Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc.
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-27-2010, 04:24 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Teknoguy's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Northern Ontario
Posts: 26
KVH L3 setup instruction help

I have a 2003 Holiday Rambler that has a KVH TracVision L3 installed. When I purchased the unit it had a DTV receiver and was getting the preview channels. I tried hooking up my ExpressVu receiver and switching satelites with the supplied TV/SAT switch. After trying that, nothing would work. I called KVH technical support and was told that I had to reflash my Sat as it had an old version on it.

Since then my everything has headed south on me and I get an RF failure. Here is the info I get on the flash wizard:


KVH TracVision R5 Rev T - Version 2.59 - Serial Number 00000000
*** Initializing RF Controller ***
S response timeout
*** ERROR: RF COMM FAIL ***
*** Initializing Antenna ***
GPS: UTC: 083000.00, Lat: 4131.00N, Long: 7115.00W
GPS: ASTRA1 AZ = 163.1, EL = 36.9, SKEW = 4.5
GPS: HOTBIRDWB AZ = 171.6, EL = 38.0, SKEW = 6.0
!!! CAN'T SEE SAT !!!
GPS Set To Default
GPS: AVG SKEW = 5.3
*** Limit Switch Test ***

Limit Switch Status: PASS
!!! ERROR -- GYRO NOT CALIBRATED !!!
*** ERROR: RF COMM FAIL ***
*** ERROR: RF COMM FAIL ***
*** ERROR: RF COMM FAIL ***
*** ERROR: RF COMM FAIL ***
*** ERROR: RF COMM FAIL ***
?PGM

The flash wizard also gave me instructions on what to do next. Here is what it said I should enter:

HALT
DEBUGON
CLEAREE
Wait upto 60 seconds for command to finish
HALT
DEBUGON
=TVL3
Wait upto 60 seconds for command to finish
HALT
DEBUGON
BIASAZ,<value>
BIASEL,<value>
GYROSFAZ,<value>
Here is what I am looking for;
Can anyone send me a copy of their flash or the values that I need in order for my L3 to work with expressVu? My serial number is 03010939 and I am located in Sudbury, Ontario.

KVH Technical support technicians say that they cannot assist a customer to fix a flash problem and that I should take it to a local dealer. Unfortunately, all local dealers are no longer working on KVH systems because of what they call Poor Customer Support.

If anyone knows of a dealer who still works on KVH flash, please tell me as well.

Thanks in advance.
__________________

__________________
Teknoguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-27-2010, 06:47 PM   #2
Junior Member
 
Teknoguy's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Northern Ontario
Posts: 26
After playing a bit more this is where I am now at:





KVH TracVision L3 Rev T - Version 2.59 - Serial Number 03010939
*** Initializing RF Controller ***
S response timeout
*** ERROR: RF COMM FAIL ***
*** Initializing Antenna ***
GPS: UTC: 083000.00, Lat: 4500.00N, Long: 700.00E
GPS: HOTBIRDWB AZ = 171.6, EL = 38.0, SKEW = 6.0
GPS: ASTRA1 AZ = 163.1, EL = 36.9, SKEW = 4.5
GPS: AVG SKEW = 5.3
*** Limit Switch Test ***

Limit Switch Status: PASS
*** ERROR: RF COMM FAIL ***
*** ERROR: RF COMM FAIL ***
*** ERROR: RF COMM FAIL ***
==>halt

>HALT
==>satinstall,Expressvu,none

>Satellite Installation Fail

I still can't seem to get it off the European Sats, Perhaps the flsh wizard has only European falshes installed?
__________________

__________________
Teknoguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2010, 06:31 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Teknoguy's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Northern Ontario
Posts: 26
I am heading to Vancouver for a few weeks holiday this weekend. Does anyone know a dealer or technician somewhere near i94/i90 that services KVH TracVisions?

I am about to give up on KVH and find another brand that provides service support if I can't get this unit working soon. Any suggestions?
__________________
Teknoguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2010, 09:40 AM   #4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Traveling the lower 48
Posts: 2,450
If you have to replace your antenna I would not replace it with another dome but would instead recommend that you have the Winegard Trav'ler installed.
__________________
Bill Adams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2010, 12:59 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: San Jose, Ca, USA
Posts: 818
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teknoguy View Post
>HALT
==>satinstall,Expressvu,none

>Satellite Installation Fail
For the KVH R4/R5 models they show 2 satellites for Expressvu: 82 and 91. the manual says that the command to access them is:

a. HALT <ENTER>
b. SATINSTALL,Expressvu,ExpressTV <ENTER>
c. ZAP <ENTER>

I don't know if yours uses the same commands but it's worth a try...
__________________
Alan Hepburn - San Jose, Ca
2007 Bounder 35E being pushed by a 2008 smart fortwo Passion or a 2006 Ural Tourist
Good Sam Member #566004 * FMCA Member #F431612
Alan_Hepburn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2010, 01:35 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
DtBt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 357
I think you need to reflash the RF board with a new firmware corresponding to the new controller firmware. That requires a different RS-232 cable connected to the modular connector and the same flash wizard. If you are using Vista or Windows 7 run as administrator. PM me if you do not have a cable. For what its worth my L3 works great for Dish network, including HD on 61.5 or 129.
__________________
2005 Safari Panther Diamond IV
99 Monaco Windsor 40SS Sold
2002 Avalanche Toad
DtBt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2010, 10:08 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
Satman's Avatar
Commercial Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 21
I would reccommend you switch to a Winegard or Motosat automatic openfaced mobile satellite system for BEV. As you know BEV is not for use below the border and a dome isn't going to give you a dependable signal to see your BEV programming. You can certanly pay to have the KVH reflashed but unless your prepaired to move to Dish Network or DirecTV service you will be disappointed.
__________________
Gary Swaim
Custom Coach Connection
Satman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2010, 10:12 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Teknoguy's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Northern Ontario
Posts: 26
Update....

I took my RV to Bismark ND while on holidays and had the dealer flash the unit. They were able to get it up and running with the exception that they could not lock onto Expressvu. After arriving in Vancouver BC I called KVH tech support and found a very helpful technician that talked me through the satconfig programming of my trackvision. Now everything is working great and the unit locks on to the expressvu sat with no problems at all.

Thanks to all who tried to helps out
__________________

__________________
Teknoguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with KVH R5SL Satellite System vito.a Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 9 04-06-2010 11:40 AM
Update KVH LM or New Sat Antenna deandec Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 3 01-19-2010 11:03 AM
KVH mounting through the fiberglass roof? bobpie Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 3 05-05-2009 06:42 PM
KVH Trackvision Power Switch Replacement Mike R Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 3 04-24-2009 05:48 PM
kingdome vs kvh r6 brucedelta Newmar Owner's Forum 22 03-25-2008 01:56 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.