV.. Some times the connector on the end of the cable is not grounded by the woven shield to the tip end.
__________________

Izzyblueye is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.