RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc.
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-07-2011, 07:10 PM   #1
Registered User
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 1,857
KingDome LF/SF Question(s)

Our new RV has a KingDome SF installed in it. So far I have not been able to get it to do anything other than search, and search, and search some more. I've let it go for 30 to 40 minutes and still nothing. How long does it take a working one to acquire a satellite?

The rig is level and I have a brand new Directv receiver, a model D12-100 which I have verified is working by attaching it to my house dish. Will the dome work with this receiver?

I've looked at KVH industries for a manual but they do not even list the LS/SF domes as products anymore. Does the LF/SF have a model number that matches something currently on their website?

I tried the reset procedure in the manual I do have but it did not react as the manual says it should. I believe it was previously used for Directv but I would like to be sure. Can anybody point me to the right documentation?

Just how sensitive to obstructions are these domes? The person who did our walkthrough hinted that they are not very tolerant of trees (understandable), rain (what?!?!), and even dew! SO, that moves us on to my next question:

I've seen someone using a homemade dish stand that was made out of PVC pipe and the dish was oriented upside down from the normal way. The reflector was almost parallel to the ground and the LNA/LNB arm is actually sticking up almost vertically. He said he has to do some simple math to translate the aiming directions from his receiver but that it works fine that way. I like this idea becuse it is very low to the ground and thus not likely to get blown over by wind. He also said it cost about $4.00 to make and that was a plus too. And wherever he sets it up people stop and talk to him about it and that was cool beans too! He got the plans off the internet but I have never seen them. Anybody know anything about this stand?

BTW, I have successfully installed dishes in stick houses a number of times and have been a Directv customer for a long long time.

Muddypaws
__________________

Muddypaws is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-07-2011, 07:42 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
texnet's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Granbury, Texas
Posts: 1,373
We have a LF on our MH and using it with a Directv receiver/DVR. If the system has not been used for several weeks or we travelled a long distance between the last time we used in and the current time then it can take me multiple tries to get it to work but once it is working I have no problems with it. I have found the fastest way to get it working is to turn on the DVR first, then the LF. Sometimes I do have to hit the search switch on the LF several times before it finds the correct sat. I have also had to reset the receiver to get it to find it. Once I the LF has found the proper sat I normally don't have any more problems unless I disconnect the house batteries, inverter or leave the shore power disconnected for a few weeks.

Yes, trees and rain DO present a problem. We are currently in Fort Wilderness, driving a different MH with a LF, and cannot receive Directv due to the trees. While we were on our trip here we had one evening of rain and were not able to use Directv.
__________________

__________________
Ronnie (WD5GIC) & Jan (WD5IHU)
2003 Monaco Dynasty Countess 42' w/tag, 2012 Ford Flex
http://www.ronniesphotos.com

texnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 08:49 PM   #3
Registered User
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 1,857
Talking I found it!

This is the 'upside down satellite stand'.

RV NOW
Muddypaws is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2011, 05:32 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
rag_ftw's Avatar


 
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Fort Worth
Posts: 998
I have a 9702-LP Kingdome and find it to be very sensitive to ANY obstruction. This includes not only trees, but power transformers that are within 100 feet, metal buildings within 100 feet, etc. Several times I have been parked in an open area and mine has gone completely through the search cycle without locking. On two different occasions I have removed the cover and manually positioned the antenna to receive a over 90% signal strength. I finally bought a test box from King Controls that allows me to manually control antenna movement.
Try this URL for a contact with King Controls. They may be able to provide some help. King Dome Products
__________________
Robert & Leslie
2004 Travel Supreme 38DS04
Cummins 8.3 ISC 350HP
Spartan Mountain Master
rag_ftw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2011, 05:41 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
docj's Avatar
Official iRV2 Sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4,465
We had a KingDome on our 2005 and thought that it was a piece of junk. Most of the time it couldn't find the satellite and when it did, it took forever. We almost didn't want to install a dish on our current coach because we thought they were all that bad. We now have a Winegard Trav'ler and it is downright amazing in its ability to lock on the satellites.
__________________
Joel Weiss--WiFiRanger RV Ambassador
RVParkReviews administrator
2000 40' Beaver Patriot Thunder Princeton CAT C-12
docj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2011, 08:43 PM   #6
Registered User
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 1,857
That's disappointing news about the KingDome. Have you tried an in-line signal booster? I'm not sure it will work but you can find them on eBay for about $5.00.

I built an upside down satellite stand today in about 20 minutes. I modified the design a bit by putting adjustable feet on it. Total cost about $20. I guess I'll be using it often.
Muddypaws is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 03:45 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 129
What model King Dome antenna do you have and does it have a display screen?
__________________
Dave and Derita
2007 Winnebago Adventurer 38J - 2014 Honda CR-V in tow- Banks PowerPack
DavidC1225 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 10:49 PM   #8
Registered User
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 1,857
No, it only has a small panel with two rocker switches. One powers it on and the other switches sats. There is a small LED of the SAT switch.

I've given up on it until I can move the rig. There is a streetlight 'kinda in the vicinity' of the line of sight...........

I won't be moving for a few more days. I'm modifying the front cabinets to mount a 37" LED TV and it's turning out to be a bigger project than I originally thought. (what project doesn't fall into this category?)
Muddypaws is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 09:06 AM   #9
CSB
Junior Member
Commercial Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Muddypaws View Post
Our new RV has a KingDome SF installed in it.
Muddypaws
FYI, the SF model satellite antenna is not a King-Dome model and is not manufactured by King Controls.
__________________
Craig Bartyzal
KING - Bloomington, MN
CSB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 10:09 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
rag_ftw's Avatar


 
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Fort Worth
Posts: 998
Quote:
Originally Posted by CSB View Post
FYI, the SF model satellite antenna is not a King-Dome model and is not manufactured by King Controls.
Craig,
Welcome to the forum. It's a good thing when vendors participate in these discussions. You guys can clear up a lot of misconceptions and help us solve a lot of problems.
__________________
Robert & Leslie
2004 Travel Supreme 38DS04
Cummins 8.3 ISC 350HP
Spartan Mountain Master
rag_ftw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2011, 10:46 AM   #11
Registered User
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 1,857
Arrrggghhh

Thanks, that clears up my confusion (I think....). Somehow I must have gotten the idea that KingDome (King Controls) and TracVision (KVH) were one and the same.
Muddypaws is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2011, 03:49 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Country Coach Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Northern California
Posts: 3,731
Just on a chance, it seems to me the LF and SF models sound suspiciously like KVH dome models from the 2002 era, not a Kingdome.

If it is a KVH LF or SF model, we use one. Our receiver needs to have a low speed data port to aim the dome antenna. Without the low speed data port connection, it will likely be difficult to aim the dome.

http://www.riverparkinc.com/techpdf/...on%20guide.pdf
__________________

__________________
Dean
1995 CC Magna #5280
C8.3L 300hp Cummins, 31,000lbs
deandec is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD Dish Network DVR not working with Kingdome in-motion satellite dish ? Harry B Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 14 05-02-2014 08:38 AM
Questions on replacing A&E Torsion Kit Kountry87Air MH-General Discussions & Problems 1 05-24-2011 08:38 PM
Questions....lots of questions..... C Johnson Class C Motorhome Discussions 20 11-02-2010 07:00 AM
Kingdome & Dish - Only get Satellite 129 BigKahuna Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 15 10-07-2010 11:30 PM
Questions, questions! Hope you can help? Born2RV Fleetwood Products Owner's Forum 5 08-31-2009 05:53 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.