RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc.
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-27-2018, 09:59 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
jeeprubi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Milan, TN
Posts: 455
Magnum Energy ME Remote Display

I have 2 Magnum Energy ME inverters.

Normally both inverter displays show:
Charging Status
DC Volts Amps

Inverter #1 is only showing "DC Voltage Amps". No Charging Status

Inverter #2 is show Charging Status and "DC Voltage Amps"

PWR, CHG, and INV are all green and there are no faults.

Anyone know how to get the Charging Status to display on Inverter #1.

Thanks
Ben
__________________

__________________
2006 Travel Supreme Select 45DL24
2013 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon. 35" tires, 4" lift
jeeprubi is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-28-2018, 05:46 PM   #2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: western NC mountains!
Posts: 4,106
Do BOTH charge, or just one... maybe?
__________________

MisterT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2018, 06:00 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
jeeprubi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Milan, TN
Posts: 455
Both are charging fine. Just can't figure out how to get the display to show charging status on #1 like #2 shows.
__________________
2006 Travel Supreme Select 45DL24
2013 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon. 35" tires, 4" lift
jeeprubi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2018, 08:22 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: victoria,texas
Posts: 75
I would suggest calling the factory. They will walk you thru the settings. In my case, the remote was the wrong software version. The coach was 5 years old & the inverter had never worked properly. Explained why the generator had 700 hours when we bought it.
They are a great company and fixed it for free of course.
ka5gyo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2018, 05:43 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
jeeprubi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Milan, TN
Posts: 455
Thanks. That was going to be my next step.

Ben
__________________
2006 Travel Supreme Select 45DL24
2013 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon. 35" tires, 4" lift
jeeprubi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2018, 01:56 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Bob Hyatt's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Pelham (Birmingham) AL
Posts: 399
I don't see how BOTH can charge at the same time. A charger charges, stops and samples voltage, then decides what to do next. Two chargers on same battery will never work as one will cause the other to think the battery is over-charged and it will immediately stop charging. I'd sort of expect this if both are actually hooked up, but it sounds like a bad idea anyway.
__________________
Bob Hyatt
2018 Tiffin Allegro 32SA
Bob Hyatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2018, 09:53 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
jeeprubi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Milan, TN
Posts: 455
I have 8 house batteries. They are in 2 banks of 4. One inverter for each bank. One display for each inverter/bank.
__________________
2006 Travel Supreme Select 45DL24
2013 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon. 35" tires, 4" lift
jeeprubi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2018, 05:07 PM   #8
Community Moderator
 
CountryFit's Avatar


 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Between the Oceans
Posts: 5,977
Blog Entries: 4
on my me-50, if it is on generator or shore power, the first line on the display is charging status, the 2nd line is for DC Voltage Amps. when it is on solar only, the first line shows "Inverting".

i don't think it's user configurable.

however, one possibility is one of your inverter control board revisions is old - mine is 5.9. (it's under "Tech" button -->"2")
__________________
Steven & Polly
2000 Country Coach Intrigue 40'
2014 Ford C-Max Energi
CountryFit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2018, 11:14 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
C.Martin's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 2,683
I would talk to Senasata.

It is my understanding that unless you are using the ME-RTR...then your two units are not thinking as one...but independent.

If one kicks into charge before the other...the first one online will charge the other will think it doesn't need to charge anything...unless you ran your batteries down low enough that both sense low voltage and work together.

I don't know what units you have...but let's say they are inverter chargers each capavlenof 100A charge current.

My Flooded lead acid batteries specify c/10 charge rate. 928 ah = 92.8...I have a 125a charger so I have to set my max charge to 70 or 80 %. If you have two chargers not working together...you either have to disable one...set both to charge 1/2 current so as not to harm your batteries...ir gamble that one will charge the other will stay idle.
__________________
Charlie & Ronni
2016 Ventana 4037
C.Martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2018, 01:29 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Sky_Boss's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: ON THE ROAD...SOMEWHERE
Posts: 6,816
Just tossing out a thought...

I'm assuming you have something like a BIRD so with that in mind...

I'm trying to wrap my mind around the implications of dual chargers and how they are integrated into the main breaker panel.

Do you have a BMK (or 2) in the mix?

Are all battery banks common grounded to the chassis?

Have you been able to isolate the circuit bank that is also charging the coach batteries from the charging circuit of the other 4 batteries?
__________________
Don, Sandee & GSD Zeus. Guardian GSDs Gunny (7/11/15) & Thor (5/5/15)
2006 2015 DSDP 4320 4369, FL Chassis, 2013 CR-V, Blue Ox Avail, SMI AF1.
Sky_Boss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2018, 04:11 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
C.Martin's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 2,683
Is your charger indicator light on”green”?

If not maybe pressing the charge button to turn it back on.

The status should display either way. Maybe toggle the charger button off then on.

If you have an ARC remote the status display can be behind other information.

To get the status on top...press Setup then Meters. It gets the status back to the top.
__________________

__________________
Charlie & Ronni
2016 Ventana 4037
C.Martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
remote



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No LCD display on Magnum Energy ME-RC Remote qdup Class A Motorhome Discussions 3 04-15-2017 01:51 PM
Magnum Energy Panel Backlight is on, But no Display ckblas Monaco Owner's Forum 8 02-16-2016 11:14 PM
Need help with understanding Magnum Energy display Ed S Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 8 11-10-2015 10:11 AM
Magnum Energy LCD Monitor Display dav-cle Class A Motorhome Discussions 6 10-13-2015 11:21 PM
Magnum Energy Inverter Remote has no Power AKBrick Monaco Owner's Forum 11 04-24-2008 09:24 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×