Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc.
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 05-04-2010, 07:19 AM   #1

Setting zip code for Directv while on road?

I'm new to sat and rv use. I've got Directv sd at home. I've got two D11 receivers in the house. I seem to remember the tech telling me no problem putting a box in my rv and hooking it up to the dome. He said to just re-set the zip code to where I am on the road, I thought. I hooked up the box in my rig and it worked fine around town. I went from St. Paul to Omaha a couple weeks ago. When we got far from St. Paul we lost the local channel. No biggy. Switched around and found some channels. Then when I had some time to mess with it in Omaha I found out I couldn't get any of the channels I get at home. Like all the package channels I think. When I tried to tune one it would say "channel not purchased" on the screen. I'm guessing I needed to set the zip code to Omaha? I tried to figure out how to do that but couldn't. I got into "system setup" and I can see on the "info" screen there is my home zip code. Do I scroll down to "reset" on the left and enter that? When I did that it says, "Warning! Use caution before completint and of these items. Setting data may be lost or changed. Press SELECT on an item to get more info." And then in the lower right there is a three choice box, "Restart Receiver", "Reset Defaults." and "Reset Everything." Is this where I go to set the zip code? When I clicked that one it gave me another warning so I got scared and quit. We