Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc.
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-27-2014, 03:33 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
jlabit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Pensacola, Florida
Posts: 180
Sirius Satellite Radio Inoperative

I have a Ford Focus that I will be using as a toad for my Thor Hurricane 33T. To enable towing, I must disconnect the negative battery terminal after placing the automatic transmission in neutral. After reconnecting the battery after the tow is complete, the Sirius radio is not working correctly. I talked to the Sirius people today, and they said that I would have to take the car back to a Ford dealer to be reset. Has anyone towing a Ford seen anything like this before?
__________________

__________________
jlabit is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-27-2014, 04:27 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
trackman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,136
Try this as it sometimes works.
Put car in park.
Turn ignition switch to on position but do not start engine.
Wait 30 seconds then turn switch off.
Start engine and see if computer has reset.
If it is a reset problem this should work. Otherwise you can take it either to the dealer or a radio shop local that installs and services car stereo.
Hope you get this resolved and be sure to post when and how you do to help others.
__________________

__________________
trackman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2014, 07:03 PM   #3
Moderator Emeritus
 
K-Star's Avatar


 
Texas Boomers Club
Mid Atlantic Campers
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Fulltime - Currently somewhere in the lower 48
Posts: 2,213
have you tried logging onto the Sirus site and send a signal to your radio? Turn the ignition switch on with no overhead obstructions and have sirus send a signal to the radio. Although not the same steps to cause the problem, I did have an issue once where the radio was not working and this resolved that.
__________________
John, Joyce & Zoie the Terrier. - Fulltime since `08

2017 Solitude by Grand Design
2012 Ford F-450 Lariat
K-Star is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2014, 07:12 PM   #4
Member
 
WrongWayRand's Avatar
 
Forest River Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by K-Star View Post
have you tried logging onto the Sirus site and send a signal to your radio? Turn the ignition switch on with no overhead obstructions and have sirus send a signal to the radio. Although not the same steps to cause the problem, I did have an issue once where the radio was not working and this resolved that.
This procedure has worked for us as well, coincidentally with our Focus

- Randy
__________________
1975 VW Westfalia camper
2104 Rockwood A122 A-frame
WrongWayRand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2014, 01:35 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
jlabit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Pensacola, Florida
Posts: 180
Well, I took my Focus to the Ford dealer today. It took them 5 minutes to fix it. They removed the battery cable again, left it off for 1 minute, reconnected it, and everything worked. The repairman told me that sometimes when you reconnect the battery, it will not boot the computer correctly, and just needs the battery connector again , to reboot the whole car computer system. Never seen anything like it but that fixed it. Hope this will help someone else in the future. Before taking it back to Ford, I did try the "reset with Sirius fix" that some of you suggested. The problem was that the radio was hung up on channel 6 and the channel could not be changed. You have to change to channel 184 for a Sirius reset. Have a good day, and thanks.
__________________
jlabit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
radio, satellite



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD Dish Network DVR not working with Kingdome in-motion satellite dish ? Harry B Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 14 05-02-2014 08:38 AM
Sirius Radio iquilt888 Fleetwood Products Owner's Forum 4 04-07-2014 02:58 PM
Activating Sirius Radio Hikerdogs Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 28 01-18-2014 08:25 AM
Portable Satellite Hook-up fbutera Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 2 11-24-2013 07:02 PM
Sirius XM ShadowBolt Entegra Owner's Forum 11 08-07-2013 11:34 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.