Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc.
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-29-2014, 05:55 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
countrypair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 290
Old amplified video distribution switch

What is out there to replace this old switch? I would like to clean up my video compartment of all those wires. I have 2 HD TV's & Blueray player. Is there a box that can take the three feeds ant., cable & satellite to convert to HDMI cable for the new components?

Thanks for any info
__________________

__________________
2017 Grand Design Reflection 26RL
countrypair is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-29-2014, 06:23 AM   #2
Member
 
evereddie's Avatar
 
Evergreen Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Triad NC
Posts: 55
You are not going to find a device that does exactly this because you are mixing signal types. A signal coming on an antenna cable, satellite cable, and cable TV is an RF signal, has lots of channels on it, and needs to go to a 'tuner' type device. Your TV or a satellite receiver box has that tuner device in it. An HDMI type of cable would come out of a tuner type of device (Satellite receiver box) and would carry a 'video, and audio' type of signal into your TV.

Other than the 'mess' of wires is there anything that is not working like you wish it to be with your current setup?
__________________

__________________
evereddie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2014, 06:27 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,433
The box is called a matrix switch.. Odds are it contains no amplifier but it DOES contain the power feed to the head mounted amp, Though if its very old. I do understand Winegard did once make a non-amplified antenna and used the amplifier indoors.

First: to deal with the amplifier issues... IF that is you use OTA TV, Get a SENSAR PRO wall unit, you will need a box to mount it in, (Standard outlet box from any hardware or electrical supply) This will feed power to the antenna's amplifier, it also adds a 2nd layer of optional amplification and a bunch of other useful features... Read the manual.

Page 2: The switch: You can buy matrix switches sold for commercial use, The original Winegard one is no longer made but others are out there.. I do not have a source (yet) but.....
Found a company (Matrix Switch Corp) that makes most everything I think how many devices do you want, How many inputs?
Matrix Switch Corporation | Products

They can do it.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
50amp / 30amp switch box Gary111 National RV Owner's Forum 3 06-06-2014 10:30 AM
Bounder: ITW switch for cargo bay lights dialh Fleetwood Products Owner's Forum 8 06-04-2014 05:38 PM
Anybody add a second generator starting switch? Bob86ZZ4 RV Systems & Appliances 23 06-04-2014 07:58 AM
12 volt on/off switch by the door caninecop Tiffin Motorhomes Owners Forum 4 02-24-2014 08:02 AM
Suburban limit switch? Ron Burgundy RV Systems & Appliances 5 02-15-2014 03:51 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.