RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc.
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-25-2013, 03:48 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
HicksRA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Fort Worth TX
Posts: 845
KVH help. Anyone?

I just recently hooked up Dish 500 to my KVH R5SL. (Interestingly, the shroud on top says R4SL, but the serial # says it's a R5SL) The rig is new to me and was previously set for and working on DirectTV.
After setting it up for Dish as per instructions, I called Dish, got the programming, and everything worked fine for a couple of days.
One thing I noticed is that the Dish receiver got blazing hot.
I shut down the power to the RV, and the next time I powered up the Dish, I got a complete signal loss message from the receiver.
Called Dish and they sent a man out that said the problem was with the KVH dish and no signal was coming from it. I later verified the receiver was good by hooking it up to an old roof mount dual lnb dish I had at home.
After reading a little, I downloaded the KVH update wizard and attempted to do an update with very little knowledge as to what I was doing.
When I hooked the computer up to the KVH, all I got was "no rf signal" or something like that continuously scrolling on the screen.
I also got an identifier line that says R5SL, Rev G, Version 1.26, Serial # 120400967.
I didn't see a way to load any kind of update.
Is there any fuses or anything like that I should check? I hear the motor running on the roof like it's searching for the signal.
Any help appreciated.
__________________

__________________
2005 Newmar Dutch Star 4024
Pulling my 2012 Malibu w/Blue OX & Patriot brake unit
HicksRA is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-25-2013, 06:43 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
lllkrob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2,361
Check your connections at the antenna on the roof. If nothing changes you need professional help with the antenna. I think your RF circuit board has problems.
__________________

__________________
2013 Tiffin Phaeton 40QBH
2016 Chevrolet Equinox LTZ AWD V6
lllkrob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2013, 07:14 PM   #3
YC1
Senior Member
 
YC1's Avatar


 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 7,090
One thing about the KVH is it is sensitive to low voltage. If it is being supplied by DC and not a power supply make sure you have shoreline or generator running while you are testing things. At about 11.7 volts they will not lock. A long run of cable and batteries at less than full charge can get you below that easily and drive you nuts.
__________________
Myron & Deborah
08 HR Endeavor 40 SKQ
2012 Ford Edge Limited FWD 3.5L
Aluminator tow bar, Demco base plate
YC1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2013, 08:05 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
HicksRA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Fort Worth TX
Posts: 845
Quote:
Originally Posted by lllkrob View Post
Check your connections at the antenna on the roof. If nothing changes you need professional help with the antenna. I think your RF circuit board has problems.
That's kinda what I'm thinking. I need to take the top off the dome and make a visual inspection, but since it was working one moment and then no signal the next, I'm thinking something electronic died. It's also odd that the Dish receiver got blazing hot hooked up to the KVH but not the Dish 500 dish.
As to voltage, it's supplied by a 110v power supply. I believe 15v.
Thanks for the input.
__________________
2005 Newmar Dutch Star 4024
Pulling my 2012 Malibu w/Blue OX & Patriot brake unit
HicksRA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2013, 12:20 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
jsabatinos's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Billings, MT
Posts: 102
This post will not help your immediate problem BUT it might save your sanity down the road. I too had a KVH 5. From the moment I took ownership of the 08 Dynasty the unit did not work properly. I even had the dome replaced under warranty. After about $1000 of my own expense to get it to work and continual problems on each trip. I replaced it with a Winegard Travler. It works flawlessly every time and rapidly is ready to provide two different satellite signals to the two TVs in the coach.
Some might say this was an expensive fix. I say it is the permanent fix and there is no price to put on the elimination of my constant frustration and that of my wife.
__________________
J & J Sabatinos + Schnauzer & Bengal
08 Monaco Dynasty Yorkshire
Eastern Montana
jsabatinos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2013, 10:19 AM   #6
YC1
Senior Member
 
YC1's Avatar


 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 7,090
How long did it take for the receiver to get hot? I installed fans in my cabinet because of the terrible heat issue.
When you take the dome off run a temporary cable from lnb1 to the receiver and leave lnb 2 disconnected. If the coax is shorted the receiver could be getting hot due to the extra current flowing.
__________________
Myron & Deborah
08 HR Endeavor 40 SKQ
2012 Ford Edge Limited FWD 3.5L
Aluminator tow bar, Demco base plate
YC1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2013, 09:02 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
HicksRA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Fort Worth TX
Posts: 845
Thanks for the replies. By hot, I mean unusually hot. I realize that any receiver heats up, but this was so hot, you couldn't hold the receiver in your hand. It only took about 30 minutes for it to heat up. When I hooked it up to a regular Dish 500 dish, it just got warm. I'll try running a separate cable whenever I get a chance and see what I get.
After reading several posts about the KVH, I've decided not to spend a lot of money on it. I just bought a tailgater and will use that on my upcoming trip next trip week and mess with the KVH when I get a chance. I'd like to have it working if I can fix it, but I'm not going to sink much money in it.
__________________
2005 Newmar Dutch Star 4024
Pulling my 2012 Malibu w/Blue OX & Patriot brake unit
HicksRA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2013, 10:04 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by HicksRA View Post
I just recently hooked up Dish 500 to my KVH R5SL. (Interestingly, the shroud on top says R4SL, but the serial # says it's a R5SL) The rig is new to me and was previously set for and working on DirectTV.
After setting it up for Dish as per instructions, I called Dish, got the programming, and everything worked fine for a couple of days.
One thing I noticed is that the Dish receiver got blazing hot.
I shut down the power to the RV, and the next time I powered up the Dish, I got a complete signal loss message from the receiver.
Called Dish and they sent a man out that said the problem was with the KVH dish and no signal was coming from it. I later verified the receiver was good by hooking it up to an old roof mount dual lnb dish I had at home.
After reading a little, I downloaded the KVH update wizard and attempted to do an update with very little knowledge as to what I was doing.
When I hooked the computer up to the KVH, all I got was "no rf signal" or something like that continuously scrolling on the screen.
I also got an identifier line that says R5SL, Rev G, Version 1.26, Serial # 120400967.
I didn't see a way to load any kind of update.
Is there any fuses or anything like that I should check? I hear the motor running on the roof like it's searching for the signal.
Any help appreciated.
At the front of the reflector in the LNB it will have two coax cables connected to it.with receiver on and cable removed you should have 15-18 volts DC between center conductor and growing or the threaded part of the cable. If no voltage cable problem most likely if power is there you need to buy a stacked L N B about 100.00 dollars.
apollocat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2013, 01:40 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
HicksRA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Fort Worth TX
Posts: 845
Thanks for that info. It will help me narrow things down.
__________________

__________________
2005 Newmar Dutch Star 4024
Pulling my 2012 Malibu w/Blue OX & Patriot brake unit
HicksRA is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×