Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc.
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 10-02-2015, 04:59 PM   #1

Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Like WiFiRanger, but less expensive

I decided to investigate how the WifiRanger product worked and after doing some research, I found that it is nothing more than a Mikrotik product. Since I am a network engineer, I decided to order the Mikrotik parts and build my own.

In addition to the Wifi gear, I had to order some outdoor, shielded cable. That was the only extra part I had to get.

Here is a picture of it installed on my 2016 Newmar Ventana LE. The Ethernet cable easily went down the conduit for the coax runs. The AP and power supply are mounted in my electronics cabinet above the driver's seat.

I am sitting in my driveway, connected to an AP in my house, and typing this post without issue.

Of course, I don't have the slick interface and Web UI, but I am working on it. I won't quote prices, but I'll say my solution was hundreds of dollars less expensive.

Let me know if you have any questions.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1741.jpg
Views:	424
Size:	197.0 KB
ID:	108579  

unw1red is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!