Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 05-19-2014, 10:56 AM   #1

Trailer Coax Wiring

I'm a pretty tech-saavy person, but I have an issue which is perplexing me.

I have a 2012 Innsbruck (Made by Gulfstream) travel trailer. On the left rear, it has a coax cable connector, where usually we connect up to a campground's cable TV. It goes to a center console inside the trailer, connects to a weingard amplifier, with outputs for TV Set 1 (on the front of the plate) and has a 12V Cigarette Lighter plug (on the front of the plate). Inside the wall on the back of the plate, it has connections for incoming cable (which I verified goes to the rear left of the trailer,) Antenna (which I verified goes up to the weingard antenna,) and a coax output for TV Set 2, which apparently goes to a coax connector on the right middle side of the trailer.

If I am connected to the campground cable via the connector on the rear left, and then I connect a TV to the connector on the mid-right side of the trailer, I can watch cable TV.

If I disconnect the cable which is behind the wall that normally connects to TV Set 2 (which goes to the mid right side of the trailer) and connect my satellite dish to it on the outside, and connect to the cable on the inside of the trailer to the Satellite Receiver, I get no Satellite signal. (effectively I am just trying to use the cable as a way to input the satellite signal from dish to the receiving inside the trailer without making any new holes). But, this does not work.