Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc.
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-04-2010, 07:19 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Bob86ZZ4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 262
Setting zip code for Directv while on road?

I'm new to sat and rv use. I've got Directv sd at home. I've got two D11 receivers in the house. I seem to remember the tech telling me no problem putting a box in my rv and hooking it up to the dome. He said to just re-set the zip code to where I am on the road, I thought. I hooked up the box in my rig and it worked fine around town. I went from St. Paul to Omaha a couple weeks ago. When we got far from St. Paul we lost the local channel. No biggy. Switched around and found some channels. Then when I had some time to mess with it in Omaha I found out I couldn't get any of the channels I get at home. Like all the package channels I think. When I tried to tune one it would say "channel not purchased" on the screen. I'm guessing I needed to set the zip code to Omaha? I tried to figure out how to do that but couldn't. I got into "system setup" and I can see on the "info" screen there is my home zip code. Do I scroll down to "reset" on the left and enter that? When I did that it says, "Warning! Use caution before completint and of these items. Setting data may be lost or changed. Press SELECT on an item to get more info." And then in the lower right there is a three choice box, "Restart Receiver", "Reset Defaults." and "Reset Everything." Is this where I go to set the zip code? When I clicked that one it gave me another warning so I got scared and quit. We're back home now and it works fine but I'd like to figure it out before the next trip.

I've searched and read tons about paying extra while on the road and such. I can't find about setting the zip code tho. Would the box then pickup my package channels if I set the zip code where I am? Like Discovery, Speed, VS, etc....?

Sorry if this is too long but I'm not very good with technology, and my 10th grade typing teacher, Miss Condiff, would be proud of me.
__________________

__________________
Bob86ZZ4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-04-2010, 07:24 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Bob86ZZ4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 262
I forgot to mention. It wasn't an issue of not getting a signal because while in Omaha I was getting a great signal. I picked up the Today show just fine. I should have written down the channels I did get but there weren't many if I remember correctly. The guide even worked, it would show me all my channels and what was playing. It's just when I would highlight a channel and push enter it would give me that splash, "Channel not purchased."
__________________

__________________
Bob86ZZ4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2010, 07:54 AM   #3
Community Moderator
 
RickO's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Litchfield Park, Arizona
Posts: 9,646
I'm far from a expert on this but we full time and have DTV so I'll share my understanding.

As you already know, you will lose your local channels/network feeds when you get a couple hundred miles from home. It sounds like you've already read about DNS... "paying more while on the road"... which provides network feeds while traveling. These feeds come from either NY or LA depending on your "service address" on file with DTV. We have this service and pay $14/mo for it.

It sounds like you might have something funny going on however, because I don't think you should lose your package channels when traveling. Only the ABC/NBC/CBS/PBS should be impacted. Did you go through the entire set up process when you put the receiver in your coach? You might have considerably different sat configurations for your dome than at home and could be missing a sat or two in your recepting which I think could explain it.

I don't believe you can change your "service address" simply by changing your zip code on the TV menu. I think that is only to provide you with aiming information if you're using a manual dish. I have read posts on this forum which seem to indicate that by going on line into your account you might be able to change your service address and do what you want but I've never tried it and I'm skeptical.

Good Luck.
__________________
Rick, Nancy, Peanut & Lola our Westie Dogs & Bailey the Sheltie.

2007 Itasca Ellipse 40FD
RickO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2010, 08:06 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Bob86ZZ4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 262
Hhhmmm, interesting. Maybe I was only getting one of the satelites or something? I've got a Winegard dome on the roof, "Roadking" maybe? Can't remember for sure. I don't like to climb around on the roof too much. It came on my rig when I bought it used and I don't have any info on it.
__________________
Bob86ZZ4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2010, 08:28 AM   #5
Community Moderator
 
RickO's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Litchfield Park, Arizona
Posts: 9,646
I know that my Winegard dish came from the factory pre set for Dish Network and I had to get on the roof to change some micro swithes so it would pick up all of DTV... but my dish wasn't a dome.

I think you'll need to find out what make/model dome you have and then look up the manual on the web to see if there are any setting changes required on the roof and it should also tell you what setting to use during your DTV set up process.
__________________
Rick, Nancy, Peanut & Lola our Westie Dogs & Bailey the Sheltie.

2007 Itasca Ellipse 40FD
RickO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2010, 09:01 AM   #6
Community Administrator
 
Clifftall's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 13,946
Dtv has award winning cust. service. Call them and they will walk you through it. 800-531-5000

Cliff
__________________


Cliff,Tallulah and Buddy ( 1999-2012 )
Clifftall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2010, 10:33 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Full Timer - Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 2,756
The zip code has nothing to do with your problem. It only allows the receiver to show the stored elevation and azimuth for a manual dish.
__________________
Clay WA5NMR - Snowbird, ex Full timer for 11 years - 2004 Winnebago Sightseer 35N Workhorse chassis. Honda Accord toad.
Clay L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2010, 11:01 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Bob86ZZ4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 262
Aaahhhh, okay, I'll have to wait until I can get to my storage unit and climb up top and see what antenna I've got for sure. Then I'll get the owners manual for it off their site and see if I've got it adjusted okay. Hopefully it's a switch problem with the dome. Thanks everybody.
__________________
Bob86ZZ4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2010, 11:19 AM   #9
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Traveling the lower 48
Posts: 2,450
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob86ZZ4 View Post
Aaahhhh, okay, I'll have to wait until I can get to my storage unit and climb up top and see what antenna I've got for sure. Then I'll get the owners manual for it off their site and see if I've got it adjusted okay. Hopefully it's a switch problem with the dome. Thanks everybody.
If you have a Winegard then you have either a RoadTrip or Movin' View. It really makes not different, however. They will both work exactly the same. They also both come from the factory set for DirecTV and since you are getting some programming, that part is set and working properly.
You will NOT be able to get any Network programming (ABC, NBC, CBS, FOX, PBS, CW) while you are out of your home area. You also cannot get ANY HDTV programming while using a dome (whether at home or not).
As mentioned above, changing the zip code in the receiver will not do anything at all so you can ignore that issue.
You can sign up for the DNS (Distant Network Services) program from DirecTV and you will get the major Networks for $14/month from NY and LA (East and West) anywhere you travel. PBS and CW are available for an additional $1.50/month each.
You may need to go into your receiver setup menu and change your dish type to "round 18"" to get all of the programming that is available on the 101 satellite. This would be my first next step in your trouble-shooting routine.
__________________
Bill Adams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2010, 05:36 PM   #10
paz
Senior Member
 
paz's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Full-timers - Home is where we park it.
Posts: 3,302
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Adams View Post
...You can sign up for the DNS (Distant Network Services) program from DirecTV and you will get the major Networks for $14/month from NY and LA (East and West) anywhere you travel. PBS and CW are available for an additional $1.50/month each...
Bill, I think you forgot to mention he will not be able to do this if one receiver is at home and one is in the RV and they are both on the same account. If he does, he will loose his locals at home. To get DNS in the RV and locals at home, you need 2 separate accounts.
__________________
2005 Allegro Bay 37DB W24//2013 Equinox V6 AWD
Full-timers...Home is where we park it.
Check out our blog: Living Our Dream
paz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2010, 09:27 PM   #11
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Traveling the lower 48
Posts: 2,450
I did not consider that he wanted both. If you are not home why would you need both? I see where that could be a possibility and I am glad that you mentioned it, I just didn't see it that why in reading the post. You could have both on DNS while traveling or suspend service on one and add DNS on the other or keep DNS on both when at home and while traveling. There are quite a few options available.
__________________
Bill Adams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2010, 06:43 AM   #12
paz
Senior Member
 
paz's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Full-timers - Home is where we park it.
Posts: 3,302
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Adams View Post
I did not consider that he wanted both. If you are not home why would you need both? I see where that could be a possibility and I am glad that you mentioned it, I just didn't see it that why in reading the post. You could have both on DNS while traveling or suspend service on one and add DNS on the other or keep DNS on both when at home and while traveling. There are quite a few options available.
In the few sentences the OP said he had two D11 receivers and the tech told him he could put one in his RV. I assumed he would be using the one in the RV part time and the one at home the rest of the time, or that he would be carrying the one in the RV back and forth.

You are correct that there are options to deal with this other than having 2 separate accounts.
__________________
2005 Allegro Bay 37DB W24//2013 Equinox V6 AWD
Full-timers...Home is where we park it.
Check out our blog: Living Our Dream
paz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2010, 06:46 AM   #13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Traveling the lower 48
Posts: 2,450
Moving the receiver back and forth was the way I took the OP. Your post adds some missing information in case he is confused by what he can and cannot do.
__________________
Bill Adams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2010, 08:23 AM   #14
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Florida Cooters Club
Fleetwood Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 12,382
All he has to do is call DTV and ask them to change the Service Address (zip code) on his account. That should get him the local channels where he now is, including the network affiliates. But the receiver remaining at home will also be changed and will NOT get locals there. So if somebody stayed home while the others travel, they lose their tv service. The only way around that is to get two separate accounts and pay accordingly.

As the others have said, changing the zip code in his receiver doesn't change anything except the azimuth it displays.
__________________

__________________
Gary Brinck
2004 American Tradition; 2007 GMC Acadia
Homebase in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
code 278 Lift pump circuit MACRacing Cummins Engines 5 04-01-2010 09:30 AM
"Off Road Diesel" tedward1555 iRV2.com General Discussion 24 03-19-2010 08:11 AM
Zip code in Campground Review Tom and Patty iRV2 Forum Issues 2 12-03-2008 06:23 AM
Unlock Code Corkey Monaco Owner's Forum 18 03-23-2008 08:03 AM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

RV & Travel Trailer Communities

Our RV & Travel Trailer sites encompasses virtually all types of Recreational Vehicles, from brand-specific to general RV communities.

» More about our RV Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002-2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.